Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:06 pm

Worked all weekend serviced the Vansin for its trip to Bethlehem all lekker new oil, and checked the up elevator. I want more up travel on the Bosvark's elevator. Finished now and tired.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:18 pm

Amazing 49000 hits

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:00 pm

Eish 50000 hits, for me it is hard to believe that there is such interest. The paperwork is with the paperwork fundi's and I'm now leaving it to the powers that drives paperwork. That is a departement that I do not understand much about. So let the paperwork power do it's thing. From the fast taxi I have seen that the up elevator needs more up travel. The book calls for 30 to 35 degrees. At the moment I only have 20 degrees. I measured a J3 Cub and the up travel is 32 degrees. On the fast taxi the rudder response is lovely and the transition from rudder to tailwheel is also excellent. The Matco tailwheel is impressive. The flaperon response is also neutral an Boet's rigging of the wing is superb. No heavy wing at all ,all balanced. I am now ready to receive the proving flight autherisation.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:23 pm

Vasbyt Oupa!!!! Min dae. Sit solank die Dom Perriot op ys!!!!! (^^) (^^) (^^)
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:37 pm

Hi Oupa G.

We also could only get 19/20 deg up elevator and thats when the horn pushed hard up against the vertical post.

Are you able to get more by adjustment or are you going to have to do a mod.

nico
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:01 am

Nico the horn is not against the post so I think I will get it with adjustement. But the seat must come out as well as the safety belts. Going to Bethlehem first.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:03 am

Flew to Bethlehem yesterday in a friend of mine's Aerostar 601. Sat at level110 205kts and it was an easy 3 hrs for the 600nm trip. Just the last bit was a bit thundery with strikes on the Stormscope. Today is the AP meeting and I will report back. Hope to see the powers at CAA and hear if the papers have reached their desk yet. I believe it first has to go to the engineering section.
Monty is looking after that.Talk to you later from the Metropolis of Bethlehem. See from the web Mike and James will be here on Saturday with the Sling at th EAA show, I'm looking forward to that,

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:11 am

Hi Oupa, mooi luister wat die ooms se, ek sal later kom uitvra. Geniet die show, en klop vir Mike en James daar op die skouer. Boet se: Knap gedaan jonge!! vhpy

Postby Tailspin » Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:43 am

Oupa

Were you at the Show ??
I was there but i was Very Busy as i had only 1 helper to Park all the Aircraft.
I have pulled the Legaments in my right knee and my Lips are still sunburned but i had fun doing it.
Sorry i did not get a chance to meet you. (**)

Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:47 pm

Gavin I was at the show we came in the Aerostar. I enjoyed the show and also the AP meeting. I was having a long talk to Andre Swanepoel and enjoyed that very much unlike what some people would like to believe the chaps at CAA and especially the NTCA department are on our side they are also caught between the old regulations and a bunch of individuals. The spirit of the individuals and and the CAA documentation just must find a golden midway. But it is important that the spirit of the aviators must not be oppressed. There was the wonderful example of our three heroes Chalkie, Mike and James who did flights beyond the imagination of any of the great powers. In the American aviation news gave very little if any to our heroes, however they managed with the help of the NTCA section of the CAA and their "Spirit and enthusiasm". Enclosed I have some pics of the two aircraft at Bethlehem air show. I also saw the Jabiru Explorer I must compliment the Komatipoort team on a very beautiful yellow Explorer

Cheers Oupa-G
Chalkie.jpg
Two Heroes.jpg
Three Heroes.jpg

Postby Boet » Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:39 pm

I wish me and the animal were twins. Would have loved to have been there too. Vredendal aviation Festival was`nt half bad. Very laid-back and relaxed show, with lots of superb, safe flying, lots of good conversation, jokes and good companionship. It is turning propellors, roaring engines and aeroplanes that bring us together, but every pilot flying these aeroplanes are just ordinary humans, each with his or her own life story. A fact brought home shockingly by the Arrival of Johan Stemmet and his mate Vic. The moment I saw them I sensed something was seriously wrong. They lost a good friend and flying buddy in a low-flying accident near Vaalputs, Northern Cape. (Vaalputs is where the spent plutonium of Koeberg nuclear power station is kept) Our hearts go out to these fellow aviators, and the family of the deceased.

Fortunately the weather played along, and Saturday dawned bright and sunny. A fantastic day made just for flying. And FLY we did. Sunday morning was a bit dicey, with some mist and fog patches lying around. A good couple of early leavers were forced to turn back, and enjoy some more Vredendal hospitality. This little platteland "airshow/ fly in" is becoming increasingly popular, and the hospitality of these people is fantastic. I allways feel welcome there, and like a bad odour will be back as long as my eyes shine.
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:52 pm

Should get the final gear-legs back from the WaterJet cutters. We have finalised the gear design and are making exact templates for the bending process. This is very important to get both legs equal and to be able to repeat the process if one wants to duplicate the legs. At present the idea is to bend the profile and to put in the necessary toe-in as well. We try to stay away from aligning shims as far as possible. As soon as I have all the parts I will post the pictures. The carbon fibre tubes we glued onto the experimental gear carrying the brake lines were very successful and that idea will be repeated. I have a friend who is a bow and arrow fundi and they brake arrows. The carbon fibre hollow rods can be bought from the model aeroplane shops . I will keep you posted. Monty is walking the papers through CAA today so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:22 pm

The process is in action. Keeping them crossed! I spoke to Stephan of KFA this morning. Should not take long. vhpy
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:26 pm

It is now very difficult to be a good boy. But if I have waited this long I might as well wait a bit more. I have already had my first puncture, but it was the tube's problem and I have replaced the tube with a new one and over the weekend I will replace the other tube .I hate flat tyres.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:34 pm

Today I was informed that I have been using the wrong format logbook so of course I now got the correct logbook. What was more exciting is that I received the components from the Waterjet company for the gear . The edges are going to be rounded and then the final bending and then the heat treatment. These are just refining touches. enjoy the pics. I see we have had 52000 hits , keeping fingers crossed for the CAA paperwork.

Cheers Oupa-G
Gear new.jpg
Gear new1.jpg
Gear new2.jpg