Countries with best quality of life.....

andreb

Countries with best quality of life.....

Postby andreb » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:28 am

Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints

Non scholae sed vitae discimus
andreb

Re: Countries with best quality of life.....

Postby andreb » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:30 am

Let me post them from the website.

Human Development Report 2009 - HDI rankings
Very high Human Development

1. Norway
2. Australia
3. Iceland
4. Canada
5. Ireland
6. Netherlands
7. Sweden
8. France
9. Switzerland
10. Japan
11. Luxembourg
12. Finland
13. United States
14. Austria
15. Spain
16. Denmark
17. Belgium
18. Italy
19. Liechtenstein
20. New Zealand
21. United Kingdom
22. Germany
23. Singapore
24. Hong Kong, China (SAR)
25. Greece
26. Korea (Republic of)
27. Israel
28. Andorra
29. Slovenia
30. Brunei Darussalam
31. Kuwait
32. Cyprus
33. Qatar
34. Portugal
35. United Arab Emirates
36. Czech Republic
37. Barbados
38. Malta

High Human Development

39. Bahrain
40. Estonia
41. Poland
42. Slovakia
43. Hungary
44. Chile
45. Croatia
46. Lithuania
47. Antigua and Barbuda
48. Latvia
49. Argentina
50. Uruguay
51. Cuba
52. Bahamas
53. Mexico
54. Costa Rica
55. Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
56. Oman
57. Seychelles
58. Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
59. Saudi Arabia
60. Panama
61. Bulgaria
62. Saint Kitts and Nevis
63. Romania
64. Trinidad and Tobago
65. Montenegro
66. Malaysia
67. Serbia
68. Belarus
69. Saint Lucia
70. Albania
71. Russian Federation
72. Macedonia (the former Yugoslav Republic of)
73. Dominica
74. Grenada
75. Brazil
76. Bosnia and Herzegovina
77. Colombia
78. Peru
79. Turkey
80. Ecuador
81. Mauritius
82. Kazakhstan
83. Lebanon

Medium Human Development

84. Armenia
85. Ukraine
86. Azerbaijan
87. Thailand
88. Iran (Islamic Republic of)
89. Georgia
90. Dominican Republic
91. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
92. China
93. Belize
94. Samoa
95. Maldives
96. Jordan
97. Suriname
98. Tunisia
99. Tonga
100. Jamaica
101. Paraguay
102. Sri Lanka
103. Gabon
104. Algeria
105. Philippines
106. El Salvador
107. Syrian Arab Republic
108. Fiji
109. Turkmenistan
110. Occupied Palestinian Territories
111. Indonesia
112. Honduras
113. Bolivia
114. Guyana
115. Mongolia
116. Viet Nam
117. Moldova
118. Equatorial Guinea
119. Uzbekistan
120. Kyrgyzstan
121. Cape Verde
122. Guatemala
123. Egypt
124. Nicaragua
125. Botswana
126. Vanuatu
127. Tajikistan
128. Namibia
129. South Africa
130. Morocco
131. São Tomé and Principe
132. Bhutan
133. Lao, People's Dem. Rep.
134. India
135. Solomon Islands
136. Congo
137. Cambodia
138. Myanmar
139. Comoros
140. Yemen
141. Pakistan
142. Swaziland
143. Angola
144. Nepal
145. Madagascar
146. Bangladesh
147. Kenya
148. Papua New Guinea
149. Haiti
150. Sudan
151. Tanzania, U. Rep. of
152. Ghana
153. Cameroon
154. Mauritania
155. Djibouti
156. Lesotho
157. Uganda
158. Nigeria

Low Human Development

159. Togo
160. Malawi
161. Benin
162. Timor-Leste
163. Côte d'Ivoire
164. Zambia
165. Eritrea
166. Senegal
167. Rwanda
168. Gambia
169. Liberia
170. Guinea
171. Ethiopia
172. Mozambique
173. Guinea-Bissau
174. Burundi
175. Chad
176. Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
177. Burkina Faso
178. Mali
179. Central African Republic
180. Sierra Leone
181. Afghanistan
182. Niger

Note: This 2009 HDI represents statistical values for the year 2007. The data is available here.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:43 am

129 :shock: :shock: :shock:
I have worked in 7 of the top 10 and I laaaaik it here :twisted: :twisted:
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:10 am

Gotta love how all those that leave SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.

