The Ramblings of DarkHelmet!

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:00 pm

Okay, I will keep them all in one post and keep it updated like Master flyer Gert does... For those that have read my scribblings before sorry, for those that are new my latest installment can be found in a reply to this post. I will collate the others later.
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:02 pm

Aviatiors Paradise/JAG/Aviators Paradise

I have always been told that it is not who I am but whom I know!

This forum has made me realise that I am greater than all my parts put together.

Three or four weeks ago I met Big D – he was dying for a change of scenery – having already made the hop to relocate to a new field I was more than keen to show him my new surrounds. I wrote about this with my last big post.

In retrospect, maybe I must make a post like Gert with his ZU-DVE log and just keep writing there. Gert is good with graphics, I like words…

Back to my point. My better half was at varsity with a crowd of super intelligent and most social individuals. As things go it was yet another birthday and it was announced that the celebration will be held on a private farm a few clicks from Cullinan.

I have to confess, I am a drug addict – I am addicted to flying. I immediately saw yet another opportunity to get my fix – I would fly in to Cullinan to celebrate a close friends’ birthday. What is better than having an excuse to take your fix?

I don’t like doing drugs alone – when you do it alone you can be classed an addict – so I immediately roped Big D in. Dude – let’s fly to Cullinan.

“Yeah – kewl man” Big D said immediately! Another “addict in hiding”. JAG airfield is right next to the Big Hole of Cullinan – I will shoot up with you!

Man – did I feel the groupie now! I had a partner that will make the Trek with me over the void. My flight plan indicated that it would take us one hour to get there. Initially I planned to scoot around the southern edge of the Magalies to avoid the Wonderboom CTR but apparently that has been declared a “No Fly Zone” because the “Hoi-Poloi” populate the Southern Side of the ridge and they get perturbed by objects overhead beyond their control. Has no one learnt that your house has to face North?

Admittedly, I am a wuss, I hate turbulence, and thus I get up before dawn thinks about cracking. Big D fetched me at 04:30 sharper than sharp. The kettle was still whistling and I learnt that my new partner in crime shy’s away from taking liquids pre-take-off. I had an entire flask of super hot coffee all to myself!

Big D and I hopped in his VW Wave (English for a Golf) and made our winding way to Aviators Paradise where both our steeds share a stall. Oops – wrong weekend, wrong story – both our aeries share a hangar!

Back to the topic. What was it again? Oh yes – It is not who you are but who you know!

DarkHelmet is a loudmouthed, outspoken individual that frequents www.microlighters.co.za. So loud that when… blah blah blah…

The guys over at JAG airfield have been trying to get a fly-in together. Qhen DarkHelmet’s keeper (read other half – never elude that they are your keeper or else you will be bed less!) was invited for a birthday picnic, just 5 clicks northwest from JAG, DarkHelmet saw the opportunity to fly once more!

The flight to Cullinan was planned to take an hour (and it did by the way). Big D convinced me that the ridge path was not an option and we would scoot around the Northern side of the Waterkloof CTR towards Cullinan. He has the aviation GPS so he would be in charge – or would he?

I was the first to get airborne. Circling above Aviators Paradise I noticed the Michelin man in his flight suit trying to grab my attention – next to Big D’s craft – oh, that is not the Michelin Man – it was Big D! Good excuse for a steep turn and I gunned back to the runway. I taxied back to the hangar – ripped off the headset and gnarled at Big D. WTF? His radio is dead. Problem – he has the Aviation GPS. He has the perimeter avoidance. I have the radio. My radio does not fit his setup. His GPS does not fit mine. Okay – “You make a wobbly when we reach the CTR and the next frequency change and I will call on the radio”.

We took off, he made a wobbly, I changed frequency and we flew the most lonely 1 hour cross country to Cullinan I have ever experienced. Overhead Rosslyn airfield I had a brainwave to switch to chat frequency 123.45 and found the Rosslyn flyers in circuit. We routed North to circumvent the Wonderboom CTR and I was watching out for landmarks.

Oh – look – a dam – Must be Roodeplaat… NOT – the GPS still indicated 45 minutes to go? How long can an hour be?

Next moment I saw Big D descending and looking like he was entering a circuit. Bollocks – the bookmark in my GPS was the airfield a few clicks to the North of JAG and I never even saw the runway!

We landed to be greeted by a very welcoming JAG ground crew…

To be continued…

I was quite impressed with the runways that John has made. 10/20 is a whopping 1.2km and my little safari felt rather small on the wide runway.

There was a healthy crowd of onlookers when we arrived and John and Anton were taking them up in Pegasus Quantums. Awesome aeries those I must admit! Big D was hopping around as if he had ants in his pants – he did not want to stay for breakfast – he still faced an hour flight back to home base and neither of our Aerotrike Safari’s handle the bumps so good.

We waved farewell to Big D as he flew off to the West (cannot say sunset because it was still morning ;) ).

