Budget R180K what to buy

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:07 pm

I have sold almost all the toys. The company car remains, but hours are building and tandem KAK for social flying..... Soooo I have taken a bit of a hit on some of the aeries that I had in partnerships, so new partnership is out... I am (hopefully) left with R180K (at a push) at end Feb available for "fun flying" All flying I do is fun, but it not so lekka (read hard work) to fly the RV at 55mph :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: Even 80mph is :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :roll: .

I is thus looooking for a social fun flyer to fly with the kids and anyone else around harties in late afternoons (I don't do 3am wakeup calls :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: ).
I have the following "pre requisites"....
Must fit into a small space (like 8x10x3high - king post - Strike 1 against the trike) Should have bought the topless windlass ## ## ## ## ##
Must be side by side (strike 2 against the trike) for social flying and possibly some LSA instruction
I like tail wheels (strike 3 against the trike)

Trikes not looking good, but not writing it off. Once I have the boodle in hand I will go see basie and get him to reacquaint me with the windlass and the decide...
Any idea's?

As I said I will do the legwork once the animal's final payment has cleared (due end feb), but am interested to know what consensus is with R150-180K budget in todays market for a fun "om die dammer" specifically based at Harties. (ie no long commute to go see stuff. Am already at Harties)......

I like 4 stroke, but you can't fly engine alone, so 912 is out I assume :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

So far in lead are (in no particular order) based what on the for sale section here....
Topless 582 windlass (sold)
582 Bush Baby or Goose's baby (have to do some hard neg there ## ## ## puff )
The 618 Kolb (and maybe the R30K windlass (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) ) but hangar space is a problem. Basie is full, FAAP is full and Brits is too dam far for a social jolly...
Windlass and Moerse klop mogas geld....

I like the P&M trikes but they are scarce. Wonder if importing is an option. Even the 912's then become attractive? (2 912 Blades (I should have bought ZU-FLY ** ** ** ) for around 8000GBP)
Are there any side by side trikes in SA (I not sending CAA to XYZ to check they know what they doing by being first to register 1)
Any IFB's.... That is WAAAAY up there on the list....

Any comments? Have some fun with the given budget. (I been dreaming like this for many moons and it more fun than when you actually have the aerie sometimes :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: )
Wargames

Re: Budget R180K what to buy

Postby Wargames » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:55 pm

RV4ker wrote:and maybe the R30K windlass (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Just to let you thinking.

If you buy this trike, which looks in good nick, and convert to topless from jenya. You will have a lot of moolas left for "fun".

Might have to go the 582 route though, being on that high place and all.

Good luck. Looks like hunting season opened early this year. vhpy vhpy
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:24 pm

Will second you on the Goose's Kitfox, and agree some negotiating. I sold my 'identical' EAA champ KFII for about 20% less and that was when the economies were strong. Also took a number of months and a lot of advertising to achieve that price. But more fun you cannot have - great sight seeing machine.

Postby Big-D » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:07 am

If it was me George......

I would look if a certain P& M Gemini is still on offer for you - Never heard that it was sold, I know it is based somewhere near warmbaths, I got trailer for Gemini/Blade so collecting not a problen or I can fly it back for you untill you rated With R180k you can buy the trike, fit a brand new ballistic, have major service and checkup done and have LOTS of change for conversion etc

Honestly: I find the Mainair's 33% more stable in bumps and more fun to fly than any other trike I have flown (Excl Air Creation)

There is soooo much more to see than Harties - Roodekoppies, Vaalkop, Klipvoor or just following the croc river low level - MAN!!!!! nothing comes close to trike flying over beautifull terrain

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yA-rxEvgJJU

All that is missing in the video is you next to us vhpy

Gimme a call if you wanna chat (Over weekend as I am in Moz currently)

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:48 am

How are all you okes going on about trikes... ?? RV states specifically that he doesnt want a king post, that he wants side by side, that he might want a tail wheel....

Boet - there really is only one option - BUY A BANTAM -

Lets see - Four stroke jabi engine (tick) vhpy - Side by side vhpy (tick) Low and slow vhpy (tick) fun relaxed flying vhpy (tick) - Get in and out of small places vhpy (tick) Ample space in the cockpit vhpy (tick) - great views for pax and pilot vhpy (tick) - affordable operating costs vhpy (tick) second hand one can be purchased for between 160 - 200 vhpy (tick) - 2000 TBO vhpy (tick) , run on Mogas or Avgas vhpy (tick) I dont understand why this is even leaning towards a debate...

ASK me about around the dam boet... is all i do !!! (except for zebula now and again) and its perfect for the task

Soooo end of story ?>??

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:29 am

Keep em coming...

Send me the gen on the trike you talking about?

Postby Big-D » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:30 am

Ja Ok, Dish has a point!! Maybe

However Mr Rv4ker, you already do the stick and rudder thing in the RV don't you?

Hangerage not an issue for trike, Rosslyn Microflyers 5 minutes from your spot and they probably do have hangerage

However, if trike not your thing then Bantam probably the next best thing vhpy

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:41 am

Dave a Bantam is NEVER the "next best thing" - if you cvant have a bantam then you go for the other alternatives - really dude.. what the hell ?? ## ## vhpy vhpy

Postby Big-D » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:46 am

I wouldn't know Dish - Have this good mate at Aeroden with a Bantam, but he has never taken me for a flip ## :lol: You might know him, always brings random chicks to the airfield with him vhpy

Your airy is beautifull mate (^^)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:00 am

Do the Random Chicks come with the BANTAM (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:03 am

How can you call my MOM a random chick - chop ## ## ## ##

okay enough of this - I have had my input, i am not the bantam agent - if you want to be happy buy a bantam -

Thread Now UN Hi jacked _ officially vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:04 am

I'll take that as a NO on the Random Chicks :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Morph » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:09 am

Where can I get a Random Chick Generator :?: 8)

Hmm George, interesting quest

180K is a little tight on the 912 options, although they are there, remember the one you delivered to JHB, 912s I believe.

The BB tailie is a dream I believe 8) 8) (-)

That Kolb is a interesting choice, 2-stroke still. There is one flying at Morning Star, the Pilot, an SAA jock, says it's the best fun he can have with his clothes on. He absolutely adores the aircraft. His dad had a twin engine Baron I believe and they have sold that and the two of them potter around the skies in this thing. Nice field of vision ahead, tailie etc. The only thing is the 618 is a discontinued motor and not 4-stroke. Put a Jabi 80 horse into it?

Cheetah tailie?

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:10 am

ha ha - NO the random chicks come with the Dish's subtle but incredibly good looks !! The bantam helps though -- NO LADS Im JUST kidding

stop now !!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Big-D » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:11 am

How can you call my MOM a random chick - chop
(^^) vhpy I think Dish just summed it up nicely for us

You really only have to ask yourself one question RV4ker: Do you want to take your MOMMY for flips?

DO you want to be MOMMY's LITTLE CHAMPION PILOT?

Or.......do you aspire to be something more? vhpy vhpy vhpy

(This was written tongue in cheek - No offense intended gents)