Morph and Gadget's EPH rebuild

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: Morph and Gadget's EPH rebuild

Postby Boet » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:17 pm

Ek was laas Donderdag Dokter toe. Die het my afgeboek. Bronchitis. Hoes soos n Texan plain -roker, dat my 2 longe omtrent soos 2 vinkneste by my ore uithang. Dit het met n baie swaar verkoue begin, laas Maandag. So siek soos ek nou voel kan ek dit nie naby n vliegtuig waag nie. Nie maklik nie, want ons het die mees fantastiese vliegweer hier die laaste paar dae....... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Koevoet

Postby Koevoet » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:47 pm

Boet die foto 101_1810.jpg - is dit blomme tyd al of wat is die oranje teen die berg.
Nothing is impossible in life.
Very happy Scout Piloooot
http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/home ... p_activity

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:07 pm

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Nice, but wish it were mine... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby Boet » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:06 pm

Blomme tyd. Net jammer ek voel te bleddie siek om dit te gaan geniet.
19.08.06 Flowertjies 053.jpg
19.08.06 Flowertjies 053.jpg (73.74 KiB) Viewed 3491 times
IM004234.JPG
IM004234.JPG (84.15 KiB) Viewed 3492 times

Waar is die blerrie aerie nou?

Postby John Young » Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:53 am

Boet wrote:Net jammer ek voel te bleddie siek om dit te gaan geniet.
Hi Boet,

Hoopelik is jy nou weer gesond. !!!!

Waar is die blerrie aerie nou? vhpy vhpy

Hoe lees dit vir 'n stukkie dubble de-clutch van hierdie vervlakste engelman?

Groete
John ZU-sEXY

Postby John Boucher » Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:57 pm

Flowers... missing it again!

Next year it shall be for certain. I'll even get Jet Ranger and his softness to come with.....
Last edited by John Boucher on Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Boet » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:53 pm

Eph is sleeping at home tonight. Morph, Gadget, Grumpy and Skidmarks came to fetch. Last night we had a braai under the stars and an eclipse of the Moon. Good stuff, but they can tell you about that themselves!! vhpy
101_2037.JPG
101_2037.JPG (77.76 KiB) Viewed 3270 times
101_2035.JPG
101_2035.JPG (70.6 KiB) Viewed 3272 times
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:44 pm

It was a lovely day to fly her back. Well done!!

vhpy vhpy
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby John Boucher » Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:11 pm

You guys must be elated.....

I can't wait to get CXO in the air again. The aerial view of the countryside must be looking great!

Postby Morph » Mon Aug 18, 2008 11:18 am

Magic Carpet Ride. 8) 8) 8) So much so that my co-pilot forgot to take pictures. :roll:

The story starts on saturday morning, 7am, Morning Star, Gadget and I met up with Skid and Grumpy. We drove up to Loeries in Skid's softness' Mahindra. 8) The idea was to fly back same day. We arrived at about 12h00 and met Boet, at the airfield. Out came EPH and it was time for a test flight. I haven't flown for 8 months and was a bit apprehensive to say the least. Fortunately one of my mates, CFD from Morning Star was there and him being a BB pilot as well took me up for a checkride. That went well and I was quickly confident about my ability to fly and land the plane. By this time it was 2pm and the thermal activity was building. I was not keen on being bounced around the sky for 3 hours on the way back. Then we discovered that the radio/intecom was not working. So out that came and eventually I made the decision that it was too late to return to Morning Star so a stay over was required

Boet graciously offered to put us up in his house and laid on the most amazing braai, including hoender for Skid. Hoender it appears is rare, in Loeries, as all these corn fed boys are pure lamb and mutton carnivores. Anyway, Boet's softness managed to drag the owner of the Spar out of the bar to unlock and supply us with some feathered fare and some tooth brushes. Small towns :lol: :lol: 8)

In the meantime Gadget and I tried to sort out the intercom, that eventually solved, we discovered that plug from the intercom to the radio had a wire broken inside it and we could not key the radio. Boet came to the rescue by lending me a handheld that I plugged my headset into.

A lekker braai followed, lots of kak praat, the odd liquid refreshment was consumed and Grumpy, myself and Boet tickled the strings on a guitar for a while as well

Sunday morning bright and very breezy we arrived at the airfield. Plane was checked out, prop had been repitched the afternoon before and I took her for a test flight. We fueled her, loaded up Gadget with a headset to protect against the noise and me with the handheld and headset combo. I was very nervous, 240 Miles ahead of me over serious klippe. We discussed it and opted to head for the coast and fly via Saldanha. 5 minutes after take off all the nerves had dissapeard and we had a nice 20mph tailwind carrying us along at 105mph ground speed. We climbed to 6500 and headed for Lamberts bay. Once at the coast we routed south to Saldanha where we landed for coffee and to take on some fuel. flying time 1h40

I checked out the engine compartment and noticed a bracket for the radiator had cracked. We spent an hour making another bracket. I also saw I had lost a screw on the spinner, so removed it just in case. 1pm we took off and routed for Morning Star. 40 min later we landed safely. Needless to say Gadget and I punished the beer supply in the bar for a few hours unil Skid and Grumpy arrived by car.

Man it was absolutely lekker :lol: :lol: :lol:

I have attached a Google Earth file showing the route. I am trying to work out how to get te flight path in full 3D
1219045943-15902-196.7.9.2.kmz
(8.91 KiB) Downloaded 1176 times
P1010107.JPG
P1010107.JPG (55.44 KiB) Viewed 3174 times
P1010084.JPG
Going for checkout ride
P1010084.JPG (60.68 KiB) Viewed 3175 times
P1010071.JPG
Checking her out for the first time in 8 months, beautiful
P1010071.JPG (55.45 KiB) Viewed 3179 times

Postby Morph » Mon Aug 18, 2008 11:32 am

More pics
P1010120.JPG
Boet sorting out Skid's Hoender while Grumpy and Morph creating a disturbance of the peace
P1010120.JPG (68.18 KiB) Viewed 3172 times
P1010117.JPG
Gadget and Skid having a good time
P1010117.JPG (41.89 KiB) Viewed 3177 times
P1010110.JPG
Nthing in Loeries is ever wasted
P1010110.JPG (63.67 KiB) Viewed 3172 times

Postby Grumpy » Mon Aug 18, 2008 11:37 am

Great time was had by all. Thanks to Boet and sweetness for putting up with us.
Thanks Morph, Gadget and Skidmark.
Lets do it again soon!! xxx
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:17 pm

I am a bit disappointed in you guys.

Couldn't you get Boet to do a "flatty" or didn't you even try to convince him?? :lol: :lol:

Glad she's home morph!! (^^) (^^) It's about time!
Last edited by Wargames on Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
slysi

Postby slysi » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:23 pm

(^^) (^^)

Cheers Morph and Gadget, you must be thrilled to have your baby back. I wish you many happy, safe hours in her.

Simon
Student Pilot

Postby Tailspin » Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:26 pm

Well done guys. (^^) (^^)

Glad to see all made it Home ok.