John shoved a radio in my hand just as I was about to head to the clubhouse for the hearty breakfast I was promised.

“Here talk this guy in – We have to take these last few guys out – his name is David”

And off he went – erm – erm – erm…

I tagged after Big D to get there and was totally not familiar with the surrounds now I have to talk a guy in. Just as I started thinking I am going to direct him into the Oliver Thambo (is that now the new name for FAJS?) approach path he appeared overhead Cullinan (or at least I thought at the time it was Cullinan).

“David – JAG ATC – I have you visual - we are at your 10 o’clock due North approximately 5 clicks!”

I felt so important calling myself “JAG ATC”

He touched down with his beautiful Hawk (http://www.cgsaviation.com/hop19.htm) – nogals ‘n nice lap aerie – al moet ek self so sê! The undercarriage looked a bit flimsy but otherwise very very nice Peter!

We all immediately lined up for flips! Marcus went first, then me!

Hop in the front-seat David inclined!

“Erm, erm – I can’t fly that! I am rated on – err, err” I pointed at my trike! Just could not think what it was for a split second.

Turns out David is an instructor and builds the Hawk in Hermanus, he will be relocating his operation to JHB soon.

“I’ll sign you out for 10 minutes towards your conversion which you will have to do when you place your order for her” he said.

With great apprehension and trepidation I wangled my 1.86m body into the pilot seat. No brakes at the back – I had to brake. I did not listen properly when he said where the brakes were and on taxiing he called for me to brake. I immediately jumped on the toe brake (many many hours of Flight Simming).

He lifted up the headset and screamed in my ear – “It is on the stick!” I clasped it and we both almost went flying through the windscreen. Phew – thanks for safety belts!

With no comm. System he said that he would tap right shoulder for me to take control and left when he takes over again. Very soon after a very short take-off he tapped me and I had my hands at the stick for the very first time. Did the yoke think in Cessna’s but the stick flying was not new to me (thanks again Microsoft Flight Sim)

I was cautious about the rudder. With my feet hovering lightly over them I felt the massive inputs David was making while we were flying holes in the air over the Cullinan bush.

Lining up for final approach he shouted and asked if I wanted to take her in. My heart fell to the bottom of my stomach yet again! He said that we would do it together.

In we went and we touched down a bit on the hard side – oops! Hope I didn’t break anything I thought. As luck would have it the spat on the right wheel snagged while we were turning over a bit of bumpy ground and it got caught under the wheel (I won’t be bothering with spats for my Safari now after that little hiccup)

David hopped out and tried to lift the Hawk with my 92kg body still firmly strapped in. When his face started to look like I red puffer fish I decided to climb out. I lifted my hulk out and forgot to slowly let the tail down. I thought: “bugger – at this rate I am going to break this aerie into millions of tiny parts!”

David was non-chalant. We picked it up and off we went back to the hangar – me – off course – with a HUGE grin, if it were not for my ears it would have wrapped right around my head!

David did a few more flips and then I had to run to make the Land Rover heading to the clubhouse for breakfast. Yip – now I can also proudly say that I did the “Breakfast Run”.

JAG has a nice little club house with a bar (always the first thing Morph and I look for in a clubhouse), pool table, dartboard and – believe it or not – a Jacuzzi!

John’s lovely bubbling (not in the Jacuzzi – her personality you perves!) girlfriend Svetlana served us a nice warm breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon, boerewors, tomato and cheese rolls.

Svetlana is Russian and speaks the most awesome accented English with the odd Afrikaans word in between – and man - can she talk? She is a great person and so much fun to listen to that I did not even notice it until John mentioned that she talks a lot ;)

After brekkie we went back to the field for Svetlana’s intro flight in the Hawk! David did a few steep turns and we could hear Svetlana over the purring of the 582 pushing from the rear! When they came down she could not stop purring over “The little airplane” as she called it. John just had to get one!

We saw David off and headed back to the clubhouse for some R&R.

Marcus took me to my picnic at 13:00 and I immediately started hunting for victims. All the mates that are always keen to go flying and always find it too early or too far or those that were always too busy to come flying.

Marilie, Berno, Jopie and his youngest sister. The lady of the party (the oldest off the family) refused flat out. Flying is not for everyone and I don’t try to convince anyone who does not want to fly to fly. You either like it or you don’t. I was happy – I could spread the word and brighten up a few more lives!

We arrived at the strip at 15:30 and I did my preflight very thoroughly and very slowly explained to everyone what I was doing. It was still a bit early. I am still scared of bumps. John arrived and I said I would go for a quick burn to feel out the bumps. Marilie was adamant that she wanted to go with – she is scared of nothing!

As I took off my arms started hurting! “Fly the plane, don’t make a sound, don’t let the PAX know you are shitting yourself” echo’d through my head!

