Teusday- security Co calls me out, broken in throught the front door- smash & grab. Latest modus aperandi is they wrap a serious chain around the door handles and pull with a bakkie. Have carted 10 plazma screens within 2 minutes.
PG Glass can't keep up and the fingerprink oke apoligises but receieved 6 call outs by 11h00 and only gets home after 19h00 each day. My 2nd break in this year, roll up gates on order as well electric fences on the roof.
Get a call, relative shot in her car- Witkoppen petrol station news story- her mistake was closing her window when the##$% ran towards her so he blasted her. By the time I get through on the phone, she did'nt make it and they were on the way to sort out personals at the house.
Today, I ask the new guy where the regular one is. " That was my dad. Couple weeks ago, I left him at the factory to buy hamburgers and returned to find him shot on the floor- for R1 600.00 and a laptop"
I know this does'nt fall in the scope of the forum and I'm not trying to revoke response nor support to my prison Euthenasia programme, but rather to create awareness to reduce it happening to others. So please, share this;
If someone approaches with a gun, show your hands and just get out. He's psyco and nervous.
Spend a little on serveillance cameras, panic buttons e.t.c and unless you're ready to shoot, dont keep a firearm, especially if your staff knows.
Especially women -don't yak on the phone walking through public, especially not in traffic at intersections, carry your own parcels to the car and don't support the car guard.
If you have manual gates at home, call the family to see you in the gate at night, with someone near the panic button.
Fill up in daytime and don't browse through the shops at night, especially with your kids.
Tell your kids not to act with the cellphone walking around playing music, others also want it.
Feel free to add here.
Crime - Again
- Tumbleweed
Crime - Again
Re: Crime - Again
Hey Bud,
I know exactly what you are feeling. Been through it etc. Chin up and good advice that you wrote.
Cheers,
Andy
I know exactly what you are feeling. Been through it etc. Chin up and good advice that you wrote.
Cheers,
Andy
- andreb
- Pilot in Command
After being victims of many crimes, including wife and son hikacked, we decided we were not prepared to live like this. As much as we love SA we did not believe things would ever improve....so here we are in Australia.
Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints
Non scholae sed vitae discimus
AND...............Do you feel it was the right move?andreb wrote:After being victims of many crimes, including wife and son hikacked, we decided we were not prepared to live like this. As much as we love SA we did not believe things would ever improve....so here we are in Australia.
Cos. Eish, me, ........ Biltong, braaivleis, Bokke, Brandy,

Touch wood, I haven't been a victim of serious crime.
- andreb
- Pilot in Command
Yes Grumpy, definitely the right move. I miss SA and many things that we get used to, but this is a beautiful country in it's own right. People are great and the weather is amazing. Flying is also awesome here. The huge plus is that everything works and is clean and neat, AND THERE IS VERY LITTLE CRIME! Violent crime like in SA is unheard of and is also not tolerated.
I will always be South African and will always miss SA, but intend to make a new life here.
I would recommend the move to anyone.
I will always be South African and will always miss SA, but intend to make a new life here.
I would recommend the move to anyone.
Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints
Hi tumbleweedTumbleweed wrote:Get a call, relative shot in her car- Witkoppen petrol station news story- her mistake was closing her window when the##$% ran towards her so he blasted her. By the time I get through on the phone, she did'nt make it and they were on the way to sort out personals at the house.
Feel free to add here.
I was there close to that pertol station when it happend. I was busy buying cokes at the station across the road when it all went down.
It all happened so fast, by the time i registered what was happening it was all over.
I say Bring back the death penalty. Just my $1Zim.
Unfortunatly Gavin, That will never hapen. You get those stupid A@#sh^*es Who keep bringing up the human rights thing.
Vernon.
Vernon.
This hear is a very very tough debate and its really hard to argue on either side. I live in the states and did not move due crime. I moved because I fauiled to listen to my elders by following the saying "wrap it or zip it"!!!
Ok, I have never been a victom to crime In SA so i cannot feel what other do that have been vitoms but I do have 2 beautiful little girls that I just could not see getting hurt by heartless criminals. However as a south african you have no Idea how it makes me feel sitting in my lounge ion saturdays watching Rugby ALONE with no biltong and no castle. The people are friendly but different, and do not share our sense of humour nor our manners or way of doing things. I was in away spoilt as i grew up because I grew up in the bush in the lowveld so the crime there is alot less than in JNB. So as a young White male South African to make it in SA and to live or afford to live in a "safe" area you need big bucks. To have big bucks you need a good start in SA which is hard to get if you are pale and male. So the only thing you can do is get into the family business, or leave the country or try make it in the cities but then you have to put up with the crime, so either way you are shot in the foot.
Living in the U.S i have had to really mentally make the move and feel like this is where i live to actually feel at home and still I look at the stars, and really long for Africa. There is not a day that goes by where i do not think of home. it has not and is not easy living away and anyone who says it is , is trying to make himself/herself feel like the move was justified. I do not blame anyone for leaving because i myself want my kids to live in a safe and free environment but there is no place like Africa!!
If the crime was under control, i be thousands would return. peiople do not care about how clean it is and how bad the roads are. thats just africa. its the F^&&%#$ crime!!
I Miss Home!!!!
Jamie mathewson
Ok, I have never been a victom to crime In SA so i cannot feel what other do that have been vitoms but I do have 2 beautiful little girls that I just could not see getting hurt by heartless criminals. However as a south african you have no Idea how it makes me feel sitting in my lounge ion saturdays watching Rugby ALONE with no biltong and no castle. The people are friendly but different, and do not share our sense of humour nor our manners or way of doing things. I was in away spoilt as i grew up because I grew up in the bush in the lowveld so the crime there is alot less than in JNB. So as a young White male South African to make it in SA and to live or afford to live in a "safe" area you need big bucks. To have big bucks you need a good start in SA which is hard to get if you are pale and male. So the only thing you can do is get into the family business, or leave the country or try make it in the cities but then you have to put up with the crime, so either way you are shot in the foot.
Living in the U.S i have had to really mentally make the move and feel like this is where i live to actually feel at home and still I look at the stars, and really long for Africa. There is not a day that goes by where i do not think of home. it has not and is not easy living away and anyone who says it is , is trying to make himself/herself feel like the move was justified. I do not blame anyone for leaving because i myself want my kids to live in a safe and free environment but there is no place like Africa!!
If the crime was under control, i be thousands would return. peiople do not care about how clean it is and how bad the roads are. thats just africa. its the F^&&%#$ crime!!
I Miss Home!!!!
Jamie mathewson
- Trikenut
Well said Jamie!!
I may only be 14, but I am a proud south african oke, and cannot imagine living in another country. The crime is terrible... but africa is a place that cannot be replicated! The people, the animals the whole vibe! The roads may be bad, the crime terrible, and whatever else
but africa is home, and to me it always will be!
Just my 2c...
Cheers,

I may only be 14, but I am a proud south african oke, and cannot imagine living in another country. The crime is terrible... but africa is a place that cannot be replicated! The people, the animals the whole vibe! The roads may be bad, the crime terrible, and whatever else

Just my 2c...
Cheers,
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"