Re: Radial Explorer Project - Da Animal

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:11 pm

mmmmmm

Arnie

1972 gold medallist (discus)

I like to think of the Animal as a modern marvel and a bit more like this....
The US Olympic swimming trials are over and Michael Phelps qualified in 5 individual events and will likely participate in three relays as well, giving him a chance to break Mark Spitz's record of seven gold medals won in a single Olympics. Overshadowing Phelps' achievements was "41-year-old mom" (that's how they kept describing her on TV) Dara Torres, who qualified in both the 100-meter freestyle and the 50-meter freestyle.

Postby Low Level » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:28 pm

Boet wrote:Bit on the heavy side, but with this engine, it was expected.
Wat is die gewigs verskil met 912 Boet ?

Postby Boet » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:11 am

Nie op die skaal gesit nie, maar ek dink jy sal n groterige boot met hom kan anker.. :lol:
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:58 am

Stop torturing us and get the thing in the air already :-) and DON'T forget the video and sound .....
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:16 pm

Just spoke to MUITAB.
The Animal she barked today..... (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Lesser_spotted_owl

Postby Lesser_spotted_owl » Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:24 pm

Congrats mr 4ker,

now you'll have to bring her to visit

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
"wrong" is one of those concepts that depends on witnesses
ZU-CRC Cobra

Postby Boet » Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:59 pm

And BARK she did. A first for me too. I have NEVER gotten into a plane and fired up a RADIAL (!!) (!!) (!!) (!!) engine. After consulting the RTFM in detail, to ensure I do no FU in any way, we added oil and did as the RTFM stipulated. Only then did we add some motion-lotion. It did not tke long to fire up, and what music it makes. For an engine with stubs, not overly noisy, but OH BOY!!!..... Did I mention MUSIC.... (!!) (!!) (!!) (!!) It still need some ground runs. I only ran it for 10 minutes. It already marked it`s territory :lol: There was abselutely no glitches, and everything ran like clockwork......... Oh the MUSIC........ Guys, go have a cold one!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (!!) (-) :mrgreen:

this aeroplane has a SERIOUS fault though....... :oops: :oops: :cry: :cry:

Postby Boet » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:04 pm

Da damn thang aint mine! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cry: :cry: :cry: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cry: :cry: This aeroplane ooozes "Ramp Prescence".... (!!) (!!) (!!)
First fire-up.JPG
First fire-up.JPG (75.54 KiB) Viewed 2468 times
100_4398.JPG
100_4398.JPG (77.85 KiB) Viewed 2469 times
Wallaby

Postby Wallaby » Fri Apr 03, 2009 9:48 pm

Beautifull puff puff . Glad to see you weren't building wooden bi-planes with red spinners this past week. Still have nightmares about the horrible sounds that made me dreamt that dream there in Vredendal. ($$) ($$) ($$)

Have you made a video, because you probably won't see this soon again :( :( :( :?:

Somebody is very windgat tonight.......mr Forker..... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Wish it was me that could be windgat tonight. (**) (**)
Life- I did it my way.....
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw
RV Sometime

Postby RV Sometime » Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:01 am

Lovely stuff, Boet. You mentioned some surface rust on the valve stems to me a while back, did you clean them up & did you have any sticky valve problems?

It is simply wonderful to know that da animal is finished, I cannot wait for it to come up to jhb so I can ogle it 1st hand.

I'm sure we will be seeing more Rotec radials in projects in the future.

To answer another question regarding 912 to Rotec weight difference, it is roughly 15kg, but she makes more ponies. Boet worked out precisely where to install the battery box to get the cg spot on.

That lovely big prop looks awesome when running.

Where is our video, Mnr Loubscher :?: :?: :?:

Forker & Boet & co, has the swelling gone down yet?

I'm about to go flying my mates Debonair today & had to turn down an offer of flying a Kingair to the Seyschelles & back next week, plenty of flying to be done soon. Forker, I cannot wait to fly this beast vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Boet » Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:48 am

No, no and no. :lol:
AndyCAP

Postby AndyCAP » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:51 pm

Awesome stuff guye! Well done! (^^) (^^)

4rker - please let us know when we can come and drool next to her up here in GP??
:mrgreen:
(Im a bit slow :oops: :oops: MUITAB ???)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:45 am

My Uncle In The Aircraft Business (MUITAB) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Morph » Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:46 pm

Eish beautiful

pity you didn't record a little video

Boet, aren't you a little afraid that the animal will pull that whole roof structure down :wink: :lol:

finally it must be lekker living in a town where you can start up your aerie in the main road :lol: :lol: 8)

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Wallaby

Postby Wallaby » Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:56 pm

Just heard on the news that the Sishen train has nearly been derailed by gailforce winds on Friday mornin', near Kluitjieskraal 37km's North of Loeriesfontein. DAMN :shock: :shock: :shock:
Life- I did it my way.....
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw