Budget R180K what to buy

Re: Budget R180K what to buy

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:49 am

Yeah - i guess you could always aspire to be an accountant - THAT is the cream on the top !! YOU Dumb@ss - do some work (**)

Postby Morph » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:18 am

Big D wrote:You really only have to ask yourself one question RV4ker: Do you want to take your MOMMY for flips?
Not with all the random chicks hanging around 8)
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:44 pm

Random Chicks :!:

There are only two sources of true randomness - one is the rate of decay of radioactive material and the other atmospheric noise. So I am wondering if you want a chick that is noisy or one that is decaying :wink:

Dish - with the highveld in play - you have a point Sir - the Bantam may be the better alternative. A KFII with a 582 may be a little bit hungry for some more power. Have a mate down here who sold his RV and bought a Bantam and he cant stop raving about it. (Ok he also has another RV in building stage)

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:55 pm

Hey easy lads on the random lads BIG D was just kidding --- !!!

Those that know me on the forum will know that i owned a challenger before my bantam and i still adore the challenger, it just wasnt the right plane for me... in fact my new hangar mate has got a beautiful challie coming to stay, its a stunning little aerie but since i bought my bantam i just havent looked back. so horses for courses - ????
Goose

Postby Goose » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:22 pm

RV4ker wrote: 582 Bush Baby or Goose's baby (have to do some hard neg there ## ## ## puff )

Throw the RV in the negotiation and it wont be that hard (^^)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:34 pm

Goose wrote:
RV4ker wrote: 582 Bush Baby or Goose's baby (have to do some hard neg there ## ## ## puff )

Throw the RV in the negotiation and it wont be that hard (^^)
If I chuck in the Rv you gonna have to chuck in the KF2, the KF7, the plot, the pooch in the pic (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) and a couple of those random chicks :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: (Yes I Luv my Rv and no would not easily let it go unless I got silly offer. I have had a couple, but not nearly silly enuff. Remember not all homebuilts are created eaqual... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: )

As long as they are light the 582 aeries up here perform OK. Not looking for a rocket ship (I already have 1).... Just something dirt cheap to fly low and slow with the kids at sunset possibly irritating a couple folks and entertaining others. I can do it with the RV but hitting a sringkaan at 170kts (open cockpit) is not a lot of fun and I would like to do a bit of wind blowing in your hair bugs bouncing off your teeth type flying for a change. I have drilled holes in the sky for the last 6 years and it been great fun, but time has come for some "social" pointless lets go nowhere slowly type fun flying...... Want to land where the trikes land for KAK praat rather than orbit overhead while they "socialise" down below...

I like the trikes and if I could get a side by side IFB that would be first prise, but eish... To get side by side past CAA, then the IFB thing ontop of that, I have neither the patience or the strength.... :oops: :oops: soooo.... This is my dream ship and I will 1 day own one of these in my retirement, but until then.....

:arrow: Bantam - I have been in 1 and I must admit I did not like it, but it was a long time ago and I did not like what felt like sitting 2 inches above the ground :oops: :oops: :oops: . SInce then I have done plenty more grass roots type flying and am far more comfortable in lap en pap (ali and trylam if you must)
:arrow: Kolb - Just lke the fact that it a taillie and side by side. Engine behind so trike viz. 618 is 582 on steriods, but parts maybe a problem?
:arrow: Kitfox/Bush baby - Lekka. Would prefer 912, but light 582 is 100bedonnered.... (pref with a trailer - Sorry Boet :oops: :oops: :oops: )
:arrow: Trike - Tandem and king post height are real problems for me, but mayeb a windlass (for solo fun) and a side by sider is the solution :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: )
:arrow: Cheetah - Price sadly Would luv a 912 taillie....
:arrow: Cubby - Tandem

I quiet like the look and what I read about the Sonex, but Eish then there that 2 year build thing ## ## ## ## and nothing to fly in mean time puff

Keep the suggestions flying. Let's see what fall out.... There is still some time. puff
Africa

Postby Africa » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:58 pm

I did all the testing and flight tests on that wet trike here in the U.S and i showed it at Oshkosh in 2001. Not bad for around the patch. Its heavy too but it was fun to fly. I have not heard from the Smiths (owners) in along time and I am not sure if these machines ever got going. Jamie

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:15 pm

Just liked the look of it. I am surpised they are not more popular here, especially on Garden route with all those lakes to operate off...
Africa

Postby Africa » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:31 pm

RV4ker wrote:Just liked the look of it. I am surpised they are not more popular here, especially on Garden route with all those lakes to operate off...
is it now legal to land on water in SA now??

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:26 am

Nope, but there is a flying boat being built at Brits which will soon challenge that :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby AndyG » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:23 am

Many years ago a couple in their late fifties came to our airfield to do training and also to get Solowings to build a wet trike for them. They were part of the WWF(not wrestling) and were studying the Lechwe(buck) in the Okavango Delta. The day came for Mr Lechwe to do his solo and he unfortunately ballooned the landing, veered off the runway and turned the school trike over. No prob, they had the money and paid for the repair. A couple of days later their new wet trike was ready and off to the brand new Inanda dam we trundled. The parks board had not even started managing the dam yet. Aiden did the first flight and all was well. Mr instructor(GD) did the next flight, Mr C did one as well as yours truly. It was a wierd sensation taking off and landing on water. Mrs Lechwe declared that she would like a flight so the honerable Mr instructor(GD) volunteered to take her. The wind had picked up slightly and there was a small chop on the water. The trike gathered speed and upon rotation weathercocked slightly and before you knew it was upside down in the water. This took place about 200 meters off shore. Mrs Lechwe had appeared but Mr instructor was nowhere to be seen. Mr C and I rapidly shed clothing and started swimming. What had happened was that the weight of the water on the wing had pushed the trapeze onto Mr instructors lap and he could not release his seat belt. Eventually when the wing settled the trapeze eased up and he was able to free himself. We eventually managed to get the craft to shore after about an hour. We discovered that the rudders were fixed and that on rotation with the torque of the motor and the weathercocking they had dug in and turned the trike over. Aiden did a mod to make them free running and the prob was solved.Never got to hear how Mr and Mrs Lechwe fared with their craft but it was an interesting experience.
Last edited by AndyG on Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:00 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Conrad

Postby Conrad » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:09 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :o

Postby AndyG » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:16 am

This was back in the early days of microlighting. Knowing what I know now things would have been done differently. They do say hindsight is a perfect science.
vortex surfer

Postby vortex surfer » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:25 pm

RV4-KER

I KNOW THERES A 50% PARTNERSHIP ON A SUPER SIX BANTAM, STATIONED AT BRITZ
U CAN CALL CRISTO 0828882464

(**)