NORTH MEETS SOUTH

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Gyronaut, Condor, FO Gyro

saraf

Re: NORTH MEETS SOUTH

Postby saraf » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:56 pm

Upington has a Casino with more than place for 50 of us, they have a shuttle service to and form the airport that we can arrange for us as well. There is a resturant with swimming pool ext. So again just a suggestion.
Good instructors always speak well about all flying machines.
Bad instructors speak badly about machines they cannot fly.

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:07 pm

FLYNOTE wrote:Big thing is though that we must get at least 50 Gyros together to make it a newsworthy event....
The initial enthusiasm seems to have waned for some reason. Some of us have committed to be there regardless of where it is, the only rider now is that it cannot be the 20th of November if the venue us changed since FASH has already arranged the venue etc so I am committed to that. Would LOVE to get 50 Gyro's together still though!

Flynote? Jabbanaught? Help??
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:38 am

Guys lets see if we can make FASH work on the initial dates of 20/21 November and join the guys for the Aviators evening. I am bok to go down.
Can everyone from up North, keen on doing this thing let me have your names, from where you fly and what you fly ( moenie my moer nie !!!! ek stir nie ... :lol: )
If we can come up with 25 gyros from up here we go. The South will come up with the other 25. I know the banana boys will add to this as well as other East/West woer woerre. We will fly down in groups of 5 . The reason for asking types is to group the fast M24s and RAFs with the slower MTs, Xenons and Ellas :shock: :shock: Dit was n ou grappie. Check hoe spring n paar moermeters in die rooi !! :lol:
No seriously. I would hate us to let this one go. Lets see what we can get together. If enough guys commit, we are in and will make this a special event.
Maybe you could mail me so that we can communicate on a more one to one basis. johan@noot.co.za
Fides jou ou bliksem ! Nou toe nou. Klein wêreld wat gedurig vreemde draaie maak soos ons ouer word !
Sal jou baie graag weer wil sien.
So let's go !! FASH 20/21 November. 50 gyroplanes from all over the RSA at one location. Fides will play the guitar and keyboard, I will announce him , Len will do a cabaret ... and a good time will be had by all !
Waiting anxiously to see the response. If we give it 10 days from now as a cut off for commitment? Some guys do not follow the forum such as some of the Vredendal boere but we all know who and where they are and can contact them.
Hie gat ons !?
Newguy

Postby Newguy » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:20 am

I'm in (Flynote your "old" M22) . I will fly up in the group with Gyronaut. Who else is in from the Cape?
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:29 am

Great Pat ! Duly noted. The Falcon treating you well?
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:34 am

FLYNOTE wrote:Guys lets see if we can make FASH work on the initial dates of 20/21 November and join the guys for the Aviators evening. I am bok to go down.
Can everyone from up North, keen on doing this thing let me have your names, from where you fly and what you fly ( moenie my moer nie !!!! ek stir nie ... :lol: )
If we can come up with 25 gyros from up here we go. The South will come up with the other 25. I know the banana boys will add to this as well as other East/West woer woerre. We will fly down in groups of 5 . The reason for asking types is to group the fast M24s and RAFs with the slower MTs, Xenons and Ellas :shock: :shock: Dit was n ou grappie. Check hoe spring n paar moermeters in die rooi !! :lol:
No seriously. I would hate us to let this one go. Lets see what we can get together. If enough guys commit, we are in and will make this a special event.
Maybe you could mail me so that we can communicate on a more one to one basis. johan@noot.co.za
Fides jou ou bliksem ! Nou toe nou. Klein wêreld wat gedurig vreemde draaie maak soos ons ouer word !
Sal jou baie graag weer wil sien.
So let's go !! FASH 20/21 November. 50 gyroplanes from all over the RSA at one location. Fides will play the guitar and keyboard, I will announce him , Len will do a cabaret ... and a good time will be had by all !
Waiting anxiously to see the response. If we give it 10 days from now as a cut off for commitment? Some guys do not follow the forum such as some of the Vredendal boere but we all know who and where they are and can contact them.
Hie gat ons !?
Johan Thanks

Lets Start planning .

Sal jou Mail

Paul
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA

Postby Grumpy » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:57 am

OH DEAR...... Hhhhmmmm Ja Johan ($$) ($$) ($$)
Condor

Postby Condor » Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:10 pm

This event is surely the bigest one for 2010, and attached your invite.

Please contact the following for more details:

johan@noot.co.za (Northern Sector)

gerrit@tautech.co.za (SAGPA)

polis@iafrica.com (Southern Sector)
RECORD BREAKING ATTEMPT.pdf
(85.74 KiB) Downloaded 316 times
Auto-Gyro Calidus ZU-RRG
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:37 pm

Now where are all you Northern boytjies for the FASH trip in a months time? We need to tie you guys down in order to make the bookings at Gariep.We also need to know numbers for organising the fuel requirements at Parys, Tempe ,Gariep , Beaufort West , Worcester and maybe somewhere inbetween as well. The South have already come up with 22 gyros at this stage. Guys and girls are flying in from as far as the Northern parts of KZN .It is promising to be the greatest event in the history of gyro flying in Africa.
We are looking at slotting a mechanical gyro fundi into each group. You need not fear flying in a formation as there will be someone in your group with lots of experience of long distance gyro flying.
We will have to cut off by the end of next week ( 5 NOVEMBER ) in order to fascilitate the arrangements.If you snooze , you are going to lose. Don't leave it till the last moment. If our 5 groups of 5 gyros each (25 total) are full; thats it... first come first serve.There is limited acommodation available in Gariep.If you wake up after closing next week you are still more than welcome to join us obviously , but you will have to make your own arrangements re acommodation, fuel and flying buddies.
E-mail names, where you fly from and contact detail to me ; johan@noot.co.za
I have had some queries relating to costs. You are basically looking at your accommodation in Gariep and Stellenbosch and approx 500lts of fuel there and back. Paul is organising good rates at the Protea hotel. I will negotiate with the gariep hotel once I know how many we will be. http://www.places.co.za/html/8765.html
Kom manne , GOOI! If you know of gyronaughts who do not frequent this forum :roll: let them know of the event en sê vir hulle ..." hulle moet lekker wees !"
Rotor-Blade

Postby Rotor-Blade » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:53 pm

Great Idea

However with the gyro footprint in South Africa, showing that the highest collection is in the Gauteng Area and surround, why would an attempt be made where they (the bulk) have the furthest to go, and which becomes a logistics nightmare in time/distance. Why was Stellenbosh selected instead of say Kimberley which might have attracted more members from around SA as it would be more central from all major centres, allowing easier access by all gyronaughts.

Kimberley, although not as scenic as the Cape, would have around a 3.5-6.5 HR from all major centres, wheres FASH is around 10.5 Hrs from Gauteng.

With those distances this becomes more than a weekend flight, and breaks into the week, which also will prevent potential gyro's from pitching.

For an attempt like this, to imporve breaking the records I believe a more central location would have helped in the cause.
Good Luck, and I hope it is well attended

I unfortunetly will not be able to make the trek. Safe Flying to All
saraf

Postby saraf » Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:06 pm

AGM last year in Gariep, Instuctors meeting in GP, AGM this year GP, Next year AGM Parys,

Gee die kaapse manne ook n kans , I vote Cape Town

Just a thought ........................
Good instructors always speak well about all flying machines.
Bad instructors speak badly about machines they cannot fly.
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:01 pm

Ag no man Rotor blade! Moet dan nie so wees nie. The boys down under offered to host the event long before the spanners started coming out and aimed at the works and zips were undone and certain parts of the anatomy aimed at exposed batteries. The idea is to give guys the thrill of a long range gyro safari and an experience different to flying in your own backyard every weekend. The fact that we can get tv exposure for our sport in Stellenbosch and that some of the Cape guys are flying to Gariep to escort us from up here down to fash is by the way. Sorry you cant make it. We will miss you. '...'en dan se mense ek is moeilik..."

Postby Gyronaut » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:02 am

Rotor-Blade, this started off with discussions about Northern Gyro owners meeting the Southern Gyro owners somewhere central. We have debated the options elsewhere on this forum at length and the consensus reached at the time was to take up FASH on their generous offer to provide facilities etc. Pity you missed those discussions as we would have valued your input at the time.

