Radial Explorer Project - Da Animal

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: Radial Explorer Project - Da Animal

Postby Boet » Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Thanks George, your aeroplane flies like a dream!!! You are going to enjoy this machine!!

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:41 am

News flash......

Plans are afoot to syndicate this machine. RV is keen to "get back into it" and I don't want to sell it :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: . Tentatively it will happen around year end or early in new year once ATF issued and I have flown a couple hrs :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: (100 or so) :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: . If anyone is interested, drop me a line. Not guaranteed at this stage, just testing the waters to see if there is interest and if it is feasible. Hangarage will be either at Coves (if I can get access for part owners), Brits, Aeroden or Aviators paradise...

Possibly looking at 4 shares but final price is unknown since I have not yet tallied the numbers (credit card statement still O/S to get exact exchange rates for what the whole engine revamp cost, but I know it will be more expensive than comparative 912 Explorer due to engine issues and the extra's we added or "substituted" over the standard kit.... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

PS
Thanks Boet. Can't wait to come down and Fly Da Plane..... puff puff puff puff. Man I get jealous when I get those "ek gaan gou Animal flieg" sms's at 5 every afternoon... (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Boet » Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:36 pm

:lol: Can`t really say I blame you for :mrgreen: . I would have been :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :evil: If it was my aeroplane. but thanks for the priveledge I have to fly it. I fly VERY carefully, and (Touch wood!!!!) is yet to make a kak landing with it. This aeroplane is a PUSSYCAT. (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (!!) (!!) (!!) (!!) Just had a couple of guys from Worchester dropping by. They drooled and dripped all over my hangar floor. vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Boet » Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:08 pm

De no comment...... 8)
4.jpg
4.jpg (24.95 KiB) Viewed 2335 times

Postby Boet » Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Some more..... Richard was here with his Nicon.. vhpy vhpy vhpy (!!) (!!)
3.jpg
3.jpg (26.92 KiB) Viewed 2332 times
6.jpg
6.jpg (57.77 KiB) Viewed 2332 times
German

Postby German » Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:22 pm

Watter size prop gebruik jy Boet en watter spoed/revs?
Gaan die aerie nie mooier lyk met n klein spinner nie?

Postby Boet » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:44 am

And another one.....

German, prop is 76X55. Still battling with the ref counter. VDO does not exactly make them for uneven no of cylinders. :wink:
Open invitation 2.jpg
CFD

Postby CFD » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:33 pm

Hey Boet - that's some machine you got there! Well done mate - keep it up. How about a TURBINE next!?

Postby Boet » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:27 am

CFD was at the right place, at the right time, so he scored a flip in the animal. He nearly tripped over it when he got out! Thanks for the nice pics mate. The fanbelts will be here today........so they said. :roll:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:36 pm

I hope they are alternator belts and not fan belts

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:37 pm

Fan belts, altertnator belts wtf ever. Damn things left OZ on 17th. In CAPE TOWN on 19th. I had to bel-en-skel to wake some ferker up, that was NOT doing his job. My moermeter is sommer van voor af in die bleddie rooi. :evil: Magtig , Moerlandspan is far from everything, but damn well a lot closer to Cape Town than OZ. This is bloody inexcusable. AFRICAN time. ## ## ## ## ## ## ## (**)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:52 pm

Believe it or not FEDEX does not have credit card facility ## ## ## ## . Direct deposit and then they have to reconcile the deposit to the ref before they are able to schedule the delivery to Moerlandspan....

It would have been quicker if I had flown to fetch the dam things in CT and paid cash..... ## ## ## ## ##

Min dae. (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Boet » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:14 pm

Belt is in, enjaain running, battery charging again. But I had to drive to Niewoudtville, 64km away to go collect the belts, otherwise it would only have been here tomorrow, or probably Friday. Anyway, water under the bridge.The belts are here. :lol: One spare, for it is an odd size not available anywhere locally. RVforker has given me the go-ahead to fly his new toy to Vredendal Airshow. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Phone call to Piet Fourie at CAA this morning. He is a very friendly and helpfull man, have range for test-flying extention letter in my E mail when I down loaded my post just now. (^^) Thanks a million Pieta. (^^) So tomorrow, some more radial fun. vhpy So far the shakedown flights has proven this aircraft to be well mannered and very docile. I am still hammering the engine a bit to get it to run-in properly. ## ## ## The manual says these engines are prone to marking their territory for the first 4 hours or so. :evil: Thereafter it is supposed to stop. vhpy ( Marking it`s territory that is...... :oops: )
Wallaby

Postby Wallaby » Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:50 am

Hey Boet, hope you'll not be to windgat with George's aerie. Actually with a plane like that, you'll have to fit rolldown windows to taxi with your arms resting in the open window...lekker windgat passing the other people on the show.

I remember when I was still in school and I was asked to drive a Mercedes 380 around the field at the school's athletics. I stopped in front of the pavillion to offload the dirigents ( Cheerleaders or whatsoever ). I was so windgat with this Mercedes ( My father only had an Opel ) that I didn't even look left or right. Even if it wasn't mine.....

Enjoy Boet and see you there.
Life- I did it my way.....
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw

Postby Boet » Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:13 pm

The windows on this one does not wind down, so you open the whole damn door, and with this plane, HIRE someone else to give the crowd of swooning and fainting fair maidens the royal wave. (!!) :lol: