Streak Shadow ZU – BHD, - new member – Based at Rhino

georgeh

Re: Streak Shadow ZU – BHD, - new member – Based at Rhino

Postby georgeh » Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:55 pm

Hi Mark
haven't flown since 8th jan, have to do mod approval for my extended footwell. a hell of a mission, but will be worth it in the long run. If you ever flew in the back you will know how kak it is. Will let you when i'm sorted. Nice pictures.
Keep well.
George Harrower
Hak

Postby Hak » Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:08 pm

vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy I had the privilege of flying in 1 it stole my hart.
WHAT is the price of a STREAK SHADOW (^^)
"THe suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:10 pm

Did you sit in the back and if so did it have the large footwell? You cannot believe how comfortable it is with the foowell extension. There are not that many Shadows around that i know of. The last one i saw advertised had a jab motor and the guy wanted 120k. I think anyone who gets a Shadow for that price is lucky and the person who sells one for that price is stupid or desperate. Dont think you can buy them new anymore.
George
George Harrower
Hak

Postby Hak » Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:32 pm

:) Thanks George i love them,1day!!!!!! (^^) (^^)
"THe suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:37 am

Hi Guys
ATF sorted, mod approval on footwell done. I would just like to mention how helpfull, speedy and efficient the guys at caa have been. Thank you so much to Kiran DEbipersad, Jason Ashworth and Piet Fourie. Anyone who bitches about the efficiency of the caa has obviously not followed the correct procedures.
Mark, are you ready to travel some distance now?
George Harrower
MMW

Postby MMW » Wed Mar 17, 2010 11:35 am

Hi George
Glad your paperwork is sorted out – pls keep us updated on your flights.
My shadow is ready and flying beautifully, - time is a huge problem at this stage, the better half gives me a morning off on the weekends if I’m lucky :roll: :roll: , busy with renovations at home so as soon as this episode is over then things should be back to normal.

I think we should work towards a firm date and then stick to it (obviously weather permitting) maybe some time in May would be good- me thinks a good time of the year weather wise. I will chat to Rudi this weekend.

Also planning on adding another (removable) fuel tank to be placed on the back seat. Longest flight done so far was about 2 hours and rough calculations showed me that I could safely do 3.5 hours with reserve.
I haven’t flown for two weeks as was out of the country,- I tell you we are very fortunate here in sa – No such thing as VFR in Hong Kong or 90% of china with their pollution, Unbelievable :shock: :shock: :shock: .

I must fly this weekend as starting to have serious withdrawal symptoms. (^^)
Mark Wheeler
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:08 pm

Hi Mark,
Dont feel alone, i been busy with alterations aswell. Jas and I will probably be flying at least 3 or 4 times a week from monday. As soon as we have a few hours under the belt we'll make plans to meet.
Have you noticed my panniers? We busy with a pair for Jas now.
Keeep well.
George
George Harrower
cross_wind

Postby cross_wind » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:46 am

Hi George - my aircraft is a Challenger II LSS (# 0115). I guess the Streak, CGS Hawk, Titan and Challenger all have similar characteristics (being tandem pushers that is).
Challenger 1.jpg
Challenger 1.jpg (30.63 KiB) Viewed 2822 times
Jeff'sQCbaby (4).jpg
Jeff'sQCbaby (4).jpg (30.17 KiB) Viewed 2822 times
Cross_Wind

Challenger II LS ZU-FCP
Zenith CH 750 ZU-KICK ASS (20% Complete)
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:34 am

Hi Crosswind, nice looking aircraft. I saw 2 aircraft that looked very similar to yours in Bloem last year. Think it had somethimg to do with EAA. What motor you running and what is your cruise speed?
George.
George Harrower
MMW

Postby MMW » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:53 am

Hi George

8) Noticed your panniers, very cool - I usually do not carry passenger’s so reckon space at the back ok for extra fuel and luggage. Have had two excellent flying weekends in a row vhpy vhpy , Cosmos run yesterday and previous weekend 2-hour flight to witbank, cullinan, bronkhorstspruit.
I’m planning a short cross country to Reitz 24th April (About 220km from Rhino) arrive Saturday camp and then return Sunday morning. I think this could be too far north for you but pls let me know if interested.(anyone else reading this please let me know if keen) The reason for this trip is that my boet is cycling from JHB down to DBN :shock: and has asked me collect dirty clothes on route so that he doesn’t have to carry extra weight – suits me – any excuse to fly.
Any flying on your side? :?:
Some photo’ from past weekends
Cullinan2.JPG
Cullinan.jpg
DSC04146.JPG
DSC04167.JPG
DSC04168.JPG
DSC04184.JPG
DSC04189.JPG
DSC04245.JPG
Mark Wheeler
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:05 am

Hi Mark, great foto's. Where is that big Hole? Have only done about 5 hrs since all the paper work has been sorted. We haven't been having the best weather. i'm tired of flying within the 2hr zone. Really want to start some longer distance and sleep over flying. Also want to do some serios navigation. Jas and myself are going to be doing the Durban to George trip really soon. I'll see nearer the time if i can join you on Reitz, it's only about 2hr40. What about accomodation???? Are you flying alone?
Hope to be flying up to Splashy Fenn this wend, nice long one,there has to be a couple good days. Only 1hr 20. Pop in at Himeville to stretch.
Keep in touch.
George Harrower
jxc
Looking at the sky

Postby jxc » Sat Jun 19, 2010 2:26 am

Hiya

Newbie from U.K.

I have just bought a group A streak shadow 582 and trying to get some ideas on instrument panels could any of you guys post a pic of your panels for me ?
I have a garmin 695 that I would like to install in the middle going to reupholster the seats with memory foam and covered in alcantara and the pain for the outside the burnt orange color on the rangerover superchargers

Postby DarkHelmet » Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:42 am

I get scared when flying over that hole!
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 6:02 pm

http://www.junkmail.co.za/v-kwazulu-nat ... EdQX201024

Saw this in the Junk mail and thought one of you guys would be interested. I phoned the guy and he said it was an improved streak shadow.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
poen

Postby poen » Sat Jun 19, 2010 8:55 pm

Hi , I'm intersted in a Shadow any knowledge of any for sale?

Andrew 0827804280