I made a wide circuit and did a text book landing. That wasn’t so bad! Marcus is doing his flight training and I owed him a flip around the patch for carting me around all over the place. I told the awaiting PAX that it was still a bit choppy to take them and that I would take Marcus to repay my debt.

Off we went again! This time I could swear and I did! I loved it to bits though!

My comm. started acting up and the speakers on my headset died. Had to fix it (and off course also stall a bit for time). I was airborn again at 17:00 with Berno and we headed to the farm where we had the picnic. Landed there and exchanged passengers. Back to JAG to exchange PAX yet again and to hangar my pride and joy!

Beer time! I just simply HAVE to have one (or more) after a flight to reminisce and to calm the adrenalin. As is always the case John and I got stuck talking aerie aerie and the PAX have to listen to us aviators exchange tales.

We headed into town and Jopie showed me the 3 restaurants in Cullinan. There is 95 available at the Shell! I filled up my can and back to the farm we went.

The farm is awesome and a great venue for facilitating the lodging of our more danty companions. Ample accommodation is available. Approximately 35 beds can be made available with bedding. The farm is used for school outings and leadership camps mostly – but other visitors are also welcome.

I am pondering the thought of arranging a fly-in to JAG on a massive scale. The farm has a big hall and huge industrial kitchen. The Cullinan area is awesome and would be beautiful during summer. Cullinan is within flying distance for most of us in Gauteng and there is adequate first world accommodation available to bring softness along and yet have them far enough from the field so we can fly in peace ;) There is also ample landing space but being situated in the valley it DOES get choppy.

Back at the farm I loaded softness in the car and we went to Cullinan for din-dins! The Sir Cullinan was chosen and we both had some scrumptious steaks.

05:30 Sunday morning I stare at the cell phone running over the bedside table. Eish – I was moeg! Alpha Xray Charlie is waiting! Cannot make her wait!

The plan was to take Oom Eugene around his piece of paradise and then to head back to Aviators Paradise. Oom Eugene had other plans – he wanted to photograph the sand mining operation South West of his farm. He still uses a 35mm camera! I made the mistake to incline that Digital Technology is great! Thinking he had a digital.

They are truly destroying the landscape out there and apparently no re-habilitation is being done. They run 24/7/365 I was told and the rush is for the 2010 World Cup!

My juice was getting marginal for my flight back because Oom Eugene’s reccie took me longer than planned. Fortunately he had fresh fuel and even two stroke oil! Chainsaw oil nogals! I did not use his oil because I always travel with two cans in the “hold” but he saved me a trip back to JAG (not that I did not want to go back their – au contraire)

“PROP CLEAR” – I made a wide taxi to chase his geese off the “runway” and made my way back to Paradise.

As luck would have it my radio died at that point. Well it did not die – it still had power – I could see the TX when I radioed my intentions but I could hear nothing. I thought I was the only one flying!

Next moment a big twin engine thing zooms past me and I realised how dangerous it can be without a radio. No worries – he was far – I was to the north of Rosslyn – he was traversing the ridge – but he might as well have flown overhead and I would have serious nunu on my hands (and in my pants).

I told softness to expect me at 09:00 but Oom Eugene kept me 8 minutes longer – I arrived overhead Paradise at 09:08 and descended for a VERY bumpy circuit. Normally I would crap my pants but after the burn with Marilie, the afternoon before, I felt more comfortable with my own abilities. Being told you are a good pilot helps. I greased Alpha Xray Charlie onto the tar runway for a textbook crosswind landing.

“Aviators Paradise, Microlight Alpha Xray Charlie – RUNWAY CLEAR!”
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Tailspin » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:02 am

Excellent DH

Will keep watching this thread for more of your "Tales" :lol:

Postby Big-D » Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:12 pm

Indeed fun was had by all this weekend. The trip to JAG and back was one of my best flying adventures thus far.

Darkhelmet and I had the same instructor and before I had even met Darkness my old friend the instructor told me "That guy is even more crazy about flying than you are" - I found this hard to believe, today I must admit that DH enthusiasm when it comes to flying is very much on par with mine.

The kettle was still whistling and I learnt that my new partner in crime shy’s away from taking liquids pre-take-off. I had an entire flask of super hot coffee all to myself!
Yip, I learnt the hard way - Was flying with a pax (he's first time in a ML) and as we get to the dam we had been rooting for I had to turn around. Landed the airy with tears in my eyes that day :shock: :( Poor pax still wonders what the dam looks like from the air

Back to Saturday, I left DH in Cullinan to enjoy his party and headed back to Aviators Paradise - Had an excellent trip back and then lined up runway 03 - Good approach, flare flare hop hop hop....... :shock:

Yip, I bounced the poor old airy again. I reckon the first step is admitting you have a problem.....

Hi, my name is Dave and I bounce airy's........