Gauteng to Cape Town is not as daunting as it sounds. Consider it a challenge. I have done it several times. split into two 5 hour journeys it really is a piece of cake. Try it mate! Yes, it is two days one-way if you do it that way but hey - you only live once and it is really something worth doing! Especially if you are doing it in a nice group. We usually do it alone - en daai Karoo/Vrystaat is GROOT.

Pak 'n fles koffie, koue hoender, blou-gekookte eiers en vat die pad man! Ons sien uit daarna.

Len
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:58 am

And?... can I put your name down RB ? Would be lekka to have you aboard.Take a few days off and do this thing!
I have had so many requests from guys who want to stay a few days longer in the Boland. Others want to return to Gauteng via Upington. Others want to fly up the West Coast and then route back via the Richtersveld, Augrabies etc. etc.
Others want to hit a tiger line via Kimberley ...
We have done all the different routes often and can advise re runways,fuel etc. We will not however be able to work out an itinerary for each individual and organise his trip back. The consensus suggestion is that we organise the 5 groups from the North to FASH. You get in your gyro and depart/meet up with your group at your ETD. You "bond" with you 4 maatjies during refueling at the pre-organised airfields from JHB to FASH.You kuier at Gariep with the entire gaggle of 25 and take care of your personal refueling.( That is not the 95 unleaded for your gyro,we do that. That is the stuff that comes in bottles and tin cans for personal consumption )
Groups will be landing within approx. 30min. of each other at each stop along the way.
Once safely in FASH where all will be in the very capable hands of the guys down under and after the Saturday evening's great event ; EACH PILOT TEAMS UP WITH HIS 'GYRO MAATJIES' AND MAKE UP THEIR OWN GROUP AND ARRANGEMENTS TO ROUTE BACK HOME VIA THEIR PREFERED ROUTE. This is part of the experience and adventure.This is why we fly gyros...because we can!
The moment we have all the names and confirmed 'how many' I will post flight routes and detailed arrangements. Guys who are flying in from outside Gauteng will be advised when, where and how to join up with your assigned group.
Interest and commitments are picking up nicely. I think we will be reaching our quota quite soon. The South has past theirs already.
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:39 am

FLYNOTE wrote:And?... can I put your name down RB ? Would be lekka to have you aboard.Take a few days off and do this thing!
I have had so many requests from guys who want to stay a few days longer in the Boland. Others want to return to Gauteng via Upington. Others want to fly up the West Coast and then route back via the Richtersveld, Augrabies etc. etc.
Others want to hit a tiger line via Kimberley ...
We have done all the different routes often and can advise re runways,fuel etc. We will not however be able to work out an itinerary for each individual and organise his trip back. The consensus suggestion is that we organise the 5 groups from the North to FASH. You get in your gyro and depart/meet up with your group at your ETD. You "bond" with you 4 maatjies during refueling at the pre-organised airfields from JHB to FASH.You kuier at Gariep with the entire gaggle of 25 and take care of your personal refueling.( That is not the 95 unleaded for your gyro,we do that. That is the stuff that comes in bottles and tin cans for personal consumption )
Groups will be landing within approx. 30min. of each other at each stop along the way.
Once safely in FASH where all will be in the very capable hands of the guys down under and after the Saturday evening's great event ; EACH PILOT TEAMS UP WITH HIS 'GYRO MAATJIES' AND MAKE UP THEIR OWN GROUP AND ARRANGEMENTS TO ROUTE BACK HOME VIA THEIR PREFERED ROUTE. This is part of the experience and adventure.This is why we fly gyros...because we can!
The moment we have all the names and confirmed 'how many' I will post flight routes and detailed arrangements. Guys who are flying in from outside Gauteng will be advised when, where and how to join up with your assigned group.
Interest and commitments are picking up nicely. I think we will be reaching our quota quite soon. The South has past theirs already.

Thanks Johan , My list growing as we speak , Please when you confirm to either Johan or myself , just indicate if we must arrange accomodation at Stellies .

Cant Wait !!!!
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA