Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:13 am

Boet thanks for the trouble I was busy this weekend with the hairstyle of the Bosvarkie but finished the wires of the solid state gyro's suctioned all the filings from the belly and checked in all the gear bolts. Enclosed pics of the display it works very well in straight and level the ball is centre but in the turn to the left the ball also goes left because the centrifugal force is missing and the same to the right. We are marching on and it looks like next weekend she is going to the hangar.
Also managed to do a REDX flight to Springbok picked up a patient a car got into a slide on the gravel road overturned ,no safety belts , and so a flight. All reading please wear your safety belts.

Have a puzzle with the pics

Cheers Oupa-G
Voyager.jpg
level 10degrees pitch up
Voyager1.jpg
Turn to the right
Voyager2.jpg
Turn left
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:28 pm

I see the site has gone past 39000 hits. The figures keep amazing me. Worked all evening got very little to show for it except it looks reasonable that the Bosvark is going to Grootfontein at the weekend for the high power tuning the neighbour hood has been very tolerant and I do not want to push my luck. On top of it I will have to tie down the tail to prevent the after an aircraft running scene. Its late and I'm of to bed.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:58 pm

The yellow has been sprayed on yesterday, blue going on tomorrow. Me and Antjie has been married for 25 years today. I do not know whether we must be congratulated or sympathized with.... vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
To keep out of mischief today we worked on project X and spray painted a BB red.
oupa se dop.JPG
oupa se dop.JPG (51.61 KiB) Viewed 3233 times
work in progress.JPG
work in progress.JPG (62.08 KiB) Viewed 3233 times
goiing rooi.JPG
goiing rooi.JPG (45.84 KiB) Viewed 3233 times
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Jul 07, 2009 10:52 pm

Boet you will be glad to hear that tonight I replaced the brake pipes with all new fancy fitting specially on your 25th wedding anniversary. I beat you with 17 years.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:01 am

Thanks for the brake-pipes. Now I will sleep soundly tonight. vhpy For quite a while I have been experiencing a serious Aardvark problem on our local airfield. I got gatvol of having to work with a spade, closing up 3 M + holes in the runways every time I wanted to go fly, or someone else wanted to land here. As much as I hate killing things, :( this animal started posing a SERIOUS safety threat, so I am just back from the airfield, and the ferkin pest is sadly no more. The choice was his. He had the whole dang Africa to go plough up, why plough up the airfield? I will have to hire some spaarpiel tomorrow, to go close up the holes that the basteward dug right in the middle of RW 06. :evil: I had an extremely busy day today, we had a party to celebrate 25 years together, and then while we were at it we celebrated good friendship and life too. Made a dang good job of it. (**) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) But now I have to go keel over, another VERY busy day ahead tomorrow!! vhpy vhpy
Fly safe!
Sukkelaar

Postby Sukkelaar » Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:22 am

Boet as jy lewenslank tronk toe gestuur is op jou huweliksdag was jy vandag n vry man. Ongelukkig is jy toe getroud soos baie van ons doen, en dan is daar geen vryheid nie.

Grap net, geluk met die herdenking dit gebeur deesdae al hoe minder.

Groete
Sukkelaar
Kyk Noord
German

Postby German » Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:08 pm

Geluk Boet-het jy my dan vergeet!

Postby Boet » Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:59 am

Nein, ich habben du nicht forgessen. vhpy Blue paint on, looks good for white paint on the bottom part. I have to respray the whole bottom part because of the inspection doors fitted, and some dings in the paint. This time I am taking it back to the fairest myself. :wink: Today is spray-day once again, and then on to some more work on project X. Seems like we are going to get some rain towards tomorrow...... Will be good for the flowertjies. Me and my Softness took a late afternoon drive out in the flower fields, and already there are some pretty ones showing their beauty. Took a pic of this one, it smells as good as it look. and saw a species of evening flower that I have never seen here. Either a bothanists dream, or his nightmare!
Blommetjie..JPG
Blommetjie..JPG (68.2 KiB) Viewed 3093 times
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:10 pm

Congrats on your and Annetjie's anniversary for Wednsday Boet. (^^)
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:21 pm

Boet against nature we are not even amateurs.

The flowers are going to be beautiful this year.

Busy with the wiring will show some pics later in the evening.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:45 pm

As you realize Boet and myself are in daily contact and cross fertilize each other with idea's and positive criticism when I had fitted the brake system with poli-urethane piping rated to 10 bar he came out with the subtle remarks "daai goed is K*K" I did take note because we do not wan't that kind excretum on the Bosvark. Now that I'm doing all the thousand little things that need doing I replaced all the fitting with the proper stuff . It is a nylon tubing rated to 30 Bar and I got all the nice brass fittings that prevent the pipes from being compressed and later leaks. There are nice fittings where the pipes come through the fire wall and I hope that Boet's critical eye will pass this one. Enclosed some pics

Cheers Oupa-G
Brake Pipe.jpg
Brake Pipe1.jpg
Brake Pipe2.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:58 pm

That was on the brake pipe front. On the electrical side I had to disconnect all the wires that is the only way one can untangle a temporary wiring and make it a permanent loom. Some wires are to long and some to short, but I can now see the light in the end of the tunnel. I made the bracket for the bussbar and on the negative side all the poles are connected and the main earth will go to the block of the engine to prevent earthing through the instruments during start-up.

On the positive side you will see that the Bussbar is divided into two section three poles for the alternator circuit and three poles for the battery circuit. The batt and the alternator are connected by a 15amp circuit breaker . So normally batt and alt are functioning as one system. In case of abnormal function of either batt or alt the circuit breaker will trip and we then have two separate systems. At this stage all nuts are hand tight and once the loom is finished all will be tightened.
Enclosed some pics and then of to bed.

Cheers Oupa-G
Bussbar.jpg
Bussbar1.jpg

Postby Boet » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:29 pm

Spaghetti.
See_through.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:29 am

Ystervark came early this evening he made a drawing of the wiring to be . We disconnected all wires laid them out crimped and crimped I kept on crimping and Ystervark connected and when we connected the battery , no smoke and all systems worked as you can see from the time it became late.

Tomorrow morning it is forcasted to be nice so we will send all neighbours shopping while we will tie vthe Bosvark to a tree and do the high power tuning.

Good night

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:51 pm

As I have been writing on this site that we will do honest reporting. Well during the high power run we experienced detonation with damage to the pistons. Luckily no holes and and I will replace both pistons. We will definitely pour in more fuel at the higher power end. The actual detonation happened so quickly a matter of a few seconds and the damage was done. We will be much more conservative with our map and lean out only on cruise. What was nice that the engine was pushing out plenty of horses and I had to adjust the prop pitch. It was set at the factory for a 100 horses taking the RPM and gearbox ratio into consideration.

Next week I will order the parts and at the end of the week I'm going on a Botswana tour so I will then be out of action for the Bosvark progress for three weeks, so Boet it is over to you then to come with some technical info.

Cheers Oupa-G