Anyhow, I have decided to take action and have booked myself 2 hours with Maestro instructor Anton Grobler to refresh the old musscle memory on how a decent powered approach is excecuted. Anton did not even laugh at the fact that his former student (Now with more than 100hours logged) has "forgotten" how to land

Anyhow, DH - Untill our next adventure

Postby DarkHelmet » Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:52 pm

Post updated - see Aviators Paradise/JAG/Aviators Paradise above.

7 pages in Word! OMG

Postby DarkHelmet » Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:06 pm

Flying with "ballast"

Where does one start? First an apology to those that this article might offend, it is really not intended to offend and should be read as informative and not condescending, discriminativem abusive or any other nasty word I might leave out.

Maybe also a definition of the word ballast to paint the picture of the write-up I am trying to produce.

ballast
n 1: any heavy material used to stabilize a ship or airship 2: coarse gravel laid to form a bed for streets and railroads 3: an attribute that tends to give stability in character and morals; something that steadies the mind or feelings 4: a resistor inserted into a circuit to compensate for changes (as those arising from temperature fluctuations) [syn: ballast resistor, barretter] 5: an electrical device for starting and regulating fluorescent and discharge lamps [syn: light ballast] v : make steady with a ballast

This is not a totally new concept for me, but, nonetheless an interesting topic of conversation - especially once the juices start flowing and we aviators start talking about the "goods" we have carried.

I am specifically referring to the goods that wait for you at the airfield in anticipation of their first flip in an microlight and the effect they can have on your sense of humour for the rest of the day if you were not prepared.

We are all aware of the implications of weight and balance on the flying characteristics of our aircraft, more so on Microlights. We are limited to a max take-off weight of 450kg's on most of our aeries - some less - some (unofficialy) maybe more.

How do you handle balancing your most precious when Big D hops into the back?

Big D phoned me up last week and enquired about Aviators Paradise (the field where my trike is hangared). Very eagerly i invited him to tag along on Sunday morning to come survey the facilities and I eagerly invited him along for a flip. There was a pause - he inclined that is nickname was not Big D for a reason and that it could be "problematic". I immediately wanted to say: "Don't worry, I have flown with such cargo before!" but my sensibilities prevailed (for a change) and I decided the more diplomatic route is going to be the best option.

I retorted: "How much do you weigh then?" (That might be the sensitive way to ask a guy - to boot - he is a fellow pilot - so I am sure he understood!) But beware - don't ever ask a lady this. I have learned this the hard way - if you look closely at my left cheek you can still see the remnants of the imprint <name ommited for my own wellbeing> left. A tip when you do not know who you will be taking up - always leave your fueltank as empty as possible. It saves you coming up with an excuse on D-Day to drain most of your fuel off.

You can also take the approach of a form - but many lie about their age and surely they will want to know in a rather concerned voice: "Why do you need to know my weight?"

Another alternative is four memory scales placed under the feet of a four post chair. Position the scales strategically on the floor where the feet would rest then neatly cover up with a carpet. If you are a budding carpent you can create a false floor with insets that fit the scales exactly and then cover with carpet. If the scales don't break you still have a chance. If they do - you are on your own to figure out an excuse!

So, they did not break and you proceed to "rack and pack" the PAX. Strap them in tightly, headphones, helmet (don't forget the soothing tunes from the iPod that they cannot hear you swearing and running back to the hidden scales) Make sure the PAX faces away from the scales in the seat! (I thougth I'd better document that to prevent a lawsuit against myself for this infallible advice).

Now casually run back to the "interview" chair - move the chair and quickly add the total from the 4 scales (by now you should have perspired quite a bit so remember to subtract that from your total weight in the end). I dunno if you actually get memory scales, but these are memory scales- they remember what they last measured - capiche?

Get their camera and take a picture. Unrack and unpack them. Tell them you are not allowed passengers sitting in a fully fueled aerie and proceed to add the amount of juice they have allowed you on your weight and balance calculation. Do your preflight make sure you do it thoroughly.

Now you know your fuel situation - did you fill up from the empty can? Leave your mags off and crank the motor. Crank it until the battery is flat. If you have a pull start you might even be able to pull it enough to lose enough weight to actually add the extra fuel. If you swing start - swing it leasurely, no need to over exert yourself - there is no fuel anyway! Just act busy.

Back to my flight with Big D this morning. We are both pilots and I collected him at 05:45 outside his abode to the NorthWest of me about 5 clicks away. Both of us arrived on time as discussed outside the gate of his complex. I weigh a not so modest 92kg - his weight is for him to disclose, not really that he keeps it a secret - but anyway.

Big D and I are both new pilots and we trained under the same instructors, albeit at different airfields. The early morning drive to Harties was quiet - they bikers were still getting into their leathers. After much pilot talk we arrived at the Engen at the 4-way just beyond Harties dam wall and we both got out and stared at each other.

