Re: Ramp Check= Aviation killer

Postby German » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:24 pm

:shock:

Postby The Agent » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:10 pm

have any of you taken notice of what happened to GA in Kenia, it is non existant because govt decided to lay down the law NOW if we dont play the game and fly by the rules the same can happen in SA.
Remember the 4x4 issue YES they got it right, and who were the majority of people enjoying that, work it out.

So all I say is play the game and all that is well will end well.

Postby Boet » Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:26 am

I feel that we are totally over regulated. Flying in NTCA is a sport. BTW: NTCA stand for Non Type Certified Aircraft. The application states clearly that the materials used must be good enought for the application. So not neccesarily have to be "aircraft grade". That is why it is called "NTCA". At least that has not changed. I saw this nonsense coming when some pen pusher wrote a piece about HIS concerns with the use of "Non aviation parts" in NTCA. WTF???????? :(

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:38 pm

5:26 am (**)

Lyk my jy mis regtig daai Animal as jy so vroeg al knorrig is Boet! :lol:
Kom ons bou 'n Pitcairn PCA-2 gyro met een van daai sexy radial engines! !!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-tibm_dPFQ

Postby John Boucher » Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:48 pm

Maybe one should identify an accommodating inspector from CAA - invite the oke over and have 1 on 1's with him!

Approach it in a positive manner!
Goffel
Pre flight checks done

Postby Goffel » Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:48 pm

Boet....you are a whino of note.....you have tried to incite as many people on this site with you unfounded comments about the CAA and in particular, the CAA inspector, whom you met on Saturday.

If you have so much to say on this forum about this particular inspector and the CAA, why did you not say something on Saturday when you met him...(you had a big enough audience sitting at your table).

Ramp inspections have nothing to do with money...it is about being legal and safe......safe so that you can go home after the flight and be with your family.

Most inspectors are also pilots, some ATP, some Comm and yes, like that inspector, Microlight instructors............so at the end of the day, when they are doing their jobs, there is an element of knowledge and empathy.

Should you not have all the required documentation, the right fire extinguisher or evern the correct 1st aid kit.......and you are not sure, try asking the inspector.......you might be very surprised to see that he too is human and will go out of his way to be helpful.

BUT......be rude to the guy, threaten him on a public forum, write a lot of c@#$ about him and you will then find that although he is still helpful, just dont expect him to smile at you when answering your question.

As some of the guys did that Saturday, they asked the inspector to go thru their docs and tell them what was needed......I believe all was in order.

If in doubt, just ask.......dont whine and moan.

By the way, should any of the forum members need any assistance of any sort, ask the manager at Morningstar for the inspectors telephone number and I can assure you that you will get the assistance that you require.

Goffel.

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:16 pm

popcorn, coke, pipe, slippers ...

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:19 pm

If I may ask who was the inspector? :shock: :shock: :shock:

I have had very positive dealings with the NTCA boys at CAA for last 10 years..., but have never met any of the inspectors?

Postby John Boucher » Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:14 pm

4 Posts Goffel and now YOU get personal - I think you too have over stepped the boundaries!

I can relate to what Boet (and let me remind what you other posters have experienced) is feeling. The Rotax crank issue is but one that jumps to mind! Not all were affected by this and the issues had to be addressed by a specific group of Rotax owners only. A matter of interest - were you affected by this?

Then let me ask you where were you when the SAPS started raiding airfields beyond their realm of authority asking for documentation they have no clue about!

I think Boet's whining is relevant in this that there are certain people that go beyond the little bit of authority they have been given to "klap" everyone in their path. If GA is over regulated and dies as mentioned earlier - then said inspectors will become parking lot guards as the CAA vacancies would dwindle to but a few!
I have had first hand experience of 3 full CAA inspection at a school of which one was a surprise visit. This visit nearly turned sour because of an inspector with an abrasive attitude and let me tell you - those who know me weet ek word nie sommer op getrap nie - especially if I know what I am talking about and operating within the rules!

I do however agree with the latter part of your post in this that one should approach the inspectors in a positive light (and vice versa I dare say). This should be a progressive approach and a learning curve of which all can walk away and say - man that was a pleasant experience!

En jy is reg Len.... Ek laaik popcorn - Red Heart & Coke (^^)

Just a matter of interest Goffel - are you not said inspector?
Splinter

Postby Splinter » Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:17 pm

JetRanger wrote:popcorn, coke, pipe, slippers ...
Im with ranger on this one!!!! Round One..... Ting Ting....
Lower, Lower ...........

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:49 pm

demon wrote:If we had some inspectors on the forum who could assist by answering some of the questions
regarding some of the requirements it would be great.
=D*
I think John Boucher may be right and Goffel is an inspector. I for one would like to invite him to become part of our community and feel free to come and inspect my machine and my paperwork at his convenience. I want to be fully legal and would feel more content if an inspector verified this for me.

