Flip please

Re: Flip please

Postby Dish » Thu May 10, 2012 8:23 am

It doesnt depend on anything - !!!! Not the length of the runway, the motor, the turbo, the amount of exhaust gas you have or the size of the wing.... the maximum all up weight is 450KGS... anything over that and your illegal.. accident waiting to happen./... you have a useable load of whatever that is and it needs to incorporate pilot pax and fuel...

its that simple
topflight
Survived first engine out

Postby topflight » Thu May 10, 2012 8:36 am

Sorry boet, flying is just one of those things that you never argue with. If it says it is 450kg MAUW then it is 450kg. There are a lot of pilots that departed into the blue skies forever because they tried arguing MAUW. I am 75kg and I have taken up guys up to 115kg with 25l of fuel…I still left a margin for error because if you are up into the air it is not like a car that you can just stop and tell the guy to get out. If he wants a flip in a microlight he will have to drop some kgs…and it is not arguable ## ##
Hadams

Postby Hadams » Thu May 10, 2012 8:41 am

Hi All,

Took a friend of mine about a month ago, Panorama's elevation is 5050feet, density altitude the morning at 7:00b was 6030feet, trike 187kg (Raptor 582 blue top), Pilot 73kg, Fuel 40l 32kg, PAX 120kg (or so he promised me). Let me just say this, NEVER NEVER IN MY FLYING CAREER AGAIN!!!! :evil: :evil:

As you can see, we were 412kg, and a Raptor can take the punch! Knew the take-off roll was going to be longer and said to myself that if by halfway down the runway we were not airborne yet i would abort, this is a 1200m long runway, and actually took off around 400m! Taking off was not the problem, to climb WAS! It took about 7minutes to climb 1000 feet (at FULL power) and the response on the bar was DULL and hectic at the same time!

Guys, please think twice about this, we all would love to take up people that has never flown again, but think of the people Both of you leave behind if something Does happen! Maybe try a fixed wing LSA first!

my2c
Henry Adams
ZU-CEA Raptor Trike
ZU-FTV Sling
Panorama

To be old and wise, one must first be young and stupid! And some of us refuse to grow up!

Postby Dish » Thu May 10, 2012 8:49 am

It is possible in the right circumstances to take this oke... and im sure everyone really wants to help... just do it safely and make sure your within weight limits... with a pax this size you need a tiny pilot and little fuel.... thats the way it is.... :cry: :cry: :cry:

One of the VERY well renowned instructors in JHB has a scale in his hangar, every single person that wants a flip, gets on the scale first FULLY CLAD because your weight after your morning crap and without your watch, differs to when your dressed in a flight suit with your catepillar boots and chunky gold chain ha ha... boys dont mess with mauw it WILL BITE you :shock: :shock: :shock:

fly safe
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Thu May 10, 2012 9:04 am

I have a 912 but max weight per seat is 110kg.

Vatso

Postby Vatso » Thu May 10, 2012 10:23 am

A sling registered as PPL has a MAUW of 800Kg's & an SLA has a MAUW of 600KG's our license also is what gives us our MAUW....

Postby Bundy » Thu May 10, 2012 10:29 am

Vatso wrote:A sling registered as PPL has a MAUW of 800Kg's & an SLA has a MAUW of 600KG's our license also is what gives us our MAUW....
:?: :?: :?

Postby Tailspin » Thu May 10, 2012 10:45 am

My Pax max weight is 90Kg's.
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Thu May 10, 2012 2:57 pm

Bundy wrote:
Vatso wrote:A sling registered as PPL has a MAUW of 800Kg's & an SLA has a MAUW of 600KG's our license also is what gives us our MAUW....
Bundy in other words the plane can do it but your license is the determining factor (in the slings case).
Flying feeds the soul!

Postby Tumbleweed » Thu May 10, 2012 3:09 pm

And don't think you'll come gliding over the numbers and flare at your normal speed. You gonna sink like a brick. vhpy

Lucky some of our safety belts are too short so should save some explaining.

Postby Bundy » Thu May 10, 2012 3:19 pm

JvTonder wrote:
Bundy wrote:
Bundy in other words the plane can do it but your license is the determining factor (in the slings case).
Thanks JV :) ...that much I get, but I'm not understanding the relevance to a chap wanting to take a flip in a trike? :)
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Thu May 10, 2012 4:24 pm

Eish sorry #-0
Flying feeds the soul!
Vatso

Postby Vatso » Thu May 10, 2012 5:08 pm

Hi Bundy,

I do not believe that all trike have the same MAUW!! A 503 vs 912 can't be the same & the different size wings? or am I missing something?
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu May 10, 2012 5:12 pm

Vatso wrote:Hi Bundy,

I do not believe that all trike have the same MAUW!! A 503 vs 912 can't be the same & the different size wings? or am I missing something?
Just an example my GT450 912s has got a MAUW of 450kg and as Thatchman said only 220kg allowed in the cockpit (110kg per seat)
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Bundy » Thu May 10, 2012 5:39 pm

Vatso, all WCM have a MAUW of 450KG. This must never be exceeded. The size of the engine and how much thrust it produces are irrelevant...

The useful load may differ (very slightly) between the different trike types, but you can never exceed the MAUW. It's got to do with wingloading....a trike is only designed to operate under a certain safe load....using a bigger engine will not save you from structural failure.

Always fly (well) within the limits....