Re: Coastal Fly-Away planning at Sibaka 19 Feb 2011

Postby Grumpy » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:05 pm

Just gotta love you Okes........................ I Mean, vhpy vhpy
Plan and organise a Fly-Away to Sibaka
to
Plan and organise a Coastal Fly-Away....... (^^) (^^)
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:07 pm

Grumpy wrote:Just gotta love you Okes........................ I Mean, vhpy vhpy
to
(^^) (^^)

Hehe Grumpy,

Any old excuse will do....fly and a few (^^) (^^) , the only way to spend the weekend :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Madman » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:57 pm

Hi Alpha,

Im flyin from Circus,via Xwinds-Aeroden-Brits-Sibaka..99.9nm(115miles)

We are about the same distance from Xwinds,perhaps we could meet at Aeroden or Brits and fly together.What do u fly,coz the way i worked it out,i should have enough fuel and i fly a Windlass 503 with a 50l tank.I wil take a 25l with on the back seat just incase.

Will there be fuel at Sibaka?

Blue Skies
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:19 pm

Madman wrote:Hi Alpha,

Im flyin from Circus,via Xwinds-Aeroden-Brits-Sibaka..99.9nm(115miles)

We are about the same distance from Xwinds,perhaps we could meet at Aeroden or Brits and fly together.What do u fly,coz the way i worked it out,i should have enough fuel and i fly a Windlass 503 with a 50l tank.I wil take a 25l with on the back seat just incase.

Will there be fuel at Sibaka?

Blue Skies
Hi Madman,

I am actually not used to the area here and I have not changed the Main jet on my carbs as yet...so in other words my fuel burn rate is a touch hi...well between 15 and 17 ltrs per hour...and on top of that I have my softness flying with me so I do not have extra place for fuel...I am sure I will make it, but I prefer to be safe than sorry. Sibaka I am sure will organise fuel for us, so when do you plan to leave for Aeroden? I am flying from Fochville which is not that far from Circus...but I will fly direct to Aeroden (50nm)...

I am thinking of flying out friday afternoon to aeroden and then early saturday morning fly into Sibaka.

By the way I fly a Cosmos with a raptor wing and a 503 rotax...

Worked mine out that I will have half a litre of fuel left if I fly direct to Sibaka...not really willing to take that chance...

Maybe we could meet up sometime...work wise I am based in Meyerton about 10km,s or so from Circus...let me know what you think

Fly safe.. (^^) (^^)

Postby Madman » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:12 pm

Hey Alpha,

Haha,that would be cutting it close.Your softness could hold da fuel,just dont get her to hot,u might explode..lol.Never been to Aeroden,is there accomodation there?I plan to be airborne at 5am,should be over Aeroden at 6am...overhead Sibaka at 7am.Thats not taking the wind into consideration.

Im flyin Sat,wx permitting.Let me know if you flying then we cud meet somewhere or go to JSC or Panorama for breakfast.

The Damn Buster
Found a flight school

Postby The Damn Buster » Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:12 pm

This fly-away sounds awesome!

Anyone flying out from Petit? :) :)
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:45 pm

Madman wrote:Hey Alpha,

Haha,that would be cutting it close.Your softness could hold da fuel,just dont get her to hot,u might explode..lol.Never been to Aeroden,is there accomodation there?I plan to be airborne at 5am,should be over Aeroden at 6am...overhead Sibaka at 7am.Thats not taking the wind into consideration.

Im flyin Sat,wx permitting.Let me know if you flying then we cud meet somewhere or go to JSC or Panorama for breakfast.

Haha, yes that explosion will be interesting to explain in te CAA report. As for Aeroden, they have accomodation, I am waiting for feedback as I want to fly out on the Friday afternoon and overnight there and leave early Saturday for Sibaka.

Well my trike is not rigged at the moment as it was with me on holiday at the coast and there are 1 or 2 things I need to do to it, but enjoy your flying mate and be safe! (^^) (^^) we will catch up soon enough

AWACS

Re: Fly-Away Sibaka 19 Feb 2011 - All Welcome

Postby AWACS » Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:46 am

Good morning Dam Buster,
Couple of pilots will be considering the fly-away.
Please join us this Saturday (15?01) at Petit for an early morning flight (06:30 - 07:00 take-off)and a discussion afterwards.

Could you guys just post the Sibaka coordinates again plse. :oops:

Happy landings!
Raptor 582
ZU-Sling 2

Postby Madman » Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:46 am

Hi Alpha,

Ok,then we could meet up sometime when your trike is sorted,otherwise you welcome to pop in at Circus.

Awacs,check page 1 for the co-ords..

Safe Landings

Postby Blue Max » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:37 pm

Grumpy wrote:Just gotta love you Okes........................ I Mean, vhpy vhpy
to
:shock: :shock: :shock:
My biggest concern is that we might forget what the purpose of our Fly-away is.!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:24 am

Madman wrote: Will there be fuel at Sibaka?
Can be organised just let me know by the 17th then I can get some in Warmbaths ##
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Madman » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:36 pm

Thanx Tribal :mrgreen:

Howz the afernoon flying in that area,thought we could fly some in the afteroon,check out the scenery?

Just a question,on the map I see a couple airfields...Mabula,Mabalingwe,Kunkuru.Would all fall under 124.8 including Sibaka?

Madman (^^)
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:59 pm

Afternoons are usually lekker very smooth after 6pm and sun sets at 7pm, so for a lekker flip we can take off at 5h30pm vhpy

All airfields are unmanned and use 124.8 (^^)

Wanted to go up this afternoon but eish the rain :cry: maybe I'll be lucky tomorrow morning :twisted:
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Madman » Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:34 pm

Awesome xxx

Same here,rain all day.