Kitplanes turns 21 - Fly in 04 October 2014

KFA

Kitplanes turns 21 - Fly in 04 October 2014

Postby KFA » Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:40 pm

We are celebrating our 21st anniversary on the 19th of October 2014. To celebrate this milestone will be hosting a fly-in at Petit on the 04th of October. Big braai with lots of kuier. Best you plan to camp that night. We have showers and other facilities at the field. Please spread the word.

This fly-in will now coincide with the Vintage Aircraft fly-in to be held the same weekend at Petit. Lots of action and kuier planned. (^^)
Last edited by KFA on Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
HENNING JOHAN

Re: Kitplanes turns 21 - Fly in 18 October 2014

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:09 pm

Dit klink so lekkker!Sal plan moet maak!
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.
Jerimi
Thinking of flying

Postby Jerimi » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:32 pm

sounds lekka! hope to see good support from the bushbaby's
bobthebuilder

Postby bobthebuilder » Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:55 pm

I though I heard someone say "Harvard" .... ?
Was this during a seperate conversation perhaps?
Byron Kirkland
KFA

Re: Kitplanes turns 21 - Fly in 04 October 2014

Postby KFA » Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:15 pm

This fly-in will now be held at the same time and place as the Classic Aircraft fly-in at Petit. Please make a note. If the weather gives us a break it will be a great event.
KFA

Postby KFA » Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:34 pm

Date is now set for the 4th of October. Breakfast will be served from early on. At around 09h00 we will take count of all the erries to see if we can set some sort of record for the most of a type at a fly-inn. There will also be a photo shoot for African Pilot by Willie Bodenstein of all the erries parked together. At 09h30 or so we will have a prize giving for the owner that flew the furthest, the owner who has the oldest aircraft there, most hours on etc etc. A fun filled day. It will be combined with the Vinatge aircraft fly-inn the same day/weekend so there will be food for sale, you can pitch a tent and we will provide the braai fires. Lots of campers indicated that they will be arriving the Friday already. See you guys there
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:00 am

Are trikes allowed at this event?

KFA

Postby KFA » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:02 am

Off course. We aim to get as many Bushbabies, Explorers and Safari's but anybody is welcome.
KFA

Postby KFA » Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:22 pm

Kitplanes is turning 21 next month and we will be holding a fly in at the Petit airfield combined with the vintage and classic aircraft fly in the same weekend. Anybody is welcome to attend. We would like to see as many of our aircraft there as possible. You are most welcome to fly in on Friday and camp at the field. I will make my hangar's bathroom facilities available. We have DSTV at the hangar so the rugby enthusiasts will be able to watch the game on a big screen.
Braai packs and drinks will be sold at the field and side dishes will be supplied at the Kitplanes hangar. (Pap, rolls, salads and sheba)

Program so far :
07:00 - 09:00 - Breakfast will be available for sale at the communal area (Vintage aircraft section)
09:30 - Aerial photo of the Kitplanes aircraft ( So far we have more than 40 that indicated they will fly in) The record is 45 and we would like to better it
10:00 Prize giving for
- The aircraft that flew the furthest to attend
- The builder that build his aircraft in the shortest period
- Builder that took the longest to complete his build.
- Oldest Bushbaby attending
- Aircraft with the most hours flown
- Best looking Bushbaby, Explorer and Safari respectively (over all)
- Best paint job
- Best interior
etc etc etc.

So far the combined total of aircraft expected will be in excess of 150. Hope the weather holds......going to be a great day (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
avgas

Postby avgas » Fri Oct 03, 2014 7:07 am

Limpopo Bushbaby Squadron will be there on saturday (^^) (^^)
Pity can"t stay over but next time!! (^^) (^^)
Real men don't have to kill a Rhino for a Horn
Balls to the wall
HENNING JOHAN

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:39 pm

Sorry Stefan maar sal dit nie kan maak nie.Ek's op die plaas indie Vrystaat.My broer sal daar wees met sy kamera en sy opdrag is om baie fotos te neem om te sien wat ek mis!Baie geluk met die mondigwording van jou besigheid mag daar nog baie jare se genot en sukses vir jou besigheid wees!Groete Johan.
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.
Kobus

Postby Kobus » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:01 pm

KFA en span

Baie dankie dat julle on stokpertjie spesiaal maak.

Julle is great!!!

Opdie volgende 21 jaar!!! (^^) (^^)
SMALLDSC_0001.JPG
The Champions
SMALLDSC_0005_1.JPG
Leaning on each other!
SMALLDSC_0008.JPG
Part of the winning team.
The higher, the faster, the safer.

Postby Tumbleweed » Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:56 am

What a lekker fly in. Well done to the organisers, I believe over 160 aircraft flew in.Hope it becomes a regular event.

Nice to meet up with old flying buddies and score a boerewors roll from Hendrik. We all agreed we must kuier more often, but I only saw one trike fly?

What happened to the microlight gees? Seems most trike pilot 'ou ballies' have converted to fixed wing? :oops:

Postby mulderpm » Sun Oct 05, 2014 10:44 am

Tumbleweed wrote:We all agreed we must kuier more often, but I only saw one trike fly?

What happened to the microlight gees? Seems most trike pilot 'ou ballies' have converted to fixed wing? :oops:
Haai, togie togie, Tumbleweed. You must have arrived late. There were 5 trikes (samosas) and 3 CCM types. I was one of the samosas. Not as many as I would have liked to have seen but we were there. The last trike...the one you must have seen, left at about 10:30. I flew out at 09:00 and drove back from Microland.
Yes, it was an amazing event. The planes were parked the length of the runway and back again. And then there were the drive in's as well. Very well attended and great fun was had by all. (^^)

Come to Microland and you will see lots and lots of trikes on most weekends. ##
Splinter

Postby Splinter » Sun Oct 05, 2014 2:03 pm

What a nice event!!!! Well done to the organizers, it was a pleasure to find an ATC and ground marshals directing aircraft.
The big turnout and variety of planes on display was amazing!

Unfortunately I have to say I was extremely disappointed in the airmanship shown by 4 different helicopter pilots.
Flying low level over a the crowd and aircraft parked next to the runway is not ok in my opinion, especially when an approach from the opposites side would have been clear of all aircraft and spectators.

This fortunately has nothing to do with the organizers and they can't help for the error in judgement shown by these pilots!

Well done to all involved!
Lower, Lower ...........