Postby Big-D » Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:46 am

Gotta love how all those that leave SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.
Thatch - You call it as it is my brother (^^) (!!) Man, I like that about you.

Ja - It sucks here in no.129 - Tonight I will braai steaks and drink KWV 10 year old, watch the sun go down and tommorow morning I will fly to Harties, Roodekoppies and Vaalkop

SA is alright

Plus I have had one and don't like no.2's microlights - Sorry I was thinking out loud, I apologise

Last edited by Big-D on Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
justin.schoeman

Postby justin.schoeman » Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:47 am

Best quality of life? For an employed middle, or upper class citizen, you just can't beat good old RSA!

For the majoritiy of the citizens though, life is really tough - which is why I assume we ranked so low.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:25 pm

Big D wrote:
Thatch - You call it as it is my brother (^^) (!!) Man, I like that about you.

Ja - It sucks here in no.129 - Tonight I will braai steaks and drink KWV 10 year old, watch the sun go down and tommorow morning I will fly to Harties, Roodekoppies and Vaalkop

SA is alright

Plus I have had one and don't like no.2's microlights - Sorry I was thinking out loud, I apologise

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Wed/Thurs we did a 1600km X country flight. We decided to go on Tuesday. No transponder, no flight plan plenty formo flying, low level playing, plenty hangar talk, biltong braai vlies and sunny skies... . Awesome. Try do that in any one of the top 10, even with 3 months of planning and athorisations...... ## ## ## ## (With exception of MAYBE OZ)

Postby Low Level » Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:32 pm

Thatchman wrote:Gotta love how all those that leave SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.
(^^) (^^)
justin.schoeman wrote:For the majoritiy of the citizens though, life is really tough - which is why I assume we ranked so low.
Think both of you have a point there. :wink:
GregH
Ready for the first flight

Postby GregH » Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:03 pm

Mmmm, that could easily be changed to Gotta love how all those that stay in SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.
The truth is life is what you make it, I've left SA and live in Sweden (#7 on The List) but I don't try to convince myself of anything. You won't find me slagging off SA or the folk who choose to live there. And I get annoyed by those that have left and complain about SA (and usually also about where they moved to!). Some people just like to b*tch and moan.

Enjoy your life, where you live and do the best with what you have. Can't really ask for more. (**)
br
Greg
SE-VMT Flash 2 Alpha Rotax 462
Check http://www.estt.se - Sweden's most southerly airfield
mak

Postby mak » Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:32 pm

Andreb

At least our Tri-nations finish is better than our quality of life listing vhpy vhpy
www.altairaviation.co.za
HOME OF XENON & ZEN GYROCOPTER

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:35 pm

You can pump out as much stats as you want, depending on your motive.

Sure, we rank amongst the highest in others, but that feeling when you land back on SA soil, as blurted out by a serious boertjie when the customs oussie was giving him a hard time" Jy's so oulik ek gee jou sommer n' drukkie" had the crowd shrieking and the giggly official reduced to stamping double quick time.

We also have klippies & coke, the mountain and Julius Malema :)
Porra
Survived second engine out

Postby Porra » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:19 pm

GregH wrote:
Mmmm, that could easily be changed to Gotta love how all those that stay in SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.
The truth is life is what you make it, I've left SA and live in Sweden (#7 on The List) but I don't try to convince myself of anything. You won't find me slagging off SA or the folk who choose to live there. And I get annoyed by those that have left and complain about SA (and usually also about where they moved to!). Some people just like to b*tch and moan.

Enjoy your life, where you live and do the best with what you have. Can't really ask for more. (**)
(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) say no more!! ## ##
"Always remember.... You're unique..............just like everyone else...." ;-)
andreb

Postby andreb » Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:12 pm

Thatchman wrote:Gotta love how all those that leave SA continously try to convince themselves that they have done the right thing.
I know I have done the right thing and don't need to convince myself at all. I do still miss SA and what we had there, but will never look back.