Pilot fined R12 000 for low-flying

Re: Pilot fined R12 000 for low-flying

Postby John Boucher » Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:48 pm

I personally think a reprimand plus writing an air law exam would have sufficed.

As for the criticism, be careful you don't get caught out doing something stupid and it gets its way back to this forum - what do they say..... Live by the sword & Die by the sword!

There are much more serious transgressions taking place with out any serious action been taken and I refer to the Rhino Poaching....

I have been on the short end of the stick of the Supreme Courts and not fairly treated mostly but who cares... Supreme Court Judges can entertain Strippers & Prostitutes and pass judgement on your honesty!

Daai groot wiel my baas... hy draai... stadig.... maar hy draai!

Postby Big-D » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:02 pm

I was sad to see that some truly nasty things have been said here

I echo what John said:
be careful you don't get caught out doing something stupid and it gets its way back to this forum - what do they say..... Live by the sword & Die by the sword!
(^^) (^^)

I feel sorry for the guy - Everyone makes mistakes

Africa

Postby Africa » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:03 pm

well said John!

Postby Blue Max » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:02 pm

:roll: :roll: :shock: :shock: The fine is out of perportion in relation to the offence committed. ## ##
Where were the officials who caught the man when the rhino,s were killed in that funny name park of theirs.????
I bet they were busy eating fish and chips in the shade of a tree with some or other vetgat colleage of theirs.!!!
It has been proven over and over and over again that the biggest perpetrators of the law are the new so called guardians of the law... :evil: :evil:
What upsets me most is the discrimination against white people and the way in witch they are being treated by law enforcers...This fine is a extention of just that.. :evil: :evil: :evil:
KFA

Postby KFA » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:10 pm

Hey Blue Max, be carefull with the race thing. If I remember correctly it was one of the esteemed white okes that caught him. Apperently (hearsay) The said guy had even used him for some conservation flips a couple of times. In any case, that's what I heard. Bottom line - Eish obey the law or be very skelm and no s***ht will happen vhpy

Postby AndyG » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:55 pm

The boy was caught and fined(read the details). Leave it at that.

I know many other operators that have done worse and should have been brought before the courts and no one says squat!!!

Take note ALL.

Someone WILL take your reg.

Don't spoil it for everyone. ## ## ##

Cheers,

Andy
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:37 am

Let`s get to the real reason I posted this article:

Next time you take off from your airfield in the GP area at +-5500ft, fly out of the JHB TMA, talk to the relevant FIS and ascend to 9600ft (5500+4100). Look at the ground below, this is how high above the iSimangaliso Park you are supposed to fly.
If you have not been to Sodwana Bay recently, go there. Look at the huge parking lot on the beach and the number of boat launches and the helicopters hovering above Jesser Point. Then look at the mess people are making on the dunes and beach to the nw of Jessser Point. Go to the Parksboard Office and buy a day permit to drive ON THE BEACH to 9 mile remembering to stay below the high water mark. The next morning while scuba diving and looking at the destruction of the coral reefs caused by careless divers think to yourself (while forgetting about the air law for just one moment if possible) WHO made more noise on the beach? ME or a microlight? WHAT can cause more damage to whatever is on the sand my 1500kg 4x4 or a 250kg trike? WHO damaged the sea life more? The divers or the microlight? Where does the Parksboard make their money from Divers or Pilots?

I visited Sodwana for the last time in December last year.

Personally, I will not fly over iSimangaliso park below 4100ft as it is the law BUT I will also not go diving/camping there ever again as I can not be part of a system that rapes the conservation area for gain but at the same time preach conservation when it suits them.
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:54 am

I think the whole thing is out of perspective and there's probably some underlying history we don't know about. Surely this operation and the parks board would mutually benefit on a daily basis. I can't see how he would'nt jump at the oppertunity to assist them with more pertinant issues and get clarification where and how he can operate from.

If they applied the same standards they would successfully prosecute more living off poaching.

If the authorities want to apply the law then they have to re-look allowing the king air and choppers operating for the larnies in the sensitive areas and stop all flying over the Drakensberg.

While they're at it enforce the minimum height over the coastal strip including Ballito e.t.c. I love trikes passing over the beach line but can understand from others it could become as intrusive as a bunch of quad bikers jagging around chasing their tail.

Its about balance and being responsible. Cut the wingovers and low orbits and just pass over nice and slow. :)
Bushpig

Postby Bushpig » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:11 am

Guys I am in the Nature Conservation field and am currently working for KZN Wildlife developing management plans for its protected areas, and zoning airspace is one of the important sections of these documents. I am also an avid microlighter. I have done the vast majority of my flying in/over protected areas. I know how tempting it is to fly low over pristine areas particularly if you are showing it to someone else for the first time. These low flying rules are in place for a reason. If they were not there, every tom, dick and harry would be flying and landing in protected areas and it would not be pristine and unspoilt anymore. There are also various species, particularly birds that are extremely sensitive to disturbance particularly when breeding.
Pilots who do fly over protected areas please be considerate and also remember all nature conservation organisations and private land owners are extremely nervous of people flying over protected areas (no matter what height) these days because of the spate of poaching using aircraft recently.