"Eish" I said, Big D looked concerned. A chilling wind was blowing throught the petrol station. The attendant was dressed to the nose. Big D inclined that it does not look good but so trustingly said: "You're the pilot, it is your decision!" Thanks Big D! Great help! Bought the fuel anyway and decided not to do the premix - it can always go into the car if we do not use it!

Two lekker Wimpy Mega coffees and we made the short trip to the field. If we got to fly we could always trek back to the garage and get more fuel. At the airfield, about 10km away from the Engen, the windsock was steady. Two pilots? We both thought it was fly-able - so we flew.

I filled the tank to half - after discussing how much fuel we should take with Big D. We hopped into our suits and off we went. Or at least off we tried to go...

We wouldn't know until we were airborne...

ZU-AXC, my trusted Aerotrike Safari with 582 Rotax, purred like she always does and immediately I felt relieved. She pushed hard and we were airborne in less than 1 third of the runway. I pulled the bar in to keep the airspeed up and let her into a steady climb. I was in heaven... well - erm - closer to it than anyone on the ground anyway!

We flew along the Northern Side of the Northern Magalies ridge in a westerly direction towards Mooinooi. D's inlaws have a parrot farm there, apparantly one of the biggest! I did not want to spook the birds but he retorted that we will just be waking them up.

We buzzed the farm but no-one seemed to be there - went on to buzz some of his other friends and they were most probably cuddled snuglly in club duvet. He directed me to Mooinooi and told me of the endeavours of the people around there. Sounds like a fun crowd.

The Mooinooi airfield... quite a strip, with 6 runways! Wow, and this right on my doorstep!

Eina - LOT'S of powerlines I noticed joining overhead. I did the first precautionary fly-over and was side-tracked by the scenery. Did a huge scenic 360 over the town for my second precautionary fly-over. Did another big 360 the other way and tried to find the windsock again. D said to use the runway that runs directly to the mountain, I joined a right downwind for the runway I thought he inclined. He said I was on the wrong approach and then finally I saw the windsock - small red blip in the middle of the field. I think that Big D will agree that I made a text book correction and did a very successful fly-by, very low, over the field.

Back to bug the parrots and straight back to the field - wave hard at the inlaws Big D!

I am very "juice" conscious and opted for the safer option - to go back - have a smoke and decide if we continue to fly.

"Aviator's Paradise Traffic, Microlight Alpha Xray Charlie Heavy on final approach!"

Text book approach, instructor klap on the helmet landing. With the exta weight I opted for a steeper, faster approach - faster, lift from now nice and warm tar, the landing was okay, but slightly bouncy - those shocks on the Safari are really awesome!

We landed and Big D immediately stormed Dale (co-owner of Paradise) and asked if he could move in. We tried to hunt for some paperwork but alas - Dale would e-mail it.

With "juice" to spare I hopped in the back seat and off we went for a tour around Brits. We continued to exchange pleasantries in flight and Big D took us back in - better than what I did!

Yearning for a beer we headed off to the pancake shop and found that they would only serve us a beer at 10am, damn - we just had a great flight and now you want us to wait 20 minutes for a beer?

Coffee - a trip to the loo, came back - the beer was waiting - chase that with a good egg and bacon breakfast and my weekend was made!

Thanks Big D - I look forward to a lot of fun flying together!

Postby DarkHelmet » Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:15 pm

My first true Cross Country

ZU-AXC and ZU-AUY decided to leave the patch today in our first TRUE cross country. Needless to say, one of the MOST eventful days of my life!

Knowing that the airshow was on at FAVV today we thought that instead of flying in and being stuck there all day we would rather pop in for an early morning cup of coffee. For the first time ever the two of us flew into ATC controlled airspace. Ace joined us for the flight in from Kliprivier and took off first. My techno freaked babble wabble mind had the flight plan for the entire trip planned out 2 weeks ago already but I wanted to run it by my wingman at the field first.

The morning started with a bang! I was asleep like a baby and the phone rang - all swearing and screaming I was rather upset that someone would dare to interupt my beauty sleep when I was about to get up at 03:50. Our 2 PAX were due to arrive at my house at 04:30 and I intended to set the alarm for 03:50 off course... Guess what time it was when the phone rang from the gate in the street? Fumbling in the dark I grabbed the cordless and I was about to send the phonee to RIP!

Yeap, I accidently set the alarm for 04:50? So my PAX were inbound and I was in my Adam suit! I grabbed the first gown I could find and rushed out to greet them? Oh guys, erm... sorry... I set the alarm wrong! Good impression for a first time microlight experience? Off course they laughed and I could sense their dismay... I pointed them to the printer, GPS, notebook, Serial Cable, USB Interface for the serial cable,.blah blah, the list goes on - that needs to be packed. I hopped into the "device with the falling water" and minutes later ran out ready to take on the "Groot Trek" to Kliprivier. It is a 75km trip around Joburg for me and one needs sustinance for such a long haul! I stopped at the BP on William Nichol and ordered 3 Wild Bean Cafe Latte's for the leg to Klip.

