Is this Normal??

OzGyro

Is this Normal??

Postby OzGyro » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:46 pm

Hi All

So I have been in the market looking for a second hand Gyro and been have making a few inquiries around the place. So last week I email this this guy, lets just call him Bob. I ask Bob if he still has his gyro for sale, Bob replies yes he does and he has several other interested parties looking at the machine as well. No problems I say, However Bob advises me that if I would like him to reserve the gyro for me then I will need to make a R30,000 non refundable depost to his account. He then goes on to state the he works on a first in first served basis. Ok I know I am Australian and we aren't always the sharpest tools in the shed but Geeezzzz it this normal practice??? I can understand a request for say a R5000 deposit or similar but R30,000 non refundable does seem a little over the top.Is there something I'm misssing???

Darren

Re: Is this Normal??

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:51 pm

Sounds like 'honest Bob' is setting you up Darren. Thats a crock of %#!+
Willing buyer/willing seller. Check the machine out, if you like what you see, make him an offer - he can take it or leave it - or offer it to the next gullible guy. 10 guys put down his required R30k - he can give it away for free.

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:53 pm

Stuur vir Bob in sy moer in! :mrgreen:

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:14 pm

Con. Deposit (non refundable nogal) in this market :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i think bob is drinking his avgas

Did you try Wagtail
Last I checked he had a good couple Woer Woer's for sale..

Postby Bundy » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:19 pm

I'd tell "Bob" to bugger off if I was you. :wink:

Postby Air Hog » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:31 pm

I think I know who "Bob" is. I paid a R10,000 deposit and when the deal fell through, it took more than 3 months to get my deposit back and only after threatening of exposure on this site.

Just my 2 cents
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:50 pm

Tell BOB to go look in the mirror from behind and read his name (bob ) or asshole
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
MAGNIficent

Postby MAGNIficent » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:52 pm

This sound like a broker/agent and not the owner!
OzGyro

Postby OzGyro » Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:24 am

Hi All

Hmmm it seems the more I dig the more info thats coming to hand. It seems BOB has a bit of a reputation of taking peoples money and then not following through with his promises. I try and not take things hear from third parties to seriously as there is normally two sides to every story, but it seems a bit of a trend is developing here. The following is a cut and paste from the email I recieved.

I got a few potential buyers on this Gyro at the moment and if You are serious about the
Transaction I would require for You to put down a non refundable holding deposit of
R30 000-00 in the following account:

Maybe its time for a name and shame campaign :?: :?: :?:

Darren
bobthebuilder

Postby bobthebuilder » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 am

Just so everyone knows ....... It's not me!
I don't even own a wirly bird.
Byron Kirkland
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:23 am

OzGyro wrote:Hi All

Hmmm it seems the more I dig the more info thats coming to hand. It seems BOB has a bit of a reputation of taking peoples money and then not following through with his promises. I try and not take things hear from third parties to seriously as there is normally two sides to every story, but it seems a bit of a trend is developing here. The following is a cut and paste from the email I recieved.

I got a few potential buyers on this Gyro at the moment and if You are serious about the
Transaction I would require for You to put down a non refundable holding deposit of
R30 000-00 in the following account:

Maybe its time for a name and shame campaign :?: :?: :?:

Darren

Darren i agree , We should protect other guys that might fall for this !
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
bluesmancoops

Postby bluesmancoops » Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:54 pm

I agree as well
Mike Cooper
Flying is not a hobby it is an addiction
MADDOG

Postby MADDOG » Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:02 pm

Bob Mugabe maybe?
Aquilla the Hun
Grote
Passed radio course

Postby Grote » Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:52 pm

John Boucher is reg , stuur hom in sy moer met Gyro en al , Hy maak van ons almal `n fool , hy kan by die Landbank loop job soek , as hy eerlik is kan hy mos sy Gyro met foto en al hier adverteer . Ek is so die moer in vir jou part dat ek sommer nou `n dop gaan drink .Cheers .
OzGyro

Postby OzGyro » Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:20 pm

Hi All
Grote wrote:John Boucher is reg , stuur hom in sy moer met Gyro en al , Hy maak van ons almal `n fool , hy kan by die Landbank loop job soek , as hy eerlik is kan hy mos sy Gyro met foto en al hier adverteer . Ek is so die moer in vir jou part dat ek sommer nou `n dop gaan drink .Cheers .
Translation please someone.

Darren