There is nothing better than packing a flask with coffee and landing on a strip in the bush for a quick pit stop. If you are planning to land for a quick coffee on a remote strip in the bush, meet the landowners beforehand and chat about what you are wanting to do, it always goes down well. Many land owners like having good guys flying around that they know - its extra eyes in the sky. If you are lucky enough to have this privilege, be protective of it and confront guys who are breaking the rules or pushing the boundaries in your area.

Just my two cents!!
AQUILLA ZU-DOJ

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:44 am

Thank you for your post Bushpig.... I do agree with how we should be addressing the conservation issues yet wish to stress the double standard system...

Was this case just used to set an example?
Bushpig

Postby Bushpig » Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:25 am

Hi John.

I agree wholeheartedly with the killing, raping and plundering of natural resources for pure financial gain in this region, and my personal opinion is that it is unsustainable the way it is being done at the moment.

However back to the flying issues......

The iSimangaliso Wetland Park is managed by a separate authority called the Isimangaliso Wetland Park Authority. You will see KZN Wildlife staff on the ground but the overall management is not KZN Wildlife and I cant comment on their reasons for taking a strong stance on this particular case. Yes, this is a complicated situation and general opinion is that having two conservation bodies in the same area is a nightmare.

However KZN Wildlife manages the Drakensburg World Heratige Site. We have adopted a less aggressive way of policing low flying in this area for the past year.
1) Park rangers now carry handheld radios to communicate directly with pilots and warn them if they are flying too low. Most pilots who have contact with our guys immediately leave the area.
2) Registrations are taken down and the pilot will receive a letter stating that they have been identified breaking the law.
3) Staff have been trained with estimating height of aircraft over the Drakensburg WHS.
4) KZN Wildlife is working with Oribi Airport to help police this.
5) Pilots who wish to fly over the WHS can apply to do so if they wish through KZN Wildlife.

However, soon KZN Wildlife will be taking stronger action with people who break the law whilst flying over the Drakensburg WHS.

NEMPAA (Section 47) stipulates that a World Heritage Site includes the air space to a level of 2 500 feet above the highest point of the World Heritage Site. Therefore, no person may fly over the Park at a lower altitude or land or take off in an aircraft in the Park except in the case of an emergency or with the permissionof the Authority.

Pilots need to remember that there is a minimum height over World Heritage Sites (Drakendburg and Isimangaliso)and a different min height over other protected areas.

I hope this helps.
AQUILLA ZU-DOJ

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:39 am

The way the secondary policing is done gets my vote and as a pilot would appreciate a radio call if I have inadvertently dropped into airspace that I should not be in and obviously would comply asap!

Thank you for shedding more light on this....
t-bird

Postby t-bird » Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:25 pm

Hi Bushpig

Was any researched done on the effect of microlights on breeding patterns of birds? If so please educate us.

Chobe and Moremi restriction is at 1000 feet. They have 1000 times more traffic from Caravans, King Airs and Jet Rangers , Why the over kill of 4000 feet ?

If certain species are affected by airplanes, why not mark out the breeding ground and issue a notam.
They have done it with the vulture areas in the Magaliesberg.

Why not issue flight permits in the same manner that beach permits is issued for driving to Mabibi on the beach ?
Bushpig

Postby Bushpig » Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:36 pm

Sensitive bird species in the Berg are vulture breeding colonies, wattled, crowned and blue cranes, all of which are either critically endangered or endangered. However with regards to official research with regards to microlights, no. However with regards to general human disturbance in the area of breeding birds, yes, and there are large amounts of info out there to support this.
The Berg WHS also has declared wilderness areas - these are areas with zero disturbance factors etc. If aircraft are allowed to fly below the min height the WHS would potentially lose its wilderness status.

Why the "overkill" with the height. I am the wrong person to comment as I did not have a say when the legislation was being drafted specifically for the Berg WHS. However before the WHS Management Plan was adopted it did go out for public comment and no objections were received regarding the min height over the WHS.

I know that various NOTAMS have been issued for the Drakensburg WHS. Also remember that in the Magaliesberg only the vulture breeding colony area is protected. In the Berg WHS the breeding colony and also the area where these birds forage is also protected.

I also stated that if you would like to fly over a WHS you can apply for permission to do this through the relevant management authority.
AQUILLA ZU-DOJ
t-bird

Postby t-bird » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:28 pm

Hi Bushpig

Human disturbance agreed.
Flying with ‘n microlight overhead not so sure .

What get’s patrolled – not human disturbance that is proven to have an effect but the one microlight.

What I don’t understand in Magaliesberg the breeding colony is restricted and the Birds do just fine.
Why then do you need to protect the area where these birds forage in the berg ?

What happened to the yearly Military exercises conducted between Videl and Sodwana ?

I love the area between Mapelane and Kosibay , never flown over it but dived and snorkeled all the reefs.

The flight restrictions leave a bitter taste and limiting access to the people who stay at Phinda and Rocktail bay.

One person staying at these resorts will have a bigger impact than a Microlight overflying the area..