Arrived at the field at 05:30 and did the preflight under the 2000W spotlights on the roll bar of my bakkie (I do this every Saturday and Sunday morning). One of our PAX for the day brought along a Video Camera and I was interviewed all the way to the field - this made the trip to the field a bit shorter!

The camera was rolling all along and ZU-AUY's pilot arrived in his normal late style. ZU-BBT intended to tag along and that was my reason for dragging the printer, notebook and everything else to the field. I wasted my time, I could have printed the plan for ACE, AUY and AXC at home... No changes in the flightplan except that Ace and Co-Pilot intended to go to FASJ and turn back due to some real life commitments.

What was the plan? Fly to FAVV and get out before lock-down. 1.5 hours AFTER arriving at Kliprivier the flightplan was printed and we managed to take off. Ace flew overheard expectantly, AUY had his normal battle to pullstart hassles and I had to still pull AXC out of the hangar! With the el-cheapo printer still printing on the back of the bakkie, the bakkie was reversed with the printer still printing!

After a few awkward minutes of printing I ran to Ace and gave him his map and his flightplan. AUY went for a burn around the patch. Shortly afterwards both our PAX hopped in, I plugged the Vid-cam into my comm-system and we took off for FAVV at 0700. Ace was in front (not knowing that Ace was actually not the pilot) and we elected him to lead our triplet into FAVV.

Ace (well not Ace - but I thought it was Ace) led us in to FAVV and we did the thing we were taught and more so what ATC told us to do.

Question? Is ATC always that soft?

We were instructed to join left downwind 03 - we did as told. Final approach was through what my PAX later called "the smoke from the brick bakery"! We Landed, taxied, parked, walked to the tower, greated the ATC girls (oogled a bit, and oogled some more) then rushed for the caffeine...

While in the tower we told the ATC that we just popped in to say howzit and planned to route to Saffier (FASJ). Ace and co-pilot was to split off and AUY and AXC were going on to Parys (FAPY)

.... PLINKY - My Office assistant pops up... "It looks like you are writing a letter... Would you like assistance?"

Do you want to hear more? Coz there is lots?

PART TWO

Ace started taxiing and snagged the rope full of flags used as a gate out of FAVV. Some ground marshals came rushing and were cutting their throats with their hands. Since Ace nicked the "gate" I figured: "OH, they are going take it out of the way, I have to cut this spinning thing behind my back before it spins the rope into my PAX, myself and those spectators!”
I flicked the magnetos off and we pushed-pulled AXC thru the "gate-with-flags-rope-thing". Navigated around a very expensive looking twin engine blik-aerie. AUY behind me does not have the luxury of an electric start. He sat like a lord while being pushed through - it was a sight for sore eyes! As he passed the gate he hopped out and "yanked his nylon" and we were rolling.

The ATC was AMAZING! (Although a bit soft over the radio) ACE announced our departure (without announcing each of the registrations of our group) and the ATC cleared all 3 of us individually! Kudos to the girls there!) to report at the holding point.

**INSERT WORD OF ADVICE*
Write down the registrations of your wingmen on your kneeboard BEFORE you take off!
**END WORD OF ADVICE* *

Needless to say (or is that pins?) The tower knew us and we were instructed to report left outbound 03 after being cleared for take-off. We took off and reported outbound - each of us in turn, ATC courteously wished us each a great trip to our final destination (naming it nogal!) ATC advised us the frequency to switch to. I was duly impressed!

Our flight plan was destined for WPT01 as you can see on the below MapSource Printout - (hyperlinked not to make you have to scroll the page to read each line!)

http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/pimpano/saturday.jpg

We were going right over Sharpville! We opted to route along the R59 to THE "river".

Glorious it was! Early morning, 3 trikes en-route to FASJ (Saffier). Some houses, some water, more houses and a runway! Touchdown at Saffier and Ace pulled out the Caffeine. I had more than just a sip and we parted ways. Ace heading north to the wall and back to Kliprivier and AXC and AUY along the "waterfront" to Paris! AT LAST! I get to go to Paris for fun and not business!!!

Now we are pushing it! Two cabbage patch kids on our first truly solo, self planned, far-away-from-the-patch-cross-country!

Me being the loudmouth (or maybe the control-freak) that I am opted to take charge of the rest of the route. We took off, I made the radio calls and saw the meandering river. I looked at my fuel gauge (I have one of those peek under you left arm below the PAX's bum style fuel gauges), I looked at the meander of the river again, eyes
On the compass and then a glance at my trusty cheap Swiss chronograph. Alpha Uniform Yankee, this is Alpha Xray Charlie – erm - Climb to 6500 feet and follow me! We are going off-road! Straight Line to FAPY!

