THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bundy » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:22 pm

Weather was terrible but nice to see the usual "Die Hards" at ML for our monthly braai. (^^)

Seems the other missing persons forgot that IMC conditions may prohibit flying...but they DO NOT prohibit Braaiing!!! :lol: (^^) Second consecutive month we could not all get airbourne for a sortie....I have asked Paul to stay at home next month so we can have some decent flying weather! :lol:
SANY0004 (2).JPG
SANY0003.JPG
SANY0005.JPG
SANY0006.JPG
To Nick, Jaco, Paul and D...thanks for braving the elements and joining in the fun. vhpy (^^)

....."ons gaan NOU braai....NOU! " ^

Next braai is due for Oct 20th....but Paul, I leave this up to you to org as Troy's 6th Birthday Party will be on that day and I wont be able to arrange. The Misasa AGM is the week before too. Looks like I will only be avaliable for another one in NOV....Lapa is there boyz...Please use it. vhpy

Postby mulderpm » Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:50 am

Cheers to all who made it. (^^) We all tried our best to get the ML braai gees out of its frozen state but the weather is against us. ##

Alan, do you think that if I organise it the weather will be better? (!!) We just might have snow in Ocrober! **

Being Monday, Wx looks good. I am going to go this afternoon for a quick flight before supper. vhpy Hope to see some of you guys there.
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Mon Sep 17, 2012 10:40 am

Thanks for arranging Alan! Testament to the WX - the only pics are of a bunch of okes standing around eating koek :lol: But Paul, please thank Dian (apologies if I misspelt) for that chocolate cake, it was fantastic! (^^)

I'll maybe see you this afternoon, Oom Hans is going to give me a 20 min crash course in the workings of a stubborn carburettor and to help me fix the lemon. I'll be there with my can of EasyStart from just after lunch (don't tell my boss!)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:03 am

Flew to Bronkies Dam and with a southerly loop back to ML. :) Was great, with near perfect weather. (^^) The new Chatterbox works perfectly. vhpy AMH flies perfectly true and straight with very little vibration. Balancing worked perfectly =D* I don't know if it is the balancing or the atmospheric conditions but she seems to have a bit more power and revs 150 rpm higher (6500rpm) @ full throttle (most probably just atmospheric) =D* . We were two up and she used 9 liters for the 55 min flight (^^) That is the best I have ever had. (!!)

Jaco, where did you go? When I came back your hangar was still open but where were you? Johannes closed it when I left. (!!) Is you engine starting sorted?
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:35 am

Sorry I missed you Paul, I had to run again but the hangar was open because oom Hans and his son was still working on the one seatbelt for me. The engine is starting first crank now and running beauuuuutifully - nothing was wrong, I just had a serious ID-ten-T problem ## I'll tell you later.

We tweaked the prop pitch and she gets to about 6100rpm on the ground, maybe I'll get another 100-200 rpm in the air. IF I can do my conversion on Friday and IF the weather holds, maybe just maybe I'll be in the circuit this weekend (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 am

Lekker Jaco. Glad to hear that your starting problem is solved. (^^) "oom Hans and his son was still working on the one seatbelt for me"?? Was the seat belt stuck in the prop? :lol: :lol:

This weekend is FAWK Airshow! (^^) Maybe ile fly AMH early and then go to show. vhpy Pitty McFly had to cancel our participation. :( :(
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:07 pm

Just received good news! DBP will fly down to Beginsel on 06 October am! While I am there on leave! I'll meet up with him somewhere around Leeupan. DBP and me will do some flying over Grootdraaidam / Val / Holmdene on the PM, with some outlandings, and DBP will return home Sunday morning. I'll join him to the halfway mark overhead Devon.

Of course, there will be ribbetjie and pap and sous - and DBP will have the privilege to sleep in the "mieliestoor!" (Bugwar gaan jy saam?) (-) (-)

(Actually, I want Bundy to do this alone. He knows why!!) (^^) (^^) (^^) vhpy
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:42 pm

Sorry Dudes, I am in Ballito. Enjoy it, the Red Raptor had its turn in the mieliestoor

Postby Bundy » Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:30 am

...and so the "training" begins. 8)

I have booked the 6th and 7th for my solo CC down to the home of Geel Kerneels.It's Stef's weekend with DBP though so must just make sure I am allowed to Asterix! :lol: ....shouldnt be an issue to swop weekends with "Kaptein Skuim". Much to discuss in our "bosberaad" eh James!? :lol: (There will be more bosberaade in the next few months too! I'm pretty sure Elands Camp is about halfway between Potties and FABA :lol: )

1772 miles across SA will require a lot of mental toughness and self belief. Sadly, my flying career so far has not enabled me to develop this in full for various reasons..... That process starts now. (^^)

Co ords for "Beginsel International" please Sir? ^ :lol:

It's time for The Beautiful Dawn to really spread her (brand new :wink: ) wings. puff
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:15 am

Bundy, we did 1400 miles in 10 days including some "no fly" days so non't sweat it you have a month to do your route. Should be a breeze.....

Postby Bundy » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:19 am

Skies!

Ek het verkeerd gelees op ons "roster"...Sat 6th and Sunday 7th is my weekend with DBP....see you in Standerton James. (!!)

Postby Bundy » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:34 am

mulderpm wrote:Lekker Jaco. Glad to hear that your starting problem is solved. (^^) "oom Hans and his son was still working on the one seatbelt for me"?? Was the seat belt stuck in the prop? :lol: :lol:
:lol: I hate it when that happens :wink:

Just dont be like me Jaco...and take off without strapping your seat belt!!! :shock: :oops: Makes a horrible "clanging noise" on the drab strut!! :roll: Yip...I am a dumbass! Dont think I'll make that error again!! ^ :wink:
Bugwar wrote:Bundy, we did 1400 miles in 10 days including some "no fly" days so non't sweat it you have a month to do your route. Should be a breeze.....
I'm hoping we have no breeze ^ :lol: (just the hopeless optimist in me Paul! :lol: ) Trip been sliced down to 3 weeks though. (^^) I'm hoping we will get a late Raptor entry.... :wink: vhpy
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:40 pm

I'm hoping we have no breeze ^ :lol: (just the hopeless optimist in me Paul! :lol: ) Trip been sliced down to 3 weeks though. (^^) I'm hoping we will get a late Raptor entry.... :wink: vhpy
I have a feeling it may just happen.....
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA

Postby Bundy » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:39 am

Just hope the weather in early May is better than it's been so far in Sep....looks like DBP's staying in the hanger for the weekend.... :(
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:08 pm

Bugwar wrote:Bundy, we did 1400 miles in 10 days including some "no fly" days so non't sweat it you have a month to do your route. Should be a breeze.....
Jip. If my count is correct, we spent two days in the Northern Cape, one day in the Drakensberg (**) (no more Jaegermeister for me ever again..), and two days in Sodwana. So we actually did 1400 miles in 5 days! vhpy