OH DEAR

Nkwazi

OH DEAR

Postby Nkwazi » Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:14 am

The dangers of flying into bush strips!!
goga10.jpg
goga10.jpg (33.89 KiB) Viewed 2104 times
SkyJunkie
Pre flight checks done

Postby SkyJunkie » Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:25 pm

Oh how awful! :shock: :shock: :(
kraaines

price

Postby kraaines » Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:36 pm

i'd guess that Biltong calculates to over R650/kg
;-(

Postby Morph » Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:56 pm

Now tell me, how can someone not see a giraffe, I mean it does tower aboce everything else? :wink:

When and where did this happen :?:

Postby nicow » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:21 am

That is why it is dangerous to do low flying.
I dont think the picture is real.The plane and the carcase of the giraffe is to close to each other.
ZU-AWA
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Tailspin » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:11 am

To be honest i have seen something similar. If the aircraft was taking off or landing, it is possible that impact point and final stop point are so close.
Stan

Postby Stan » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:55 am

You might see the giraffe standing next to the runway when you want to land but that does not mean he is going to stand still. My experience with these stupid animals is that when you com e along, they want to be on the other side of the road and will not wait until you pass. they race out ahead of you to pass in front. I have almost driven into them a few times while they pull this stunt. I have tried to attach the whole accident picture.
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:02 am

Luckily it was'nt in Zambia. If you see eyes in the road at night, you know that it is a giraffe in a pothole!!
skydancer

Postby skydancer » Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:20 am

I have seen something similar ALMOST happen,but luckily the animal passed through quickly,it was in the lowveld,with my instructor,taking a passenger up,and he was coming into land,and in front,while I was watching him,ran a warthog from one side to the other,and passed through in time.But it was a close call.And I couldn't see him from the bushes.But in this case,a giraffe is a different matter I guess.

Postby nicow » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:54 pm

Photo of a C210 after a warthog ran over the runway at finals.This happened here in Potties.
ZU-AWA

Postby nicow » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:57 pm

Try again....The photo
ZU-AWA
CIMG0015.JPG
CIMG0015.JPG (96.62 KiB) Viewed 1876 times
Nick

Postby Nick » Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:39 pm

Ag shame...she's just going for a pee pee 'in die bos'...Oh and isn't a 'bush strip' also called a 'Beckham' or a 'Mohican'?
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:26 am

The top picture was circulated on the net a couple of years ago. The picture was cropped, on the original you could see the reg. If my memory serves me right, it was 5Y-, being a Kenyan reg.
Flying into strips in game reserves unfortunately is often hazardous because of the animals. The problem is that after a while they get used to aircraft noise, and are not scared anymore. If a giraffe comes runnig out of the bush during takeoff or landing, you will only see him when it is too late. The safest option is to carry on straight ahead. If you try to avoid the animal with a desparate maneouvre, the consequences might be more serious for the occupants of the aerie.
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:53 am

Ja, I cropped it in order to make it less than 100KB.

Bush landings...

Postby John Boucher » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:31 am

Well,

You don't have to go all the way to Kenya to hit a Giraffe....

Often I return from Kimberley only to find two legged Bushpigs teaching their sibblings to ride in unroadworthy Toyota bakkies on the runway I want to use.

Buzzing them normally does the trick but I have often wondered what would happen if a flight from where ever might have to do a forced landing and no time for a precautionary or go around....

This is the plight of so many municipal owned runways in SA today. Don't be surprised if donkeys, horses, goats etc replace the Giraffe here in SA!

BAD NAV