Flying into Parys I stressed. I am calling on 124.8 and I hear 5 Microlights outbound. I announce our "inbound-ness" They ack me and I continue my inbound track. I announced that we were 5nm out and intended to join overhead - "I SEE THE WHITE CIRCLE BUT I CANNOT SEE THE WINDSOCK - OH BUGGER – I circle, but cannot make out the sock...WTF? 123.5? HUH? In BEEEEEEEEEEG –EISH - VERY BEEEEG numbers next to the windsock!

PUNCH... PUNCH... WTF? PUNCH... err... Parys traffic? My wingman is now on a different Frequency and has NO-clue of what is transpiring. I stressed. Next moment: "Parys Traffic, Microlight Alpha Uniform Yankee ( * AUY is my wingman *) overhead the field, joining left downwind for runway 24" Phew! He saw the numbers too! He joins in right after me! Someone missed the bus and the frequency on the latest charts and frequency for Parys state 124.8!

As I backtrack 24 I finally get the windsock! "Alpha Uniform Yankee – we just did a DOWNWIND LANDING!"

We taxied up to the clubhouse and hopped out of my now very sweaty flight suit.

I scrambled to get our landing fees paid. I want to be here 30 seconds and get going again (I am a control freak in a rush). Humans can only move so fast... The plan was breakfast after all. The clock is ticking! I keep looking at my watch. It is 10am!

My PAX now has the hunger of a pack of wolves – he reckons a quick toasted is in order (meaning on the go), scream "Make that FOUR!" while filling in the landing form.

We sit, we wait, we wait some more, and then some! We get served - wait for it: "The most GLORIOUS cheese, ham, tomato sandwiches I have EVER had!"

In retrospect, the buffet would have been quicker but what follows has made my ENTIRE day!

Breakfast done we move off and start to pre-flight.

Being the SLIGHTLY more experienced pilot I roll out first. 10:30am, we have to get back to Klip and we have to go back as quick as we can - straight line – it is going to be bumpy! I neglect to use the FULL runway (will never EVER again) I taxi down the runway to about 3 times what I am used to at Kliprivier. Full power, slightly bumpy take-off - woop - sink - not too low or dangerous but still. Start circling the field to gain some alt to cross the Koppies. “CLACK”. The undercarriage of AXC gives a shudder... HUH? WTF? Now I am about 600ft AGL and I am concerned! I ask my PAX, did you feel that! Bobbing a lot due to the late morning turbulence and I am now more than just slightly worried!
Is the engine intact? Did I lose a bolt? Did I have a prop strike? Did a glove fly out of the pannier? Did the PAX or I have an open pocket and did something go through the prop? I see 3 potential landing spots Do I put down or do I do an extended circuit for the runway? EXTENDED CIRCUIT! NEED TO PUT DOWN! I have my spots and I will start sweating when the big fan at the back stops spinning...

I call downwind for a tight final, put down and immediately pull off the runway. In the meanwhile AUY is circling at the extremities of the field and awaiting the verdict on the source of my “Clack” sound.
Was it a bird? ... (Humour eludes me at this point...)

Sitting next to the runway I inspect the prop and every nut, bolt, washer, engine mounting, safety cable, exhaust mounting, exhaust spring - everything that could fly through the prop... Meanwhile AUY is bumping along overhead. I can see NOTHING wrong!

I take off again, this time using the entire runway! I gain some altitude, turn, climb and “CLANK”. undercarriage shudders again. I call abort and start thinking how to trailer back. I land and AUY lands thanking me for the abort – the bumps were way too much.

Now we are four people; with lives; stuck in Parys! Two aeries, one PAX has to get back at 1600 to go to work. We burnt too much fuel to safely return to Klip while we where bumbling along over Parys and now we are in a predicament...

The next few quotes are the thoughts or the four parties involved:

1. AUY Pilot: "My girlfriend is going to KILL ME"
2. Myself: "My pal is going to LOVE me asking him to drive to my house, fetch the trailer, dig around the garage, get the wing bags and drive to Parys.."
3. My PAX: "I need to meet my students at 1600 for their farewell at Lesedi Village”
4. AUY’s PAX: "Us two PAX just wait here like idiots while you two pilots fly back in one aerie, fetch the bakkie, fetch the trailer and then come fetch us in Parys" <<< Retrospectively at that time - a VERY sound plan

Mumble, mumble, mumble - back to the clubhouse...

I walk in and I am flustered, my wingman walks in all bumped about. With droopy faces we ask Neville if they have fuel. He responds, yes AVGAS only, sorry!

AXC flies on unleaded, AUY flies on leaded. We have one 25l can which Neville pulled out from the AVGAS canopy. I am not too keen to put AVGAS in my ROTAX 582, AUY feels the same, one can? 5km trip to town?

Neville is more than willing to do two trips for us into Parys to get fuel for us just using only one can.

The SAGA continues...

