Lycoming 0320 starter

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)

Lycoming 0320 starter

Postby Boet » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:34 pm

This is my story about my Lyc 0320 and it`s Delco Remy "starter". Why it was called a "starter at all beats the hell out of me. It weighed about 1/2 ton, and just was not powerfull enough for the job. We had endless problems with my Dad`s old Cherokee, same engine, same k@k starter! And with the gliding club`s old Super Cub, same shit. When you pressed the starter button, there was this loud mechanical grinding groan and one blade would swing up to the next compression stroke and then stop, Then you had to release the button, and the prop would swing back some, and IF you were quick enough on the button, the second swing would take it past the compression, and HOPEFULLY the engine would start.......IF you did everything correctly. Otherwise, NO second chances. I got to be very good at prop swinging.
So one day ,my moermeter waaaay into the red, I got my spanners out and I removed said starter antichrist kak starter bloody thing from my engine, and tossed it faaaaar away..... well, not really too far away, it was too heavy. Right you bastard, if you do not do what the name implies, IE START the damn engine, you are NOT going along for the ride...... Did I mention that this starter thing was rather big and weighed about 1/2 ton?
Anyway, for a while I got to be even better at propping my trusty 0320 to life. But then one gets a bit gatvol to be constantly prop swinging. It is kinda dangerous if done wrong. So out comes the thinking cap. Look now, there are a LOT of lighter and better starter motors on the market today. Somehow one MUST fit. When the "new shape Hilux" came on the market late in 1984, with the 1Y 1600cc engine, it had the prettiest little geared Nipondenso starter motor. Everything in it runs on bearings. Checked what direction it swings, mmmmm, direction is right. tested the little drive gear on the Lycon`s ringear...lo and behold. That also fit 100%. So I made an "L" shaped bracket for the starter motor, that just bolts onto the engine block, lined everything up perfectly, and NEVER had to swing the prop since. Where there is a will, there is a way. vhpy :wink:
101_0276.JPG
101_0276.JPG (71.74 KiB) Viewed 802 times

Re: Lycoming 0320 starter

Postby Grumpy » Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:53 am

Ja Boet,............... 'n Boer maak n plan. :lol: :lol:
flyboy737
Looking at the sky

Re: Lycoming 0320 starter

Postby flyboy737 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:46 am

Hi Boet,
Thank you so much for all the info. (^^)
I do appreciate the call back. Now I have a lot of ideas!
Happy landings,
Flyboy737