Xenon Gyro

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Gyronaut, Condor, FO Gyro

FLYNOTE

Re: Xenon Gyro

Postby FLYNOTE » Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:32 pm

Jip Whirly , on the button ! You buy my M22 , don't even start thinking of any other route ... for you only R50 000 !!!! ......... deposit and the rest over a few months !
I do not see any reason why you could not go directly onto the Xenon.
I went the exact route you mentioned. Warrior , Arrow II , Seneca II, Beech Baron E55 and then ... aerotrike ! Then came the day Francois Maritz introduced me to his "what do you say this thing is called ? a gyro what ... copter ? plane ? "

I imported the 4th Magni in the country back in 1999 before ELAs and MT s etc. when we did not fully understand these wonderful machines that takes off like a taildragger fixed wing and then flies like a chopper but we learned very quickly. I had 1500+ hrs on fixed wings , mostly twins and the conversion to the gyro was not an issue at all. Back then we did not have the regulations in place as today . Butch and Eric were still pioneering the whole gyroplane scene. I went solo after 4 hours and that was it. Today, 1600 gyro hours and one stupid pilot error accident later , I still maintain that for affordable sport flying, you will have to go far to beat a gyroplane, no matter what the make. It all boils down to personal choice. They all fly well and are as safe as the pilot.
As with anything that floats on water or flies through the air or moves on tar , one needs a decent conversion to anything new or different and develop a feel for your craft until you are comfortable and competent.

If you are accustomed to flying the Xenon you will have to go through the same exercise if converting to a tandem.

Go and fly in a Xenon and see if this is the flight sensation you are looking for. Some guys swear by trikes and will not consider anything else. Others, fixed wings etc. Some of my chopper friends will not for all the convincing in the world get into a gyro, even after chewing on the safety concept of autorotation at all times during flight !

Good luck with your decision !
xenon.jpg
xenon.jpg (55.2 KiB) Viewed 4838 times
THI

Postby THI » Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:37 pm

FLYNOTE wrote:Die Swartlanders kan maar kom ! Bring wyn saam.
Geen probleem, en dalk 'n lekker port of muskadel vir die winter maande!!
Ek gaan steek sommer die kagel aan!
(^^) (^^)
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
FO Gyro

Postby FO Gyro » Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:11 pm

Ok, I have split the thread so that the subject of gyro's and helicopters can be discussed in a separate thread.
Glenn Poley
ex ZU-AWE Windlass Trike
ex ZU-AOA VPM M16 Gyro
ex ZU-BPU Sycamore Gyro
ex ZU-ATC VPM M16 with Rotax 914 Gyro
ex ZU-GJP MT-03 Gyro
ex ZU-NPC RV9A
ZU-RJR Magni M24 Orion Gyro
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:44 pm

Hey guys, gotta get this one in ! Did some head counting on my game farm in the Waterberg with my Xenon ! First time I use her for serious work. Up to now it was for fun only but this time for work...and what fun the work turned out to be !!
The big windows at your feet give you a panoramic view of the ground below you and man oh man what a pleasure ! The incredible visibility above, below and to the sides really gives one the feeling that you are flying in a bubble ! Hats off to the designers and the thought put into the layout and design of the Xenon's cabin.
2 of us flying grids over the farm for an hour and spotting every species hiding under the trees. I have done this exercise with my M22 on numerous occations but always seemed to miss some game . Being in a position to view any movement directly below you made the count so much easier .
I am also now getting used to the Xenon's incredibly easy and fast recovery from hover. It must have something to do with the nose of the Xenon that acts like a wing due to its shape / design.
I'm accustomed to losing quite a bit of altitude in gyros in the hover and recovering process, when dropping the nose to pick up forward speed before returning to your previous altitude. In the Xenon you drop the nose only a fraction to recover and she's flying again. For game counting this is wonderful as I could hover if we needed to stay in one area for a while and then continue straight and level losing very little altitude in the recover.
Enjoy flying whatever you fly and the niceties of you specific craft.

"Once you have learned to fly your plane, it is far less fatiguing to fly than it is to drive a car. You don't have to watch every second for cats, dogs, children, lights, road signs, ladies with baby carriages and citizens who drive out in the middle of the block against the lights.... Nobody who has not been up in the sky on a glorious morning can possibly imagine the way a pilot feels in free heaven." ~William T. Piper
xenon binne.jpg
xenon binne.jpg (77.04 KiB) Viewed 4601 times
Massimo

Postby Massimo » Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:15 am

I must say Johan is one determined fellow. Even this morning in the howling wind i get to the field and there is see the Xenon taking off. Its impressive and a beautiful machine. If i was a gyro guy i think this baby would be on the top of my list. Who knows maybe one day . . .
THI

Postby THI » Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:31 am

Massimo, you must remember that the Xenon has a heater inside, flying nice and warm ##
Definitely the way to go/fly vhpy
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42 am

