Trike en Jakkalsjag

Nkwazi

Re: Trike en Jakkalsjag

Postby Nkwazi » Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:38 pm

If you call living and hunting in virgin Zambian bush for 10 years a stadsjapie then maybe I am!! Maybe thats why I dont understand the South African attitude to hunting practises. In Zambia we hunted, morally and ethically
Africa

Postby Africa » Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:46 pm

this is going way off point as i thought it may. I grew up in nelspruit and our farm bordered the KNP. I was involved with chasing elephants back into the KNP 40 km with a trike because they were eating a farmers Mangos. Those elephants were back the following day and eventually shot. I also know of Lions that get shot by KNP rangers when they get out of the park into the rural areas of bushbuck ridge and eat the locals cattle, so this gets done on regular basis. Unfortuantly problem animals will get shot. Hippo in bean fields, Elephants in Magos and sugar cane, Lion in local development areas, Jackals on sheep farms. I have been on a jakkel hunt and these hunters are pros. They use a very fast riffle 243 and mainly shoot at night and all head shots with a very low % wounding the animal. We will have to all move back to europe if we really have to get into this argument
ZU BBV

Postby ZU BBV » Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:18 am

I knew that we would end up with more discussions on “not to hunt” then answering my question on shooting from a trike. I do get the point and understand that it might be dangerous especially with the prop behind the hunter. Thank you for your advice.
To all the “greenies” out the there remember, next time you arrive at your business/shop and it is broken into and left with half the equipment that you left there the previous night, call the police and ask them NOT to catch the bastard because he probably needed the money.

Animal lover

Postby John Boucher » Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:14 am

ZU BBV....

The guys out at Upington are breaking the law - end of discussion! :!:

It was (is) the opinion of many a farmer in the area where I lived for more than 17 years (Postmasburg) and where I took part in a hunts trying to control Jackal, that the animal that kills on your farm comes from the neighbouring farm. That is why most of the chaps there have co-ordinated efforts. One of these efforts most recently ended in 2 well known farmers and friends of mine being killed in a Bantam B-22. I must state categorically that Hennie (pic) had NOT been taking part in the Jackal hunt and had only paid the farmers a courtesy call. But the stigma remains. Another accident a few years ago was as a result of the pilot accidentally switching off the mags low to the ground when he wanted to change channels on his Marnet radio. 2 seconds later, him & his son were in the hak-en-steek bushes with a trashed trike upside down fuel dripping and a loaded shotgun :shock: .... fokkit pa ek vlieg nie 'n moer weer saam met jou nie!

I suggest you attend to this in the conventional manner and without reverting to breaking the law which could end up you paying with your life! Think about it then... who is going to control or attend to your jackal problem when you are 6 feet under the ground? :?
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:59 pm

Nkwazi wrote:How unethical, immoral and downright disgusting. It's like shooting from a vehicle, shooting at a waterhole or shooting with a spotlight. I am disgusted at the amount of people in SA that find this to be an acceptable way of "hunting". What happened to tracking an animal on foot and then shooting it. It's all about money and pleasing the well heeled foreign hunter - BOLLOCKS. As for hunting vermin, who was there first. Unless you can prove that you were there first, then you are the very vermin.
=D* =D* =D*
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
cjkrit

Postby cjkrit » Tue Apr 27, 2010 2:35 pm

ZU BBV:
Jy het al my simpatie met jou probleem. Was ook betrokke in boerdery- jy doen als reg en dan hierdie onbeheerbare indringer wat alles kom ontwrig. Meeste van alles jou begroting in sy maai. Wat belangrik is- al die boere van die area MOET saamwerk anders is daar gedurig skuilplekke.

Ek gaan my nie uitlaat oor die etiese aspekte nie, maar wil tog vra dat jy die trike nie sal gebruik nie. Dis baie gevaarlik. Dink ook aan jou gesinslede.

Ek hoop rerig jy kry gou 'n goeie oplossing vir daai groot kopseer.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:40 pm

I believe all hunting for "fun" is BS. That said I have hunted for the pot and I have seen first hand what jackals can do to a calf and cow at birth and the toll on lambs is huge...... and is IMHO as much slaughter as shooting from a bakkie. They prey on the small, weak and incapacitated, so hardly a "fair fight". They are past masters of hunting/playing with a loaded deck..... While they serve necessary function in the Wild, a farm is hardly "the wild" and the ecology is usually controlled by the farmer.....

All in all a Tough call. Hunt or not to hunt, but I would not hunt from a trike, mainly because I have seen what a shotgun can do at close range (to equipment and people) and there is no second chance even if there is anything left to "patch".... Some oukes get trigger happy like I saw first hand many moons ago on guinea fowl hunt often they get skiet koors and shoot holes in friendlies... (and their equipment)... :? :? :? :? :?

Lights and CD's work well, but I am told it is not legal? Don't know?

Using a trike is not a great idea unless you have a "skiet venster" and the pilot does not kak himself everytime the canon goes off. I would hate to have a tailgunner behind me plukking the gat left and right (loaded) to try get the shot. Also be very aware of whose role is what. Pilot fly the plane. Tail gunner shoot only in the skiet venster. That is far easier done with a Robbie than a trike... ("hold it there I have a shot") All in all I rekon not worth the risk. I have been along on R44 when they have darted and it is a :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: environment and that was with a dart gun :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I have also been along when commercial operators come hunt/cull springbok with R22. Def not what my Oupa had in mind when he used to talk about hunting. Huge numbers in double quick time, but that where the biltong comes from. (**) (**)
Dunesand

Postby Dunesand » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:08 pm

Hi Guys,

I was watching this topic for quite a while and WOW what different responses we got.
I have something to add however:
1) Unless you are a farmer farming with sheep of which jackal kill quite a few a night(any given night) as and when they want to. It really not nice to see your
herd being damaged this way inspite of numerous costly preventions like proper fencing etc.
2) Therefore it is quite acceptable to keep them at bay at least by hunting them down.
3) The more conscious farmers however are applying more and more scientific methods be it dogs, concentrating on problem jackal as such or whatever.
4) I do promise you that jackal will always be hunted for the damage they do to livestock.
5) Being based in Namibia, I acn however assure you that only one species of jackal are being hunted. The Bat Eared are not hunted.
6) I know of quite a few guys who hunt from their microlights or at least do the spotting thereof from the trike.
7) I also know of quite a few accidents involving shotgun and microlight and it has to do with shooting backwards through the prop(by the passenger), sticking the barrel inot the prop when stretching back to aim to not let it get away, shells flying through the prop and into the wing etc etc.
8) Thus, unless you are a very good pilot and have a very good shot DON'T DO IT.
9) Of all the guys I know who is practicing this, not one has not been involved in some or other accident or incident while flying and shooting.
10) I know of one guy who flies and shoots all by him self................................. incredible to see but it is the truth!

Keep well,
ZU BBV

Postby ZU BBV » Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:26 pm

Not criticizing the guys that don’t agree with the hunting option. Only a farmer will understand. What I did get from the question I asked is that it is not a good idea to hunt from a trike. Hiring a helicopter is very expensive and somebody mentioned the spotting of the jackal with a trike and that is the option I like. I also needed an excuse to buy a trike again (and claim the VAT). So with good radio comms you can spot the jackal with the trike and communicate with your staff (hunters) on the ground. That way you can fly save, enjoy the trike and farm.
Problem solved. Thank you all.

Peter

Postby John Boucher » Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:50 pm

Peter, that makes more sense and obviously having long perimeter fences and remote dams - you can fly early in the morning, do your rounds and know exactly what is going on. Also spot dead or sick animals and react accordingly!

We all thankfully agree on the aviation bit...... sjoe!

Postby AndyG » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:11 pm

ZU BBV wrote:Not criticizing the guys that don’t agree with the hunting option. Only a farmer will understand. What I did get from the question I asked is that it is not a good idea to hunt from a trike. Hiring a helicopter is very expensive and somebody mentioned the spotting of the jackal with a trike and that is the option I like. I also needed an excuse to buy a trike again (and claim the VAT). So with good radio comms you can spot the jackal with the trike and communicate with your staff (hunters) on the ground. That way you can fly save, enjoy the trike and farm.
Problem solved. Thank you all.

Peter
Now that is a good answer (^^) (^^)
Slabfish

Postby Slabfish » Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:46 pm

Peter,ek het n vriend wat al vir die laaste 10 jaar of so sy trike gebruik om die jakkalse te verwilder.Al wat hy doen is om die plaas ELKE dag te patroleer met die trike .Hy se die jakkalse het almal padgegee ,lyk my hulle dink die ding will hulle vang,soos n groot voel :roll: of iets .Seriaaas ,dis nie n storie nie (-)
Clem Slabbert from FAPX
ZS WPF Mizer-Sold
ZU EKP Jora-Sold
ZU CWE Jora-Sold
ZU IAC New Jora
Sukkelaar

Postby Sukkelaar » Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:10 pm

Peter
When that runway is ready give us a call and Im sure we could get a few trikes there to do some spotting.
Most trikers would do almost anything for a nice breakfast let alone a nice braai and sleep over.

regards
Sukkelaar
Kyk Noord
ZU BBV

Postby ZU BBV » Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:08 am

Sukkelaar wrote:Peter
When that runway is ready give us a call and Im sure we could get a few trikes there to do some spotting.
Most trikers would do almost anything for a nice breakfast let alone a nice braai and sleep over.

regards
Sukkelaar
Now we're talking. That's the kind of help I've been looking for from my fellow aviators right from the start. Still weary to fly alone, all by myself in the Karoo as I am still under 100 hours myself. Thank you Sukkelaar.
Yes, the farm is very spreaded out and it could take you a few hours just to check the stock waters. We all know how much you can see from a trike at 500 feet agl. I can stay up there all day and let the ground crew do the farming! Lekke! ## (^^)

Peter
Alkemac

Postby Alkemac » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:48 am

Just be careful of this chap... he appears to be quite good.. vhpy
karoo jakkals4.jpg
ZU-DODO