Worst state of affairs for Microlighting!

Re: Worst state of affairs for Microlighting!

Postby Bundy » Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:48 pm

bobthebuilder wrote:Hi Alan,

Most of the clubs / fields had a set weekend breakfast date at some time or another. Microland included.
I don't think that breakfast is a strong enough enticement.

Another option could be some form of treasure hunt to try and get the dust off of the wings of the trikes.
We could stash a prize and give online clues to the whereabouts. Folks can then fly all over the place to try and find it.
The Johannesburg special rules east area for example, could serve pilots from Microland, Bapsfontein, JAG, Petit, Springs and Rhino Park.
An entrance fee could cover the cost of the prize, or a scoring system could be used to create a national event. We could then have one national winner at the end of the year.
This may also spur more interest in competition flying.

The sport must be promoted to outsiders in order to grow. The "Bring a newby" campagne sounds like the way to go.
Could an event not be planned and advertised on the radio and in the papers, whereby free flips are offered to entice people?
In fact, insted of "free" flips, maybe a donation could be made to a pre-selected charity? (the "Save the trike foundation" .... jokes ... some or other kiddy fund)
It could maybe become a regular event at selected airfields.

What about buying a trike or two in a consortium that can be rented out to pilots who have a license, but cannot afford an aircraft?

Are there any other ideas?
I really like that Treasure hunt idea! That could be lekker fun (^^)

I have also thought about having some sort of fundraiser/or various ones nationwide, to be able to raise cash which can be used to give a lucky person their wings?
Basically would be a comp that would have a paid for NPL (anywhere in the country) as the main prize.... (^^)
Triker

Postby Triker » Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:01 pm

Sometimes we underestimate the value of an active club and being active members.
Joe public will not get motivated to join a club or get into aviation if they arrive at an aifield that looks similar to a "spook dorp".

Its always lekker to find an aerie on the runway or just a hangar open at Aeroden when I arrive there over weekends. The opposite is also true.
Its dreary finding Aeroden on a perfect flying Saturday with no fellow hangar talkers in sight. I try to go out to the airfield, even if the weather does not permit flying, finding myself with a bucket soap and cloth cleaning the Cobra. She makes good conversation sometimes (**)

The point is. Go out to the aerfield. Go fly, or drink a beer or do nothing
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:46 pm

so here goes my 2c worth

nice thread and the momentum is picking up

my question is still and i believe it has been asked - how many active members are there ?

the reason for my question is there are over 4000 members but its only  a couple that always seem to be giving there input.

i think that all your suggestions are top notch but in my personal opinion we should focus on getting the pilots and aircraft owners back involved and get them back into the air.

face it if you would go to an airfield and see 1 or 2 trikes flying around you would go wow this looks like fun but if there were 10 to 15 trikes it would be holy shit where do i sign up

i know guys like Bundy and Madman are tying to get the life back into there airfield and that is what we need.... surely there must be contact details for all those dusted planes at the airfields lets start by getting those pilots back at the filed so that they can see what they are missing

i do not hanger at a club but regard my self as on of the Aeroden Boyz and have flown in and driven in to there breakfast fly inns and club braai's ect

the point is its not alway about Flying !!!!!! 
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Bundy » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:05 am

Tribal Croc wrote:so here goes my 2c worth

face it if you would go to an airfield and see 1 or 2 trikes flying around you would go wow this looks like fun but if there were 10 to 15 trikes it would be holy shit where do i sign up
Exactly.... (^^)
Tribal Croc wrote:
the point is its not alway about Flying !!!!!! 
WHAT??? Now that's just crazy talk.... :lol: Daai GT moet nou kom chom... 8)
bobthebuilder

Postby bobthebuilder » Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:32 am

How many trikes does your baby share a hanger with?
Maybe we should be contacting the owners of the trikes that share a hanger with you.
Byron Kirkland

Postby Big-D » Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:47 am

Bundy wrote:
I never played the game for years until one day I was invited to tag along....I played like a doos, but it was that first game that got me hooked....
AnthonyHugo wrote
bundy you biscuit! well put, ps. i still play golf like a d...
Bundy wrote:I played like a doos, but it was that first game that got me hooked....flying is no different.
:lol: bundy you biscuit! well put, ps. i still play golf like a d... :lol:
Ok me too - We need one more then we have a four-ball of "doose" vhpy vhpy (Not sure of the spelling of the plural of this word vhpy )

Postby Dish » Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:59 am

DOOSes :lol: :lol: :lol: vhpy vhpy (^^) (^^)

Postby Big-D » Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:02 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: (^^)

Are you our number 4 Dish? Common, we need a 4 ball of Dooses

Postby Dish » Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:08 am

Im in - happy to be the fourth doos in the gaggle vhpy

Postby Low Level » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:29 am

Bundy wrote:Tedderfield is aimed at existing pilots and students and was concieved because MISASA wanted to host an event which showcases the best aircraft we have on the market within various price brackets across all types. WCM, CCM, LSA etc. It is not aimed (at least not this year) at the general public. So no, there no plans for flipping as most of those attending will be pilots themselves.
Bundy, I catch your drift, BUT, are all these pilots attending Tedderfield, microlight pilots. Maybe we can convert a few from the OTHER side. Just to mention one of our new members - Craig the (ex)chopper pilot. :wink:

