SUE TO FETCH BANTAM FROM MAFEKING
Depart Friday morning weather permitting, usual style sleep over depart early bells no stopping untill destination- maybe Hekpoort.
http://www.valleyflightsmicrolighting.com
Jabiru Instructor ( Grade B)
Re: HOME SAFE
Hi All.
I never know what these ferry flights are going to throw at me and i try to prepare for the worst including a small nip of scotch and spare cigs in my flying bag just in case i go down in the middle of no where- at least i can numb the pain before the end comes
but i was not prepared for the drive up to Mafeking with an x superbiker...We decided to drive up early Friday and then Sue to fly back. The new owner did the driving in my bakkie
This guy drives...fast.....very fast. My bakkie has never done 180 kms and at some point the driver comments "why has the yellow engine light come on?" I am scared but being a ferry pilot i elect not to show it.On the odd occasion he throttles back to 160kms giving me temporary relief. I hate wearing a seatbelt but in this life or death scenario i belt up.The 3 hr journey is completed in 2. Phew at the hangar now, gather myself up.
Flying the old Bantam home is heaven. Im on familiar turf with a lakker tail wind,gratefull for not being on the ground driving,
and i contemplate just how safe flying is! Landed about 1.30 another sucessfull ferry flight.
Cheers for now
I never know what these ferry flights are going to throw at me and i try to prepare for the worst including a small nip of scotch and spare cigs in my flying bag just in case i go down in the middle of no where- at least i can numb the pain before the end comes

Flying the old Bantam home is heaven. Im on familiar turf with a lakker tail wind,gratefull for not being on the ground driving,

Cheers for now

- Air Hog
- Location: Kroon Airfield, Home of Rosslyn Microflyers, Pretoria
Re: SUE TO FETCH BANTAM FROM MAFEKING
I alwas said it is much safer to fly!

How about a breakfast fly in at your strip one Saturday morning? The Kroon guys are always looking for a place and I am sure some others will join. (The Brits and Aeroden and even the Chain Gang from Crosswinds)

Air Hog brilliant idea. You let me know when-this Saturday cool. The breakfast wont be as larney as what you guys do, but a boerie roll on the braai with sauce is normally ok. Let me know when you have russled up the boys.
Sue
Sue
- Air Hog
Hi Sue. I have posted this on our Forum, will see how many and let you know.Suesing wrote:Air Hog brilliant idea. You let me know when-this Saturday cool. The breakfast wont be as larney as what you guys do, but a boerie roll on the braai with sauce is normally ok. Let me know when you have russled up the boys.
Sue
Fabulous. Due to cash flow i will ask for a couple of bucks from each oke. ok?
- Air Hog
Hi Sue, we are not a bunch of freebies, obviously we will pay.Suesing wrote:Fabulous. Due to cash flow i will ask for a couple of bucks from each oke. ok?