PART THREE

Stuck with a PAX that has to report for duty at 1600 and grounded in Parys we explored our options. Flying our trikes was not one of them, real life is the priority and we need to make a plan! I initially told my PAX when I invited them a week before that we would be back at Klip at 0900. I planned a cross-
country to Parys in the meanwhile and informed them of this, they opted to go along! We were all truly excited!

Getting stuck in Parys was not on the flightplan! A luck would have it a Cessna taxied to the clubhouse while we were contemplating our fate and eating our divine sarmies. Later they were to solve one of our predicaments. They came for breakfast from Grand Central and the pilot needed to be back at Fourways Crossing close to the house of the PAX that needed transport! They were 3 up in a 4 seater and offered my desperate PAX a ride back to Grand Central, no headset but they welcomed him along! I am truly thankful to this fellow pilot for his sincere gesture!

Now I am vexed – what caused the undercarriage shudder? I walk back to AXC. Staring at the prop I notice a small rope like thread stuck in the outer most rivet on the stainless steal leading edge of my Warp Drive propeller. Odd? I look up at the battens and notice the one retainer rope was snapped off after the knot that holds it in place. The knot used to pull the rope to clip it in place was flaying on one strand of rope, the other side was severed off. This could have been the reason for the shudder?

I recall from the packing instructions for my Spirit II wing that the two inner most battens remain in the wing when folded? Could this be the reason? I recently moved my hang point to the centre position. Was the turbulence so bad and the move forward so severe that the wing moved back pushing the rope into the prop? What will happen if I put my hang point in the forward most position? I reached for my Leatherman and cut off the excess knot leaving enough rope so the remaining knot cannot unravel.

Neville took us into town to get some fuel, oil and a siphon pipe. We filled up our aeries and settled in for the wait for 1600 for the turbulence to die down. Two Tiger Moths were visible in the distance and I convinced the remaining crowd to leg over to them to go have a look before lunch.

We had some superb pancakes with mince, cheese and mushrooms for lunch, followed by pancakes with sugar, cinnamon and chocolate sauce for desert!

As 1500 approached I started to twitch and decided to pre-flight to be ready to roll at 15:45, I would go up and test the air while my still-rattled-from-the-morning-bumps wingman would await the verdict on the ground. Warmed her up and taxied AXC to the clubhouse for my 1545 departure. While standing in front of the clubhouse I showed Neville my flying machine. He flies the club Cubby and was impressed with the 582 I had on the back. I reached up to show him the rope that I diagnosed as the source of my shudder and heard a sizzle as my exposed stomach touched the exhaust! Wasn’t a big burn, can’t even find it today – but I was still rather embarrassed at my own clumsiness!

I stared at my watch and shouted “Prop Clear”. Everyone moved off and I flicked the electric start. She purred into action and I hopped in to go test the proverbial water! I did not find it too bad and opted to do a bit of scouting around the field and around Parys. Came back down and we all hopped in to roll for Klip!

We opted to head back along the river and decided to go to 6500 feet along the river through the koppies. It was not the smoothest flight and I could hear AUY cursing me for having the extra weight from the PAX in the bumps.

As we passed through the “gateway” I hit a bump and felt the “clack”. I immediately asked my PAX if he had felt it too. No, he said! Oh my word. We were high and I scoped out some potential put down spots an then on to in-flight troubleshooting. My PAX stared back at the prop and up at the ropes. He assured me that there was just NO way that those ropes could be hitting the propeller. There was more than enough clearance and it was just totally impossible. Bump, bump up and down I stare up at the hang point assembly. I notice a slight gap between the rear retaining ring and the hang block! It dawned on me! As I let go a VERY VERY big sigh of relief I pointed it out the PAX and explained what I thought is happening.

In calm conditions I never felt it but as I hit a bump the forces on the wing and the weight of the undercarriage made the hang block assembly move back and hit the retaining ring. It made sense now! It was not the smoothest flight back to Vanderbijl but at least did not have any more clacking!

We turned north off the Vaal following the Klipriver around Vereeniging and stopped at Midvaal (also known as Henley) for a quick cigarette. Someone flew in from Panorama just after us and after a few courtesies we were back in the patch! We returned to Kliprivier and since we had a good 30 minutes of light left I opted to practice some simulated engine outs with my PAX (believe it or not he is hooked on flying now!)

Where will we be flying to next? I don't know but I truly can NOT wait for the next adventure!

THE END

I would like to extend my sincerest thanks and gratitude to everyone at the Parys flying club! To Neville in particular who ferried us up and down!
slysi

Postby slysi » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:28 am

Nice going DH =D* =D* , keep them coming -0< -0< .
afskies scribe

African Skies

Postby afskies scribe » Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:06 am

Hi DH - Good stuff for African Skies - keep 'em coming :!: 8) :D
scribbles
Nothing beats FLYing!
ZU-FLY

Postby The Agent » Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:50 am

Now thtas the type of activity I was talking about, I had to read it in three sessions but well worth it.