The Euphoria of Flight

Postby Morph » Tue May 09, 2006 8:59 am

Man I don't know what it is about flying but whenever I have had a nice early morning flight I have a sense of euphoria for at least an hour afterwards.

It's almost as if flying has released endorphins into the bloodstream to give you a natural high. It seems to be heightened somewhat by a exciting landing (read scary) which really pumps the adrenaline.

The afterglow is almost better than sex :wink:

I even stood and just hugged AUKie for a while afterwards and she didn't even complain, just quietly stood there 8)
Fairy Flycatcher

Postby Fairy Flycatcher » Tue May 09, 2006 3:56 pm

...but if you don't fly often enough, or fly a new plane, you still get a hell of a lot of performance anxiety :wink:

:D :D
Annie
www.comefly.co.za
Flying is a hard way to earn an easy living

Postby Morph » Tue May 09, 2006 4:04 pm

:lol: :lol:
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Tue May 09, 2006 5:26 pm

Hhmm, ken julle vir JIMPEL........ :twisted:
Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue May 09, 2006 5:40 pm

It takes a bit of juggling, between the brat's swimming, rugby, squash, hockey and of course the homework.

So when old least priority gets his turn, the subtle comment "So, I hope with that grin on your face, you've released some 'flying tension' is quite precious.
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Tue May 09, 2006 9:53 pm

demon wrote:are you talking abt flying or sex here FF :?: :twisted:
No doubt Demon, they are JIMPEL, so halfpad tussen j@gs and simpel :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

OK Morph, use your moderating powers :twisted: :twisted: BUT THE TRUTH WILL PREVAIL, YEH :twisted: :twisted:
Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0

Postby Morph » Wed May 10, 2006 4:11 pm

Fairy Flycatcher wrote:...but if you don't fly often enough, or fly a new plane, you still get a hell of a lot of performance anxiety :wink:

:D :D
Actually now that you mention it, I wouldn't know, I've been flying the same plane for 25 years and I wouldn't know what to do with a new one, well I would know of course, just would not know how well ........ :oops: :wink:
ACE

Postby ACE » Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:55 am

I am using this thread topic kind of with tongue in cheek, :?

Here’s what happens when you do some low flying – off a motocross bike !! This happened about 8 days ago, I have had my right collar-bone set in place with the hardware you see in the x-ray so the chassis is now all straight again. (Ouch) :x

For the next few weeks I’ll be relegated to the back seat as flying ballast……. :cry:

Sorry I haven't been too active on the forum, k*k connectivity with a dial-up is not much fun, hope to get ADSL sometime sooooon..

Cheers all.
Charles.
A Smith & Wesson beats five Aces

Postby Morph » Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:16 am

Ouch,

Been there, done that. Hopefield Flowershow and Fete. one Honda Blackbird, one slimy rugby field where we were requested to park the bikes, one high-side, one collar bone torn out of all ligaments. Damage R25K to the bike, R50k to me, unfathomable to the old ego. It happened in front of the grandstand and hundreds of people. :shock: Got up, got the bike up and rode 140km home. Had to call the wife to help me get off. eina.

Flying is safer and cheaper to me

Welcome back ACE, long time no hear

Postby Tailspin » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:49 pm

Hey ACE

Started those CYBORG implants early hey :twisted: , you do realise this could jepordise you taking any international flight to the USA with all the "HARDWARE" you are carrying :twisted: :shock:
Griffin

Postby Griffin » Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:04 pm

Got one of those as well :evil: BMW R80GS. Rear ended by a Drunk Driver two years ago.

Postby The Agent » Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:00 pm

You should know by now that a motorbike is a kak means of transport.

But bettership mit the shoulder. Eish :wink:
ACE

Postby ACE » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:24 pm

demon wrote:Hey Ace, sorry to hear this :( :!:
Was this after I spoke to you the other day :?:
Get better soon, and remember, flying is safer 8)
Demon,

We saw you fly in KWK over where we were riding and we later spoke on the phone - that was the Saturday Aug 5th.

We went out again on the Sunday afternoon and it was then that I did my "Chuck-Norris-shoulder-charge-the-earth" stunt (and the earth didn't budge)

The staples (stitches) have been taken out and the Doc reckons all's coming along fine - mobility is returning and the discomfort not nearly as bad anymore. Next 5 weeks are important for the bones to knit properly.

Anyway, thanks to all for the good wishes. :D
A Smith & Wesson beats five Aces
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Jimpel , lekka , call it what you like , theres nothing like flying , smell the Blossoms over the orange farms at Marble Hall, the smell of freshly ploughed earth in Delmas , The smell of Khaki bush in Bothaville when they are harvesting mealies , dont forget the smell of Bacon an eggs when the Microlanders have a brekkie fly in , and of course the smell of a Piggery/ feedlot , or Harties rotting in winter - those are the smells - The look on a students face after his first solo , the joy of a first flight , the comaraderie with other pilots , the look on the faces of the okes on their way to the salt mine on the highway , Just to name a few - Check the green mielies in summer , the cosmos in April , the cops hiding in the middle of the highway , Ja flying is like a Guinness , its too good for you , it refreshes the soul , it make yaenjoy life to the fullest . :-(-( in Afrikaans its lokken vekker!!!
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!