Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Boet » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:23 pm

Safari no 2 on it`s wheels for the first time. Not long to go on this one. Oupa is agter, hy sal moet roer!! vhpy
100_3956.JPG
100_3956.JPG (59.77 KiB) Viewed 4376 times
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:45 pm

Hi Oupa-G
The 19000 hits to date are a tribute to the remarkable profesionalism by everyone involved with the build. South Africa can not for one moment and should never stand back from the rest of the world where it comes to ingenuity and skills of this calbre. I am proud to know you all and i'm proud to be a South African. I am waiting in anticipation for the day when this beauty takes to the sky. If i may speak for a lot of followers of this project, WE SALUTE YOU. Well done thus far. ^*^^
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure

Postby Boet » Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:11 am

Thank you for your kind comment, I can hardly wait myself :!: vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:01 pm

Some honest offer of asssitance to help the builders get it up? vhpy

Postby Boet » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:10 pm

Mmmm. and now it seems we need VIAGRA?? Fkkers. :evil: What is this shit. a shipload of Viagra fell off in the sea...... now they are using the Octopusses for barstools.
Still slogging along with Saf no2. Now doing the upholstering. VERY busy. vhpy
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:15 pm

Sorry for the Viagra invasion on this site .Little does the transgressor know that building an aircraft gives more satisfaction .I hope the web master can stop this invasion. I have been to Upington and back via Loeriesfontein seen the Safari II. Have been working hard on the fuel and ducting system. You will see on the fuel regulators the brackets are offset I use the same bracket but one upside down so that the regulators are offset and that the pipes do not conflict with each other. Have also made a quick visit to my friendly radiator man. It is wonderful to see a big company where you can talk to the boss and owner and they have a small research and special products department I had some small changes made to radiator #1 and ordered the radiator for Safari II.

Cheers Oupa-G
Airduct.jpg
these ducts should give enough airflow
Airduct.jpg (77.93 KiB) Viewed 3934 times
Fuel1.jpg
double regulators
Fuel1.jpg (68.56 KiB) Viewed 3931 times

Postby Boet » Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:06 pm

And Safari 2 is nearly ready for da enjaain. And MY Explorer is nearly there, and the Animal is coming on nicely, and we covered the fus of the"BEEG project" ( Sorry, NOT allowed to talkaboudit :cry: ) and we busy fixing 2 BB`s that had some grief, AND Louie ofloaded his Chally for cover and paint. Jeeez we are BUSY vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:48 pm

Vliegvark was at it again with DXF files and little brackets and out came the nicest brackets for the brakes and then combined with welding skills, just look at the equal heat penetration. What a wonderful age we live in with laser cutting and TIG welding. Everything just fits no more filing if it does not fit go back to the drawing. I'm making and fitting all the small pieces they have to be done and consume a lot of time. Had a visit from the Popular Mechanics team they got to hear from the Bosvark and are playing with the idea of taking some photo's and saying a few words . I will see if it comes to fruit. It would be a good thing for the whole LSA movement. No more chatting back to work I'm still aiming for end of April.

Cheers Oupa-G
Brake.jpg
Brake Brackets
Brake.jpg (62.02 KiB) Viewed 3774 times
Brake1.jpg
Just see the lovely penetration of heat
Brake1.jpg (66.26 KiB) Viewed 3779 times
Brake2.jpg
Brackets on firewall
Brake2.jpg (50.18 KiB) Viewed 3778 times

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:46 pm

Looks awesome.... Any chance of a vid of this beast running?
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:48 am

a video will be made on he first start up just remember it is not a beast but a delicate Bosvarkie. I'm of to Knysna to tune the Whisper with a BMW engine that is a precious weekend of building gone But I'm documenting everything. Thanks for all the support by looking on the web.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:55 pm

Upholstering Bosvarkie no2 continiued today. Getting there. Closer every day. Willem working on Bosvark 2, Esteban slogging it out on project X, and self wired the animal for sound. We are busy. No time for mischief.
saf 4.JPG
saf 4.JPG (55.85 KiB) Viewed 3553 times

Postby Boet » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:41 am

Yesterday afternoon, just as I was busy finishing up the Animal`s wiring, wifey pops by. "We have got to be in The Fairest by 06.30 in Strand street on Monday morning"......... Bummer :evil: :evil: :evil: . Started checking the Venture. Mmmmm. Bloody starter is on the fritz. Dang!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: . Takes it out. NOT on the fritz. Totally in it`s moer in. Parts NOT available...... a friend "lends" me his standby starter. Life is good again. Battery a bit flat....... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: . Charges the dang thang for THREE hours. STILL bloody flat ...FFFKKKKTTTT!!!!!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: Rushes around for someone that has the key to the local CO-OP. ( Sole supplier of bateries in town.) Yup, they have battery of the right kind. NOT the right price....... :cry: :cry: :cry: There goes my petol for flying money fer de next month :cry: :cry: :cry: DAMN. :evil: :evil: And you guys still think we do not stress at all when you are living out in the sticks?? vhpy vhpy vhpy Hopefully back on Monday eve.
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:56 pm

Back from Knysna brought the Vansin back left it in Plett last time due to weather it was better standing in the hangar in Plett then coming back with the Argus. Today was a beautiful flight bit bumpy but lekker. Sorted out the small problem that creep in to all new aeroplanes. Fuel lines sucking air and probes mixed up but in the end Vliegvark and Otto were on a high and when we left all systems were working 100% and the prop an Arplast three blader had to be reset to 24degrees to prevent the engine running away with the prop. That BM is really pushing out the ponies had to tie it to a bakkie to prevent it from jumping the chocks.
We left Knysna and the owner builder Derek, with Derek and his partner Francois smiling and happy I jumped in the Vansin and was home in 1:30 and Otto and Vliegvark came home in the Cruiser with all the testing equipment They arrived a few hours later and tired.

Cheers Oupa-G
Whisper1.jpg
Otto and Vliegvark tuning
Whisper1.jpg (91.58 KiB) Viewed 3363 times
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:03 pm

Some more pics of the weekend
Cheers Oupa-G
Whisper2.jpg
7000rpm from the front
Whisper2.jpg (84 KiB) Viewed 3361 times
Whisper.jpg
Hooked up so it can not run away
Whisper.jpg (95.98 KiB) Viewed 3355 times
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:16 am

This is what I'm waiting for. Engine result from that motor setup. Waiting with Bated breath...Can't stomach the price of the RATTEX 912
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.