South Coast flying 25 April to 4th May 2014

CVStrong

Re: South Coast flying 25 April to 4th May 2014

Postby CVStrong » Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:26 pm

Hey guys,

Hope none of you were flying in the wind today, walking on the beach it was hectic enough.

Give me a shout on zero 8 three 2 five 6 eight 36 one, would love to pop in where you guys are to catch up on the trip so far.

Unfortunately I couldn't bring my trike down, as I couldn't get the caa inspection done in time.

Chat soon

Craig
RV12
Survived second engine out

Postby RV12 » Sun Apr 27, 2014 6:39 pm

Lassie wrote:Julle ouens het uitgemis op 'n lekker brekkie op Standerton! Ek het te laat gesien julle het julle roete verander via Vlakfontein. My baan is net 'n entjie verder op die noorde oewer van Grootdraai dam. Sou julle met die terugkom dieselfde roete vlieg is Julle welkom om by my te land. Vlakfontein is oor die algemeen 'n crosswind landing. My baan: S26 53 265 E29 19 029

Geniet die trippie, volgende keer gaan ek saam!

Dawid 0824520079
Hoe lank is jou baan Dawid ?
Lassie

Postby Lassie » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:29 pm

Dis 'n 900m grondbaan.
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:49 pm

To confirm CV's hopes, I hope all were safe on the ground today. I arrived in Ramsgate at 14h00, and experienced severe turbulence in my Bakkie all the way from Durbs. Looks like drizzle tomorrow morning and then clearing for a niceafternoon flight for you guys. Remember though, if you fly past Ramsgate beach, I have a birds eye view and a good camera! You will remember what happened last time, from my dads pics... This time I am eye witness! :roll: :twisted:

I decided to skip the 1100 km trailering and come to the coast for once for the normal stuff: boogey boarding and some Serious fishing. My 8 weight Loomis is rigged with an Intermediary wf line, shock leader and pink dusky Charlie. I'll be walking the coastline tmrw morning, will keep a lookout for you. Be safe and legal, and enjoy. :!:
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:39 am

Asterix.
How long you down for. Maybe meet at our field for a beer.
Vernon.
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:45 am

Sorry. My number. 0834598673.
Craig, maybe we can meet up together.
Vern.
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:20 am

Hey Vernon,

Drop me an sms on timing... happy to pop around any time except Wednesday...

See you soon
Craig
in the sticks

Postby in the sticks » Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:39 am

I had some awesome flying yesterday.Flew down to Mthatha mouth.I could not believe the fantastic service we received.I had just landed on the beach and within 10 min a tray of hot coffee was delivered to me and my passenger. If ever you fly down the Transkei coast I would recommend you pop in to the Anchorage hotel. The managers name is Dezil Thurston and he is very microlight friendly

Postby nicow » Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:06 am

in the sticks wrote:I had some awesome flying yesterday.Flew down to Mthatha mouth.I could not believe the fantastic service we received.I had just landed on the beach and within 10 min a tray of hot coffee was delivered to me and my passenger. If ever you fly down the Transkei coast I would recommend you pop in to the Anchorage hotel. The managers name is Dezil Thurston and he is very microlight friendly
=D* =D* =D*
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW
zucac

Postby zucac » Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:19 pm

me to
I landed on the beach and they fed me on oysters and wine for 2 days
beach landing.jpg
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:43 pm

Show Off :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Vernon.
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:01 pm

Had a few of the blokes around for a while. Whilst I services Johan's 912. good to meet a couple of new faces.
Vernon

Postby Blue Max » Thu May 01, 2014 7:36 am

:)
Sorry guys, we are all very busy here in Margate.
Will put some pics on as soon as we get an opportunity.
We are having a great time and making new friends everywhere.
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri May 02, 2014 7:45 pm

Sorry Vernon11 for only answering now - I'll be down here untill 11 May. My time is pretty much tied up in fishing - going down to Port St Johns on Sunday for a 3 day stint, before heading up north along the coast again, stopping at every spot that conceivably holds shorebound gamefish...(I do not only fly, I also fly-fish...)

To Blue Max and co. at Ladysmith tonight - I confirm that the mieliestoor is open as per our telecon if you run into shit tmrw. Trikes / LSA's will have superior shelter, but Wimpie and Dad is harvesting soya bone currently so won't be able to entertain - phone Willie Griesel to come and collect you from Beginsel and book you into Apple Dew Guest House, which he owns. ( He flies himself). You are in friendly and helpful territory around Standerton. :wink:

(Now WHERE the HELL is my trophy KINGFISH??) :evil:
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Fri May 02, 2014 7:51 pm

Good luck with the fishing. My favourite spot is Mzikhaba.
Vernon.