Cell fone help

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:02 pm

I know some folks on here are guru's in cell game. I need to upgrade. I have been Nokia man all my life from the first bricks to the E72. Now I need to upgrade and the BB (from cost view) and the Iphone (cool view) are confusing me. Has anyone test driven the E7, BB torch or the 9780(?) and the Iphone? I have Ipad so the gadet side of things is taken care of so it basically between BB (then which one) and the E7.

What is causing me to doubt the E7 is the slide. I had I think 7110, 8110 and 9300 and another 9 series opener. None made it past 12 months. (I still have and it works the 6310i). in my environment (sand and dust on building sites do not like moving parts) they don't last. The E71 and 72 made almost 12 months but the screens had to be replaced....

I also sukkel with touch fones.... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

HELP.... (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
OzGyro

Re: Cell fone help

Postby OzGyro » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:10 pm

Hi RV4ker

There is no option, I Phone all the way. You havn't regretted the purchase of the I PAD and you wont regret buying an I Phone either, my only piece of advise would be to wait anther few months with the release of the I Phone 5 rumoured to occur in July this year.

Darren
Dobbs
Survived second engine out

Postby Dobbs » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:27 pm

Just upgraded from the BB Storm to the Torch and I am very happy with it. Although I have an iPad, I have no experience with the iPhone, so cannot comment on it's practical value.

As for the Torch, I have no need to use the slide out keyboard as the touch screen is way better than the Storm, and very user friendly, but as a business tool, I am not sue what features any other phone would have to make it better than a BB Torch.

My wife was so impessed with the i "series" of gadgets that I eventually bought her an iRon - and that's when the fight started vhpy
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:29 pm

Iphone , The only Phone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
THI

Postby THI » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:06 pm

Iphone everyday of the week and twice on Sundays
Ian

Postby Ian » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:04 pm

my 2c worth:

The iPhone is for content hungry people (social media phone), facebook usage etc.. Also takes damm good pictures, videos etc. Excellent display.

The BB Torch tries to be a business and a 'content' phone - pretty good, but iPhone would win hands down if you are only after a 'content' phone.

If you want a phone that just works, with email, messaging, some social media, not too shabby pictures then the BB 9780 is a great device. It's the only phone I can send SMS or read mails, check the calendar whilst driving ... on roads or in the sky..

The New E7 is great, but heavy like the BB Torch (both are touch phones with keyboards). Also only a fixed focus camera (still pretty good tho) ... One advantage is the Ovi maps etc , really good and all in memory (no high GPRS costs when using)

I use a BB Bold (9780) for business and a Motorola MB525 on weekends (MB525 is to IP65 standards IRO shock,dust, water etc so it can bounce around the floor of the aerie etc.., with accelerometers etc, and the Android apps are plentiful and great fun - https://market.android.com/) - you can get a second SIM for a few Rand extra on MTN/Voda - all costs billed on 1 number.

If you are hung up on Nokia (they, along with Motorola and Blackberry have the best RF/phone comms IMHO), they are about to release a nice looking alternative to the E72 called the E6, looks really great, accelerometers and all... not in SA yet, may be worth waiting for ...

One point about BB, you can limit your 'social media and email' costs with a fixed all in data charge of R60 per month (it excludes streaming data like you tube tho). All other phones need a data package to be cost effective.

Maybe this helps.... (or confuses more ... :? jammer..)

A good site with reviews etc is http://www.gsmarena.com

cheers ian
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:29 pm

Iphone for me but partner KFA has the new Nokia N8 and is very happy with it, also touch screen though.
Nottaquitta

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:02 pm

Guys are not helping. Just as I wrote off the Iphone... I hate touch screens.
For me needs are
It is a fone so it must have good reception and sound
battery life is key (E71 sometimes dies by lunch due to call volumes and apps drain)
GPS (Fly and drive. Since advent of GPS fones I never refer to a map so when the battery dies I am often lost till I find a signboard to tell me where the hell I am :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: - In old days I used to plan trips by car with maps etc, not I just poot foot and listen to the Surfer Dude on the fone)
camera (maintenance is easier to remidy with date stamped evidence :lol: :lol: - My contractors hate my MMS)
email Just brows ability, not necessarily hard core.
Internet Payments and data lookup is a huge bonus
Memory. (need to be able to save non fone data if necessary like CAD plans etc) I know a memory stick is better, but I loose them....
Ipad does not like talking to PC's and has no USB stick or external data stroage capacity which is a pain in ass... Ability to link to a PC drop some info on the card and do same at office is a huge bonus. Am sure you can do with Iphone but with Nokia blueteeth is piss and I know how it works...

Social networking etc are all nice to haves. My fone works, the ipad is the toy...

PS
my weekend fone (sms and calls only) is said 6310i. IT WORKS and is destruction, kid and oops proof. (7 years and counting)... May have to replace that though as the numbers are getting a bot worn and it tends to jump out of the car kit every so often.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Kalahari
Survived first engine out

Postby Kalahari » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:17 am

I think this is a case of different strokes for different okes!

I had the BB Storm, biggest kak they ever made, my wife is having the new BB9780 and it changed my perception of the BB, very good handset with much better battery life than the other BBs, a definate yes for this one, the only thing that put me of is the QWERTY keyboard, I always battle to find the numbers but if you are used to the E71 this will not be a problem.

I also hate touch screens as I am not a pen pusher and this type of phones are not robust enough for me, but must admit, the Iphone is the best touch screen phone I haver used. The BB Torch is not so bad but still a touch screen BB which I will not recommend. I am in the Cell industry and this far thr 9780 is doing very good.
Arrogance and rudeness are the training wheels on the bicycle of life for those who can not keep their balance without it!
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:47 am

Get a BB then you can just BBM me to repeat your adverts in African Pilot. vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:34 am

Just sell the dam aeries already then I wont need to :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On that
How does the BBM system work?

Postby AndyG » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:38 am

RV4ker wrote:Just sell the dam aeries already then I wont need to :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On that
Similar to Skype. You get a BBM pin which you give to your mates with BB's. You can then text each other to your hearts content for free.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:43 am

Eish, then BB it is. sms with wife and kids is huge.....
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:54 am

Well done! My BB pin = 221BBOE1 :wink:
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:08 am

AndyG wrote:
RV4ker wrote:Just sell the dam aeries already then I wont need to :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On that
Similar to Skype. You get a BBM pin which you give to your mates with BB's. You can then text each other to your hearts content for free.

If only you can manage to press one button at a time, because they are moer klein. Will take some time to get used to. Whats handy while driving - i'm exchanging voice tags with the wife, an one button process without taking your eyes of the road. :)