You go guys !! I'm enjoying this ! You are saying all the right things . Come over to my hangar for a cup of coffee and check this baby out for yourself anytime !
I got up on Monday morning to a cold very blistery start to the week, thinking to myself ... "far too windy for a day at the office. Maybe I should take a flip over to Wagtail for my 60 hr inspection."
Upon arriving at Tedderfield , I noticed that someone must have washed the windsock in starch...
Take off was within 5 meters and climb out at 1200fpm. Daai windjie is gyro kos !!
After pointing the nose in the direction of Wagtail I pulled the throttle back to 4800 RPM , 36 MP setting , fuel flow 17 lts per hr and yes ... the heater on, the outside temp was 2C after all .It took 25 glass smooth minutes at 180 kph covering the 75km hop to Wagtail using 9.2 lts of fuel. Nice numbers hey !! Ok,ok a tailwind is a bliss in any craft and will inflate numbers like crazy but a smoother ride than in a gyro you will not find anywhere ... except maybe a hot air balloon on a winters morning at sunrise !
Love this flying machine !! I'm looking forward to my first loooonnnngggg cross country in her soon soon. Nice touches such as custom made luggage that fit neatly behind the seats are a bonus. Going to be great to pack these bags and hit out towards the Kalahari and Namibia.

"You haven't seen a tree until you've seen its shadow from the sky." ~Amelia Earhart
custom luggage behind seats.jpg
custom luggage behind seats.jpg (53.55 KiB) Viewed 4450 times
THI

Postby THI » Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:56 am

FLYNOTE wrote:Come over to my hangar for a cup of coffee and check this baby out for yourself anytime !
I’ll definitely take you up on this! I’ll be in Gauteng early in August.
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
tsotsi

Postby tsotsi » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:26 am

Johan hou nou net op asb! My keyboard is al nat gedrool.

puff
Fly by wire
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:58 am

Ja kom tog dat ek vir die Swartlanders 'n ordentlike stuk Bosveld vleis kan braai.
If Mammie does't like flying, you are going to have a major problem on your hands after your visit because once you experience this gyroplane you are going to eat, sleep, think, walk, talk, read , dream Xenon until your own one lights up the skies above Moreesburg !
I wouldn't mind a cruise from Moreesburg , over Citrusdal's beautiful mountain range and along to Clanwilliam , Van Rynsdorp and into the Knersvlakte to my grass roots , Springbok Namakwaland. Maybe late August , early September when the famous Namaqualand flowers are in full bloom. Should be wonderful to view this spectacle from the Xenon ! Daar byt die gogga alweer. I think I will start planning... Anyone keen on a " Namaqualand flowers Gyro Safari ' late August ... ?
ZU RDV.jpg
ZU RDV.jpg (93.77 KiB) Viewed 4435 times
THI

Postby THI » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:12 am

Eish Johan, I must agree with tsotsi, jy moet stop! Can't take this anymore vhpy
Luckily Mammie likes flying, maybe she’ll love flying after the Xenon! The warm cabin will definitely score points!
The Swartland is looking beautiful this time of year, especially with the green wheat fields and the snow on the mountains! Definitely worth a visit.
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
whirly

Postby whirly » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:38 am

Flynote,

One more question please!

In the M22 you fly with your right hand and use your left hand for the throttle, I presume? How do you fly the Xenon and if it is the other way around, how difficult was the conversion or do you sit as PIC on the right hand side in the Xenon? :?

Whirly.
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:36 pm

Nowadays a businessman can go from his office straight to the airport, get into his airplane and fly six hundred or seven hundred miles without taking off his hat. He probably will not even mention this flight, which a bare twenty-five years ago would have meant wearing leather jacket and helmet and goggles and risking his neck every minute of the way.
No, he probably wouldn't mention it - except to another flier. Then they will talk for hours. They will re-create all the things seen and felt in that wonderful world of air: the sense of remoteness from the busy world below, the feeling of intense brotherhood formed with those who man the radio ranges and control towers and weather stations that bring the pilot home, the clouds and the colors, the surge of the wind on their wings.
They will speak of things that are spiritual and beautiful and of things that are practical and utilitarian; they will mix up angels and engines, sunsets and spark plugs, fraternity and frequencies in one all-encompassing comradeship of interests that makes for the best and most lasting kind of friendship any man can have.

— Percy Knauth, 'Wind on my wings,' 1960.

Nice to share a passion !
Xenon in factory.jpg
Xenon in factory.jpg (69.54 KiB) Viewed 4426 times
THI

Postby THI » Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:52 pm

Sjoe...
And try to eplain this to someone that doesn't fly...
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML

Postby Grumpy » Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:58 pm

Koop nou vir jou n blerrie gyro en kry klaar.
Kyk die M23

http://www.magnigyro.co.uk/index.php?na ... me=Printer