DISH - Cross Country's done

Postby Dish » Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:22 pm

I have to Thank many people, but think i will start with the weather. Thank you weather, for playing along for an entire weekend... vhpy vhpy

I am thrilled to say that this I weekend I was able to complete both my Dual and Solo cross countries, about which for some time I had been a tad worried. In fact a while back I posted something regarding cross countries and what to look out for. It had been playing on my mind for a while so I decided to rely (as usual) on the advice of my mates on the forum, all of whom had given great advice. Morph - (take a coke and a chocolate along) etc etc...

So saturday dawned a beautiful morning and although I was proper Miff to miss part of the aeroden breakfast, i needed to spend some time with udher reviewing the planning and finer points of my dual cross country. As it happened we were good and the planning made the grade. After having a quick Breakie at Aeroden, we returned to and departed from Faap for my trip around the country. What a pleasure and just short of two hours later we were back on finals for Faap. Brilliant. All had gone well and the first of the two daunting tasks was over. (one lesson Learnt- Special rules west ins HELL of a busy on a saturday morning)

Early Night at Aeroden On saturday saw me completing all the plans for sundays trip and praying for good weather as a nasty storm passed through on saturday evening greatly disrupting our braai !!!
Five fifteen out of bed, the conditions were perfect. - Pulled the Bantam out, preflighted as always (Softness and I had cleaned ZU- DIF PROPERLY on Saturday afternoon, so I was ready to go. Had to deal with massive amounts of abuse from Gaylord, Udher , Basie and some other oke because apparently DIF looks a lot like a duck, ... I failed to see the funny side !!

Map attached to Knee board, plans and timers in place, nerves tingling a tad, I took off. I was thrilled to be joined by my very good mate Gaylord who while I was happy to have a little company offered exactly NO assistance in the routing, in case you think i cheated... So there we were, Pilansberg, Faap and back... Awesome awesome flight, went off with no problems, timings and distances spot on and a great experience. !!!~ A Huge thanks to gaylord for keeping me company and being around. You took some awesome photos chap.... will post soonest. The funniest (yet slightly nerve wracking thing) is that Pilansberg international airport had NO one home.!!!! Irritated the Cr@p out of me as I expected more, anyway, did what I needed to do and landed on the longest runway of my short experience.

Two jet pilots who fly serious embrauer business jets were really envious of the GT450 and the bantam - having just spent R 17,000 on fuel for the machine (for a family) of three. Anyway we gave them some Biltong and sent them on there way..

Flight home went like a charm and before i knew it i was back at Aeroden, safe on the ground and Cross Countries completed !!!!!AWESOME feeling indeed. !!!! Thatchman flew in for a cooldrink on the way back from Zebula and all in all a great experience.

Again - Marty mate thanks for being around, Coyote thanks for lending me your compass and advising me on the planning, Thatch bud thanks for popping in to say hi, and a big thanks to Jules thanks for being there girl...

The end is in sight !!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Solo Xcountry1 (Small).jpeg
Solo Xcountry1 (Small).jpeg (55.54 KiB) Viewed 2124 times

Re: DISH - Cross Country's done

Postby Grumpy » Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:36 pm

Well done Dish.............. no looking back now hey? Fly well and may this be the start of many happy and safe hours for you. (^^) (^^)
Albatross
Found a flight school

Postby Albatross » Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:52 pm

Well done Dish. Know all about the weather messing up one's plans. All the best for the last bit of training. (^^)
Wart

Postby Wart » Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:52 pm

Well done Dish!!

(^^) (^^) (^^)
Live: UK
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:10 pm

Well done Dish, look forward to hearing ZU-DIF on the air more often.... (^^) (^^)
Lesser_spotted_owl

Postby Lesser_spotted_owl » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:21 pm

Well done Dish,

coming to visit us down south soon?

(^^) (^^)
"wrong" is one of those concepts that depends on witnesses
ZU-CRC Cobra
slysi

Postby slysi » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:46 pm

Well done Dish (^^)
Simon
Student Pilot
Frootbat

Postby Frootbat » Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:46 pm

> > > > Well done 'ole Chap........My turn next, in the Bantam > > > > >

Talking about a duck.....my errie's registration = ZU-DUX.... Now we have at least 2 'dux' in a row..........
Hannes.
Bantam B22J (ZU-DUX)
Luff your aerie.

Postby Dish » Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:58 pm

Thanks for posting the photo Morph man...

Hey Froot, cant wait to do some flying with you... yeah all in all were a BIG step closer and i cannot wait..
RV Sometime

Postby RV Sometime » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:12 pm

Well done Dish, it's an awesome experience, not so. vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby AndyG » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Dish da Man,

Well done mate!! (^^) (^^)

Postby Low Level » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:23 pm

Good on you Dish. The rest of training will fly by - pun intended. Before you know it the little book with your signature in it will have to fly with you. (^^) (^^)
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:49 pm

Low Level wrote:Good on you Dish. The rest of training will fly by - pun intended. Before you know it the little book with your signature in it will have to fly with you. (^^) (^^)
Just remember to sign the first and second page... :twisted: :twisted: ## ##

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Feb 23, 2009 8:51 pm

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) Mooi Man
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Mon Feb 23, 2009 8:57 pm

Hey Dish, were you surprised at the amount of traffic on a Saturday morning ?

You chose a good time man ! Brits Flying Club had a Rally with 33 blikkies flying in, and Aeroden had its breakfast with plenty microlights ! And you flew through all that !!! vhpy

If you handled that, which you did, you deserve a MOERSE applause !

Copy RV4ker x 5 (^^)
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200