The great "Balls to the Wall" Challange, GT450 vs Whirlwind 912s

Smiley

Re: Something new for the microlight industry!!!

Postby Smiley » Fri May 29, 2009 1:27 am

Howzit everyone

This should be great, I will not miss this one!! Make sure the breakfeast are plenty as the Manne van Staal will be there!! (^^)

On a personal level, I need to say I love the GT450, it's a good looking aircraft and performs well.

I fly a Mainair Gemini from the same factory and everything about this aircraft were designed well. The modern locally produced micro's cannot compare in design. Now here's the thing, my micro was manufactured in 1989.

From a great designed plane in 1989 to a Quick R in 2009, they have come such a long way in improving the technology and thinking that it would not be fair to compare this to a new locally produced micro.

Yes, the time will come when this new design will make its mark, but for now I think they should first put 200+ in the air before you can even start to compare.

It's not just about price and speed, as an Engineer I know it's about good design principles, wind tunnel testing, FEA's ect ect ect ect

But it's great that a South African manufacturer is putting up his hand as we all are proudly South African, but more work still needs to be done that can only come with many many years of constant improvements to your product before it will reach the current Quick R era in design content.

My 2c
Last edited by Smiley on Fri May 29, 2009 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Flying tha beast named "Wollie"

Springs 122.40
Gaylord Focker

Postby Gaylord Focker » Fri May 29, 2009 7:48 am

hey Marius

You are just not listning china , please if you are going to bring the Winbliss you going to have to remove a couple things to be a participant stok aircraft only so i thought i would give you a head start.

1 . Remove all double over head battery clamps and only 8 amp hour batterys allowed ,we dont want any amperage advantages here ( Keep it clean )
2. Remove all oranges and lemons from VHF arials as this would constitute longitudenal drag issues .
3. Remove all types of fuzz and firrs from dash board ,as this might be seen as vortex generators improving the air flow over the dash.
4. Remove all chrome spinners from wheels as this would confuse all thinking your winbliss is flying in the wrong direction and that would automatically
disqualify you CHOP !!!!
5. Remove all GT stripes as this would be seen as trying to copy the GT450 and wouldnt constitute fair play. Find your own Fu#@#$ng Stripes
6. Shave your legs and ,wear a jock strap as this might improve your over all speed and looks. xxx xxx xxx

otherwise ill b e roouting for you my boooi

gaylord
Wild Chicks,Cold beer,KY Jelly and Gt450 Nothing else required!!!!!!!!!
THE FORCE IS STRONG ON THE DARK SIDE

Postby Dish » Fri May 29, 2009 8:49 am

Gaylord, for this one im going to hitch a ride in your your back seat.... ??

when oh when oh when oooohhhh wheennnn :?: :?:

Postby Big-D » Fri May 29, 2009 10:35 am

Ahh this is cool - Won't miss this one, friendly competition in good spirit

I now both Big G and Alex and they are both great guys - This will be a cool event - let's keep it light hearted vhpy

kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Fri May 29, 2009 5:37 pm

I'm on air again. Just returned from my suprise birthdy boathouse trip on the Vaal !

Why do we not have a date yet ? ##

And whoever needs the menu for our venue ... ? ## A Brits breakfast is a Brits breakfast !

Come on now ... a date please !? ^
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Sat May 30, 2009 8:56 am

Yeeeeehhaaaaaaaaaa, yipeeeee, yipeeeee. (!!)
Cant wait for this, my money's on Marius (^^)

To come last :lol:

Come on Alex - the gauntlet has been thrown down. Respond china.
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Sat May 30, 2009 12:37 pm

Nkwazi wrote:Cant wait for this, my money's on Marius (^^)

Guess who is NOT going to Oshkosh this year ##
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Sat May 30, 2009 12:43 pm

ZS-NEL wrote:
Nkwazi wrote:Cant wait for this, my money's on Marius (^^)

Guess who is NOT going to Oshkosh this year ##
:shock: Oops - sorry boet. I take it all back :oops:
Wart

Postby Wart » Sun May 31, 2009 8:50 pm

OK, this is going to be a great competition and I am not going to miss this one.

WHEN and WHERE ????

If you want I can bring my Aquilla II 503 up and make sure the "track" is clear ahead of you guys? :shock:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Live: UK

Postby Dish » Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:25 pm

yeeaah the bantam annd the aquilsh can stay out in front, patrol the area so to speak to make sure that all is in order..

ha haha ha (-) (-) i crack myself up
windswept

Postby windswept » Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:51 pm

Dish wrote:yeeaah the bantam annd the aquilsh can stay out in front, patrol the area so to speak to make sure that all is in order..
Agree, we don't want skewed results :wink: Everything must be above board. :lol:

Then again, would give a new post a lot to discuss!
Watch out - Here I Come!
Aquilla 503 DCDI no longer :(
Go Bulls!!
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:49 am

Guys

To the organizers of the race, please remember to do it professionally like the Red Bull Air Race. As this is not sponsored by Red Bull and knowing the the microlighters, it can probably be called Dop en Chop race as probably more red meat and booze is consumed by microlight pilots than Red Bull, unless there is Vodca involved, adding some orange juice to the mix (Voda, Red Bull and Orange Juice), the race can then be named after the drink (25th hour), making it the 25th hour, first annual air race (Cause it sure as alcohol in my blood stream, should not be the last microlight race).

Now that there are competitors, the date is almost as important as the babes. Red Bull have them at their races so we should have them here. If my plane is not yet fitted with a wing the time of the race, I will sure as alcohol in my blood stream, drive my trike along the highway to come see the event vhpy (^^)
Girls_at_the_Red_Bull_Air_Race__1.jpg
Girls_at_the_Red_Bull_Air_Race__21.jpg
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:53 am

Guys, have you noticed how quiet Alex is ? :shock: vhpy

Maybe he is scared? :shock: :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol: vhpy
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:26 am

Perhaps after all is said and done, more was said than done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date :?: :?: :?:

slysi

Postby slysi » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:34 am

Play nicely now boys !!!! :roll:
Simon
Student Pilot