Let the spirit of camaraderie and sportsmanship prevail: actually, I think its called "airmanship"! (^^)

In spite of only 4 posts, Welcome Goffel !
Africa

Postby Africa » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:34 pm

Well said Demon, but i do have to agree that Goffel is an inspector and have to say that i am dissapointed that he got personal with Boet. This is a public forum for pilots to express their opinions. I too have been inspected numourous times and most of the time CAA has been great and very helpful, but then there are the few that like to act like Julius Malema and throw their weight around and thats un callled for.

Personally, I still think Microlighting is becoming way way over regulated and thats driving the price of the sport up. How many people can offord to fly GA now?? you know why?? its too bloody expensive thanks to regulations, some necessary and others ridiculous. Whats happening to our world where people are no longer responsible for their own actions?? The goverments are trying to run our lives and get way to involved. Lets compare alittle aples to aples, like here in the U.S.A. A PPL does not need a night rating, he does not have a min hour requirement s per year and you can change the oil in your plane by yourself, no need for a AMO to do it. Your PPL does not expire only your medical. If you have not flown in a while you are required to do a few solo touch and go's same as night flight.

Now, as crazy as this sounds the U.S still have a far safer flying record (less accidents) than SA and there are millions more hours fown here. I can rent a Piper arrow for $100 per hour wet. Our little county airport in a town with 2000 people is bussier than Jan smuts. In SA you cannot even rent a trike for that and i honestly think its because there are too many chiefs and not enough indians that have to be paid salaries to police everyone. Its the same in skydiving in SA and the USA, its freaking huge here and its because the rules are a little more laxed and not policed as much and people can enjoy it more and be responsible for their own actions.

I did a display at Oshkosh in 2001 in a trike and I did not even have to have a radio. In SA I would have been dragged over the coals by power loving authorities...LOL

Guys, its a great sport, follow the rules but make sure the people that run the sport keep it in the family or keep controll over it and keep it fun. When it stops being fun thats when it will die. Blues skies!!

As I am sure this post will piss off some I just wanted to state my opinion about this too.
Goffel
Pre flight checks done

Postby Goffel » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:43 pm

Thanks Jet Ranger and others....

Please feel free at anytime to either ask me questions, do a ramp inspection, debate certain regs etc.

CAA is not there to stop the guys flying...we are just trying to make things safer, yes, there are regs etc that might not make sense, but unfortunately they are in force.(promise, not my fault).

If there are any please let me know, with a valid argument, and I can put it forward to the relevent persons and see what can be done.

If someone breaks the rules, rather I know first before "Joe public" phones me.....at least I can then tell them, "yes I know and this is the reason why".....rather than seeeeriuos, did they really do that.

I would prefer to work with youguys/gals, than against you....to me that makes better sense and safer skies.

My number is 0824434568 or 011-5451200....

Goffel.

Postby John Boucher » Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:16 pm

Now we have a constructive thread going!

Contrary to our sister forum things do get done in a different manner here!

Your last post is what we want on this forum Goffel an I'll aptly respond to your pm.

A simple word... the majority of the chaps on this forum are mates on a first name basis and are very familiar with each other. We prefer working towards a common solution as opposed to a destructive meltdown. We do differ on opinion at times (we are human you know!) and I think 99,9% of us wish to comply purely because we have this immense passion for flying!

So Goffel - I say to you sir - grasp this opportunity to change the perception of some positive into one of most!

ps. There will always be one or two chaps that oppose positive change and let me add BOET is not one of them. He is passionate about aviation. Walk the walk and talk the talk - salt of the earth person Boet is!

Soon I too shall be in the midst of my fellow aviators & friends to promote what we love!
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:26 pm

Since this topic has changed for the better. Maybe a little recap is necessary.

Boet has been absolutely correct in his take on what happened @ morningstar on saturday. I was there, and was amazed too that no-one was flying. Ranger told me about the CAA inspector being there, and then all made sence. Go back in history, and you will come to remember the horrible experience everyone at morningstar had with a previous inspector, or so he was called. A ATF was revoked, and I think even a lisence as well. That was not productive to aviation.

This saturday, was just on the back of that, and although CAA still says that it is only policing the law already in place, I think it is convenient and non productive, and takes the CAA out of the loop as a responsible authority trying to make aviation safer.

The point can be debated whether it makes me a safer pilot or my aircraft safe to have my ATF onboard when I fly, but lets not go there. Because the law says that we must have all on board, I will have them, but it will not make me safer. That responsibly is mine and I will not have CAA take that away from me.

I do believe that CAA is on the right path, and I do support them in their efforts to make aviation safer, but I do believe that there is areas of more concern than policing already law abiding pilots. I would rather see the process go through where the clubs can police them selves. (What happened to that topic??) IMHO that will make aviation a lot safer and better off.

In the mean time, if all inspectors had the attitude of Goffel, GA is already in better shape. Welcome to the forum Goffel, I hope this is not a once of of you joining us.

Blue skies (I don't even know what that means anymore. CT weather ($$) ($$) )
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"