What a SCAM!

ICEMAN

What a SCAM!

Postby ICEMAN » Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:22 pm

I went through JIA International departures today and was duly stoped by one of the security sisters at the security check through........ my crime was having a sealed bottle of water and a sealed bottle of coke in my hand luggage each being 500mls........ i was told to drink them or toss them, so i told her to toss them as i couldnt drink them........ she tells me no problem, she will "drink them for me @ lunch time" :evil: :evil: .... the bottles then dissapear under her counter :evil: :evil: ........ but the thing that really wrinkled my bean-bag was that once through into the duty free shopping area, these very same product types were availabe for purchase at an exhorbitant price, naturally........ anyone smell a scam here :evil: :evil:

Now can anyone explain why they confiscate items at the check in that you can freely buy a few mins later in the duty free shop, in this case a water and a coke..... what about the glass 750ml bottles of alcohol freely available in the duty free shops.. surley 750mls of alcohol in a glass bottle is "more dangerous" than a sealed bottle of water (which i can just repurchase another one once my original was confiscated).. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

I dont have a problem following rules or security precautions, but this "logic" sure baffles the hell out of me :evil:
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8

Postby Tumbleweed » Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:37 pm

Was p$ssed of, just paid at a toll road booth and the operator spills my change over my hand.

Stuff it, I open the door and bend down to collect my change. I'm shocked at the pile of silver lying there when the voice shrieks out,

" Hey wena, don't take any of my change"

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:52 pm

They under false impression that "airside" is serile contained environment and that baddies can get in there. HA....

They don't have a clue... :?
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:20 pm

Ya this is a real pain Iceman but not specific to RSA. This is now virtually world wide. The theory is that if you were a gook you could "doctor" some liquids to concoct an explosive. They therefore don't allow or at best restrict the liquids you can take airside, once there you are free to purchase liquids which you have not had the chance to tamper with.
Nottaquitta
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:50 pm

The theory is that if you were a gook you could "doctor" some liquids to concoct an explosive. They therefore don't allow or at best restrict the liquids you can take airside, once there you are free to purchase liquids which you have not had the chance to tamper with.

Mogas, i hear you..... but i still dont understand the logic!

You know how much i could "doctor up" with 750mls of vodka and a box of matches :twisted: :evil: ......... or forget the nail clippers, smash a bottle of amarula and go on the rampage with the bottle neck :evil: :evil: ....

I hope the sista enjoyed my sealed bottle of water...... :evil:
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:04 pm

ICEMAN wrote:
The theory is that if you were a gook you could "doctor" some liquids to concoct an explosive. They therefore don't allow or at best restrict the liquids you can take airside, once there you are free to purchase liquids which you have not had the chance to tamper with.

Mogas, i hear you..... but i still dont understand the logic!

You know how much i could "doctor up" with 750mls of vodka and a box of matches :twisted: :evil: ......... or forget the nail clippers, smash a bottle of amarula and go on the rampage with the bottle neck :evil: :evil: ....

I hope the sista enjoyed my sealed bottle of water...... :evil:
Doctor Iceman, next time you doctor the drinks up before you hand them over :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Lets see how she will handle the gastro. :twisted: :twisted:

I think she have some shares in the duty free shop :? nothing new in this country :evil: :evil: :evil:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:24 am

Reminds me of the time when there was foot and mouth in Zambia. I had been fishing on the Zambezi at Kariba and was on the way back to Livingstone with about 50 beautiful breams in my coolerbox. I get stopped in a foot and mouth roadblock and the brother says that I am not allowed to proceed with the fish because of foot and mouth. Well, imagine my mirth, I asked him to please point out the location of these fish's feet!! Suddenly fish carry foot and mouth. Long story short, after much arguing and telling him what an idiot he was, I was still refused right of passage. He insisted that I hand over my 50 beautiful breams and I must just put them on the back of his bakkie which must have contained about 20 kilos of fresh meat, 15 chickens and various other sources of protein. No ways china. I made a fire there and then, took out my camping chairs and beer box and proceeded to invite every other motorist for an impromptu fish braai. We managed to devour about 30 breams much to the disdain of the foot and mouth officer who didnt even get to taste one flake of the succulent flesh. The remaining 20 breams were unfortunately cremated whole on the fire. There was no way I was handing over my breams to some idiot who had been given a uniform and the power that goes with it.
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:41 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: (^^) =D* =D*
I would have loved to see his face. "Eish"
Flying below power lines on DS650X
And above in nothing
"Too much power is just enough"
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:07 am

Mogas wrote:
Ya this is a real pain Iceman but not specific to RSA. This is now virtually world wide.
All window dressing just to keep Uncle Sam happy. Never mind how ineffectual it really is.

Arnulf
Bushpig

Postby Bushpig » Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:30 am

A similar incident hapened to me up in Zambia. I managed a fishing lodge in western Zambia and had to do all the shopping in Katima - Namibia. I had to mission through the border 3 times a week between the two countries. Anyway, did the usual shopping run only to return to find that the border between Zambia and Nam had been closed. Aparently the president was around. This would mean that I had to travel across the Caprivi Strip, into Botswana, cross at Kazangula ferry back into Zambia and drive back to western Zambia, cross the zambezi again on a kak ferry to get back to the lodge to prepare for guests flying in early the next morning- a 6 hr detour at best. Needless to say when I tried to enter Bots with around R15 000 worth of meat, dairy and groceries I was stopped by you know who and instructed to get rid of meats, dairy and eggs. I proceded to tell him where to shove it but that didnt work. I then asked him what was going to become of the wasted food? He promptly laughed and said that it was his comission from the Bots gov for doing a good job to stop Foot and Mouth and that he and the rest of the border officials would eat it of corse there at the border- the fires were already going and meat was cooking- no doubt confiscated from some unsuspecting travelers!! I naturally burst a blood vessle in my left eye when I had a moment of clarity. I built the biggest bonfire, braaied some lekka fillet and burnt the rest of the food infront of gaping mouthes and popping eyes!! You are not getting any of my chow!!
Beaver 550
Passed radio course

Postby Beaver 550 » Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:20 pm

What about fire axes, fire extiquishers, metal forks, knifes and glases on the aircraft. I am sure they have been made friendly users only. When you come into the country on a private intenational flight you get carted to immigration and back with a bus. Not one person come to check the aircraft. You could leave unwelcome vistors in the aircraft then do a domesic departure. No one will know or cares
Don't do as I do
velocity

Postby velocity » Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:00 pm

Nkwazi wrote:fish's feet!!
[0* ## so where's the Border quick...:lol:
V
Graham F