Belgian Microlight Flyer

ZU BBV

Re: Who flies what and where?

Postby ZU BBV » Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:19 am

I fly a trike in the Overburg area near Greyton. I would like to know if there are any trikes in my area (Greyton/Riviersonderend). I also might do some flying on our farm in the Karoo near Williston, Fraserburg, Carnarvon. Anybody there?

Postby John Young » Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:10 am

ZU BBV wrote:I fly a trike in the Overburg area near Greyton.
Hi and welcome ZU BBV. !!!!

At first I read Greytown - "Dunno" where Greyton is. :oops: :oops:

Would love to fly the Karoo sometime.

John ZU-sEXY
ZU BBV

Postby ZU BBV » Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:46 am

Yes John

You wont believe what frustrations this Greyto(W)n has caused me. Mail delivaries to Natal instead of Cape. It is Greyton in the Western Cape.

Regarding the Karoo flying, we've got a farm in the karoo near Williston (not Willowmore!) I might move there permanently soon and would like to have some flying buddies there. I am new in the game (50 hours) and worried about all sorts of stuff, frosty mornings, carb ice(ing) etc etc. I will be going there for 3 weeks end November, beginning December this year. Are you comming to show me how to fly in the Karoo? Will provide the skaapchoppies.

Peter

Postby John Young » Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:24 am

ZU BBV wrote:You wont believe what frustrations this Greyto(W)n has caused me.

Are you comming to show me how to fly in the Karoo? Will provide the skaapchoppies.
vhpy vhpy vhpy

Hi Peter,

Regarding learning the ropes about flying there - Arnulf and Boet would be your men. !!!!

Carb icing is very real. Suggest you ask the question on "Technical Talk" - will receive "lotsa" good advice there. Try the search feature as well. Enjoy & fly safe.

John ZU-sEXY

Postby Boet » Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:16 pm

Hallo Peter, we have had a lot of rain here, so in about a month or two the blommetjies will be really spectacular. For more info on flying my neck of the woods, contact me on 082 8041896. You are welcome vhpy
sailor

Postby sailor » Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:43 pm

Hi,
I am quite new to the forum, been lurking for a wile. I am also a new resident at Rhino Park
and own's a Pietenpol Sky Scout which is not quite ready to fly yet. Still a few small things
to do & fix. I will be there on most saturday's to do some work. Hope to meet everybody
at Rhino Park soon.
ZU BBV

Postby ZU BBV » Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:16 pm

Where is Rhino park?

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:02 pm

Welcome Sailor.

Why not post some pics of your piet. Lekka aeries...
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:59 pm

sailor wrote:Hi,
I am quite new to the forum, been lurking for a wile. I am also a new resident at Rhino Park
and own's a Pietenpol Sky Scout which is not quite ready to fly yet. Still a few small things
to do & fix. I will be there on most saturday's to do some work. Hope to meet everybody
at Rhino Park soon.
Hi Sailor and welcome, both to the forum and Rhino Park !

Hope to see you at Rhino soon, I am also there often, flying or working on a plane, could be in hangars 18,19, 25 or the large hangar behind the workshop so pop in.

I am also have a Pietenpol that I need to finish (needs covering), this one is a Aircamper, would love to see your project !

Regards and please come and say hi !
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
sailor

Postby sailor » Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:06 pm

Thank you Gents feel welcome already.

RV4ker
I would post pics if i knew how, a bit "dof" when it comes to resizing and posting pics. :oops: :oops:
Regarding a lekka errie i think so too but never flew in one before guess i will find out after learning to fly a tail dragger.
Must first find somebody to help me with a conversion.

Wanted to come over and meet you this morning but you had already left, will be there next saturday again, will pop
in if you there.
I am in hager 8 B so you are more than welcome to come and have a look.

Louwtjie.
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:20 pm

sailor wrote:Thank you Gents feel welcome already.

Wanted to come over and meet you this morning but you had already left, will be there next saturday again, will pop
in if you there.
I am in hager 8 B so you are more than welcome to come and have a look.

Louwtjie.
Left a bit earlier than normal for the rugby !

Great, will be there next Saturday, will pop over to your hangar.

"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
grostek

Postby grostek » Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:06 pm

Here is a link of some flying videos from europe.

Quality is better than U tube.

http://www.clipwings.com/index.php?comm ... ideo_id=20

Kind regards,

Gunter Rostek.

Postby Low Level » Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:18 am

Howzit sailor and welcome. Will see you around at Rhino. You must definately come say hello. I fly the Sycamore gyro. Was also there Saturday morning - worked a bit and flew a bit. vhpy vhpy

Will see you next Saturday.
sailor wrote:Regarding a lekka errie i think so too but never flew in one before guess i will find out after learning to fly a tail dragger.

Cyril Manser was doing training in the Bushbaby tailie there on Saturday. Looks like he is quite competent with that. Talk to him - nice oke. He is there almost every Saturday.
sailor wrote:I would post pics if i knew how, a bit "dof" when it comes to resizing and posting pics.
Right click on pic, send to mail recipient, make picture smaller. Save it from the mail to a folder and then upload attachment in bottom of post a reply. :wink: Curious about your baby.
sailor

Postby sailor » Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:21 am

Thanks ldel, will speak to Cyril soon.
I tried last night to upload photies but after resizing the way you suggested.
it still says "the file is to big,max allowed size is 100 kib." :oops: :oops:

Btw where to you guys hide those gyro's? saw some flying on sat.

Will try and look u up on sat. otherwise pop over to my hanger to have a look.

Cheers and safe flying.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:56 am

sailor wrote:Thank you Gents feel welcome already.

RV4ker
I would post pics if i knew how, a bit "dof" when it comes to resizing and posting pics. :oops: :oops:
Regarding a lekka errie i think so too but never flew in one before guess i will find out after learning to fly a tail dragger.
Must first find somebody to help me with a conversion.
Welcome to send me the pics. george @ gbfs . co . za and i post them. Good luck with tailie training. Take your time and keep the faith. It will feel like you will never get it and then suddenly it all just clicks and you wonder what all the fuss was about... :wink: :wink: :wink: