Tailspin's VP-1 Project & Sun Bird Deviation

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Postby Aerosan » Wed May 16, 2007 6:37 am

Russel welcome to the forum 8) Hey Gavin I see you have swapped pleces with a well know Duck :!: :?: according to AFSKIES that is :lol: all I can say is "ag shame" :twisted: :roll:

Postby Tailspin » Wed May 16, 2007 1:06 pm

Aerosan wrote:Russel welcome to the forum 8) Hey Gavin I see you have swapped pleces with a well know Duck :!: :?: according to AFSKIES that is :lol: all I can say is "ag shame" :twisted: :roll:
San

That is what you were saying when you were kissing Duckie's butt, if you were standing behind me you woulda said " BLIKSEM" :shock:

Afskies actually personally came and appologised to me so what can i say SH1T Happens.

Postby Aerosan » Wed May 16, 2007 2:35 pm

Taily dont worry too much the duck isnt that bad :twisted: :oops: Its just that I personally wouldnt like to be called "Duck".......for reasons that I cannot disclose here!!! :!: :!: :!:

Postby Tailspin » Wed May 16, 2007 3:46 pm

No Probs San.

Was more worried that people want to start calling me Rupert or something similar :shock: :twisted:

Postby Tailspin » Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:56 am

Hi Guys

Just a quick update.

Started to Finish the second wing. Here you can clearly see the difference of the coats of Butrate with the Alu-paste mixed in. Will post more pic's as i get further.
Coats.jpg
Two coats of Butrate.
Coats.jpg (42.78 KiB) Viewed 2923 times

Postby Tailspin » Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:01 am

Here you can see the first layer of Butrate with the paste soaking into the fabrick.
1st Coat Butrate with Paste.jpg
1st coat of Butrate with Alu-Paste
1st Coat Butrate with Paste.jpg (58.36 KiB) Viewed 2919 times

Postby Tailspin » Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:34 pm

Hi All

More news.

Assembled my VW motor and now i start the final Fidgeting stage where you try to make everything work in harmony and then you try to build a cowling around the beast. The pic's are a bit dark but well it was late and i hadto take a pic quickly cos Baby tailspin was getting upset waiting for me.
engine front.jpg
The Beast. Sorry pic is very Dark will take another one ASAP.
engine front.jpg (51.93 KiB) Viewed 2898 times
Baby Tailspin.jpg
Baby Tailspin getting excited at the prospect of Dad finishing his Aircraft that i will look after for him till he is old enough to fly it :-)
Baby Tailspin.jpg (37.2 KiB) Viewed 2898 times
Ian

Postby Ian » Tue Jun 05, 2007 7:09 pm

Tailspin wrote: Baby tailspin was getting upset waiting for me.
Thanks goodness he doesnt look like his Dad :!:

The only similarity is they both are shota hair, actually baby Tailspin has more :D

Nice progress Gavin !

Cheers ian

Postby Tailspin » Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:46 am

Ian wrote: Thanks goodness he doesnt look like his Dad :!:

The only similarity is they both are shota hair, actually baby Tailspin has more :D
Cheers ian
Hi Ian

Yea i am glad he has more hair than i do. His mother is rather happy he does not look like me. :shock: :oops: Starting to get a complex here. :-(-(

I am starting to feel like a zzzz with Morph wizzing through his BB build and Life just seems to be getting in the way constantly, Also does not help with my trike dragging on so long, not sure what costs more the hiring of a trike to keep current or the phone calls to see how far my trike is [0*
grostek

Postby grostek » Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:19 pm

Hey tailspin,

Glad to see that you are nearly there.

Just keep plodding along and then surprise yourself one day by discovering that there is nothing left to do.

Very nice job and I am sure it will fly just great.

greetings from Dubai

grostek

Postby Tailspin » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:08 am

grostek wrote:Hey tailspin,

Glad to see that you are nearly there.

Just keep plodding along and then surprise yourself one day by discovering that there is nothing left to do.

Very nice job and I am sure it will fly just great.

greetings from Dubai

grostek
Gunter

My old friend how are you sir :lol: :lol:
Damn it has been long time no hear.
Been speaking to somebody who has just bought your VP1 from Nantis.
grostek

Postby grostek » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:21 am

Ja Gav,

Was in SA last week and had a look around for investment oportunities.

Eish things have gone van "botter na wors" no will stay here in dubai and pad the old bank account some more.

I am really glad that you are in the final stretch and see that you have build up an 2l engine so you should get much more power and torque.

Just be sure to put those little air dam plates on the bottom of the cylinders in place to make sure you get proper cooling.

Fit some eyebrow cheeks a la J3 and make sure air can be forced

through the cylinder heads. The weak spot is the exhaust valves on volas

so that area needs much care and air.

http://bobhooversblog.blogspot.com/2006 ... parts.html

See this blog fr some really good info.

Kind Regards

Gunter.

Postby Tailspin » Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:21 am

Here are some more pic's.
Painting the Stab.JPG
Painting the Stab
Painting the Stab.JPG (50.16 KiB) Viewed 2765 times
Stab.JPG
Horizontal Stab.
Stab.JPG (26.78 KiB) Viewed 2765 times
Ailerons.jpg
ailerons 1 coat to go then prep for paint
Ailerons.jpg (45.13 KiB) Viewed 2765 times
grostek

Postby grostek » Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:16 pm

Hi Gav,

Hey man now you have all the parts. Assembly and final painting end of Aug???

Those parts all look first class, nice work and keep going, a bit every day and soon it will be case of looking for things to do, then its time to fly man!!!

The VP must be the lowest cost aircraft to build and will give you the same fun factor a trike will give you.

Kind regards

Gunter
Griffin

Postby Griffin » Fri Jul 20, 2007 7:52 pm

What wood did you use for the different components (ribs, fus)? I do no know what the plans call for but some of the other builders seem to use exotics that are not that readily available in SA.