BMW 1000 cc motor in a Bush baby

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
Bennie Vorster

BMW 1000 cc motor in a Bush baby

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu May 24, 2007 1:15 pm

:? What is the chanses of putting a BMW 1000 cc motor in a Bush baby? Or how will it go with a 503 Rotax.

What HP does the BMW's produce. I'm getting fedup towing my BB behind my bakkie now. :? It is not fun anymore. :evil: :evil: :evil:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110

Postby Morph » Thu May 24, 2007 1:32 pm

80 to 100 horses,

check out the posts by Vliegvark. He has put a Beemer motor in his trike and is very happy with it.

I have seen a BB flying here at sea level with a 503. And they were using it for training. The motor is a bit marginal for the BB

Why don't you go the 582 route for now?
vliegvark

bmw

Postby vliegvark » Thu May 24, 2007 2:26 pm

hey benni not the 1000cc they are still air heads you must go for a 1100-1200cc the 4 valve motors they will do the job
wat motor do you have in the BB now

Postby Tailspin » Thu May 24, 2007 2:48 pm

Bennie

The 503 is not a good idea here at Alt. the BMW motor will work but it also depends on the type the 1000 will work but it is not really the right one. Vliegvark is right try for a 1100 or 1200
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Thu May 24, 2007 5:02 pm

Bennie, a friend of mine bought a 2nd hand BB with the older BMW R100 engine fitted. A long story but all I can say is we had many overheating problems with that installation.
I believe the Beamer would have been ok in free air, despite many attempts at various baffle modifications in the cowling we just could not get it to run cool enough.
Then he decided to fit a 50hp 2 stroke, performance was marginal at best with our density altitude. The engine operated at the top end of the available power just to maintain a 50mph cruise. 3 engine outs later and the current situation is the BB is undergoing some serious airframe repairs.
I believe the newer generation BM engines have a lot of potential but cooling inside a cowling will always be a challenge.
The cheapest proven option is the 582 Rotax.
Nottaquitta
vliegvark

Mogas & Bennie

Postby vliegvark » Thu May 24, 2007 5:55 pm

the old BMW engine are 70% aircooled & 30% oil and the new ones are 70%oil & 20% air. So the airfow can be use on the oil cooler no heating problems just use a good size oil cooler same size as a 582 water cooler . the new BMW R1200 motor pumps 30L/min over the heads of the motor and has a oil pump just to do so. I swear by my BMW think they are the way of the future
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Thu May 24, 2007 6:20 pm

Hey Vliegvark!
Cummon Bru, where are the promised posts about your BM?
I for one have been waiting with baited breath to hear more about "kakserious" performance :lol:
Nottaquitta
KFA

Postby KFA » Thu May 24, 2007 7:16 pm

Me too. Looking for a reason to buy a new bike :lol: :lol: :roll:
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu May 24, 2007 7:25 pm

:? I'm stuck with a blooming VW Motor with no knowledge of mechanics and that is a catch 22 situation. :evil:

It still is just a problem to save up that money for a 582. :?
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110

Postby Boet » Thu May 24, 2007 7:31 pm

Jis ou Bennie, my hart bloei vir jou man. :!: :cry:
Bennie Vorster

Re: bmw

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu May 24, 2007 7:31 pm

vliegvark wrote:hey benni not the 1000cc they are still air heads you must go for a 1100-1200cc the 4 valve motors they will do the job
wat motor do you have in the BB now
And how do I go aboute to find the right prop and gearbox? :roll:
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu May 24, 2007 7:33 pm

Boet wrote:Jis ou Bennie, my hart bloei vir jou man. :!: :cry:
Nee man Boet, pak jou toebroodjies in en kom help my. :cry:

Hoe lank vat dit om 'n 582 aan die vlieg te kry waneer jy die vw convert? :?
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Thu May 24, 2007 7:52 pm

Also forgot to mention that Aviation Engines recently had a promotion on where you trade in ANY old aerie engine for a substantial discount on any new Rotax engine.
It would be well worth a call to Niren at Aviation Engines to see if you can get a good deal.
That brand new Bluetop 582 may just be a lot cheaper than you think!
Good luck Bennie, I hope you come right.
Nottaquitta

Postby Boet » Thu May 24, 2007 9:17 pm

Bennie, dis maaaaklik man. Slaat jou spaarvark stukkend..... :D
582 installasie..JPG
582 installasie..JPG (82.82 KiB) Viewed 2749 times
vliegvark

oor die sfryf

Postby vliegvark » Fri May 25, 2007 10:06 am

Hulle ouens sorry oor die skryf ek is so bietjie met my kop in 'n ander projek moes die Vansin se engine 160mm skuif so ek belowe ek sal die naweek weer skryf aan Kakserious
Break Break
Benni ons verkoop die gearbox vir die BMW en die prop draai dieselfde as a 582 so three blade NC prop werk koning