.........and I agree. Maybe we must start cleaning within our own midst. All the dust covered planes. The capital has been spent already. Get these guys back in the fun with events and a lively club. Maybe that is why they left in the first place. The club started spiraling downwards, and there was no more in it, to drive to the AF every Saturday, and be there on your own. You can do the nicest things on the planet. If there is no one to share it with :( :(

Postby John Boucher » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:37 am

Bundy, I catch your drift, BUT, are all these pilots attending Tedderfield, microlight pilots.
Well from the response we have received from people booking brekkies etc... NOT!
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:21 am

Dish wrote:Im in - happy to be the fourth doos in the gaggle vhpy
Ok, with all this talk about chasing a little white ball around 7km of nicely manicured grass, that really should be used as runways instead... What about a MISASA golf day?

Just a thought... could be used as fund-raising for the other ideas mentioned above... Bundy, as P.R.O, I assume that would fall under your domain... I am prepared to help out if you are keen... I am not a golfer though, but have a golfing mad family, and a scratch handicap colleague...
Tribal Croc wrote:the reason for my question is there are over 4000 members but its only a couple that always seem to be giving there input.
One thing you can always be sure of in any sport, or any volunteer organisation, or church or the like is the 80/20 principle... 80% (or more) of the work is always done by 20% (or less) of the people... and you also often have people holding onto "power" and not being prepared to delegate (Please understand that this is not aimed at anyone here on the list, or in the Mircolight fraternity, I don't know anyone well enough to make those kind of statements about this side of aviation yet...) If anyone can figure out how to stop this from happening, you will revolutionise all volunteer type organisations world wide...

Just a few thoughts...

Craig
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:30 am

Fly aways, Fly inns, Fly and braai, Drinks at the Dros we need to go back the beginning

Like I said in a previous thread when I started all you ever heard about and read about was Numbi Numbi Numbi - so I went there and was an experience of a life time for me but I was disappointed about the turn out

I have since then spoken to a couple of guys and they said they have been there a couple of times but its a case of been there done that now what

We need to spice up the fly aways and keep changing the venues so that we wont get bored with the same place same route ect ect

I know that oom Blue Max did a poker run and that the Vulture Squadron was planning a similar event at Koedoeskop (okay oom Paul zapped the Idea) but this is what we need more lekker events

I will be the first to admit that I am guilty of not going to some of these events but there are those where I have taken the time to drive into them

Another example was the Zebula invite from Thatch ---look what happened there the guys were having a blast and the 503 gang saw that they can fly together with the faster trikes and that the so called "windgat trikes " are all on the same level--just in it for the fun

So lets look at some new events for 2012:

Tedderfield is going to be a blast and even though my plane wont be here by then I will be driving in for this one

Numbi - ja I will definitely be flying in for this one

Zebula fly inn - For sure will be there

Battlefields - will love to go

Coastal trip - why not

Piet Retief - promised that I will see them some time this year maybe do a trip to Soddies

Koedoeskop - wont let the Vultures down

All we need is to get together and start planning

ag nee talking about all this flying is depressing me -- waars my baby
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:36 am

[quote="Low Level"]Bundy, I catch your drift, BUT, are all these pilots attending Tedderfield, microlight pilots. Maybe we can convert a few from the OTHER side. Just to mention one of our new members - Craig the (ex)chopper pilot. :wink:

Hey Low Level :) give me a bit of time and I will be one... and a good buddy of mine (a GA Pilot) is doing an intro flight with Flo this weekend to have a look see, and decide if he is going to fly trikes or Tri axis...

The 2 things that attracted me to this side of aviation, was the affordability (been there earlier in this or another thread), and the "portability" the ability to when not flying somewhere, to trailer a trike to where I want to be and still be able to fly there...
What made me decide to stay, and start getting involved on here etc. though, had nothing to do with either of those options, it had everything to do with the reception I received when I arrived at Aero 57 last weekend... I had intended to pop in for 10 mins and discuss options with Flo, and ended up spending about 3 hours there... This included going for a flip in a passing Savanna, who Flo called on the radio, who decided to drop in for a visit... I also ended up joining in with another student's first session of Ground school...

It is this kind of "vibe" or welcoming attitude, where guys who were about to go out for a flight make you feel like you are "already" part of the group, and the owner of the school makes you feel like you want to be there, that make us newbies want to stay, and get involved...

Craig

Postby Air Hog » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:42 am

Tribal Croc wrote:ag nee talking about all this flying is depressing me -- waars my baby
Hijack on:

By the way TC, when are you getting your baby? :?: (^^)

Hijack off