Avid Flyer MK IV ZU-BJE

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: Avid Flyer MK IV ZU-BJE

Postby Boet » Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:12 am

Nico, looks fantastic.......like a Coke ad!! vhpy vhpy (^^) Just add some klippies.
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:08 pm

Hoiwzit Boet.

Hope you had a great Xmas and got some flying in.

BJE got her A to Fly the other day and today I spent doing a very thorough check and re-assembling of cowlings, the seat and odds and end left open/off for the inspection.

I then ran her up and taxied down the runway for a high speed.low fly test and a storm blew in, so I had her airborne for about 3 seconds, put her back and hangered her. We expect rain for most of tomorrow, maybe Thursday I will air her wings.

Some pics and definitely a large Klippies tonight.
Avid Flyer A toF 1.jpg
Avid Flyer A to F 3.jpg
Avid Flyer A to F 5.jpg
Avid Flyer A to F 7.jpg
Avid Flyer A to F 9.jpg
nico
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:32 pm

Nico wonderful she has a tailwheel and that is the most important. The issue of red or yellow is a personal taste. Many happy hours the Safari has its papers and is also a dream. Drill holes in the sky.

Cheers Oupa-G
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:06 pm

Thank you Frans.

I remember that she is a delight to fly. The 582 does not have the ooemph that the 912s or BMW plant has, but enough for 2 adults to cruise at about 80/85mph.

By proxy, red appears to be the most likely to sell, and sadly, either she or the LLV must go to make way for a Bearhawk project.

Happy flying to you as well with all your papers in order.
nico

Postby Boet » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:58 am

Sounds like u don`t really appreciate the rain any more. Please send all unwanted rain this way, we have a terrible drought developing here!! When u do fly it, enjoy and fly safe! She look stunning. Dig u`r paint job. May I copy? :mrgreen: (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) 8)
avgas

Postby avgas » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:34 pm

With that big rudder she must be a pussycat on the ground :wink:
She looks lovely. (^^)
Real men don't have to kill a Rhino for a Horn
Balls to the wall
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:06 pm

At Last, the right day, the right moment and frame of mind co-incided and I took BJE up for her first flight on Sunday morning.
Was'nt happy, landed immediately and adjusted her prop pitch finer by one degree, checked and adjusted the wash out on the left hand wing and took her up for a 15min flight which included two landing at panarama.

She now flew hands off, light and so super responsive, I'd even whisper that she flies better than my explorer, but dont tell Stefan.

The changes I made to her lower cowling to increase the cooling efficiency worked by about 5 to 8deg cooler, so I'm going to have to make some baffles to force the wasted air through the two little radiators.

I also experienced a coms problem. On the ground, a trike overhead gave me a 5/5 but I couldnt hear myself, and in the air I struggled to hear him.

I have a filser 600, is there anyone in Joburg who can help me sort out this gremlin.

Fly safe

Nico 083 376 one 1 five 3
Avid Flyer 030.jpg
nico
KFA

Postby KFA » Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:25 pm

Well done Nico..... nice job. (^^) (^^) The only reason your Explorer is so so is because I did not build it :roll: :roll: :wink: :wink:
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:13 pm

Thanks Stefan.

Thought your ears would prick :lol: I love my Explorer, just dont fly her enough :cry: , although that is changing with the cost of fuel.

Now that you are at Petit, I'll come and say hi. Are you there on weeekends?
nico

Postby Boet » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:34 pm

Mmm. Lekker windgat ne? Seker maar van my "How To" DVD af geleer bou. Sien maar baie van my idees in jou erries ook. ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
KFA

Postby KFA » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:41 pm

Still have to get in some sort of routine but should be there most of the time.
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:42 pm

Hello Boet. Daar is niks beter as n bietjie wind onder die gat, die hoer, die viniger, die beter :lol: .

Boet. This is a stock standard Avid and the wings were built in America with 75mm wash out. Only the dash is personalised and I wouldnt do it the same with my explorer experience behind me.
nico

Postby Boet » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:06 pm

Nico, perhaps we "pimped" `em a bit too much!! ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## :lol:
Pilot Dreamer
Looking at the sky

Postby Pilot Dreamer » Thu May 16, 2013 3:46 pm

That Avid came out beautifully ... well done and congrats.

If I may hijack quickly, what is this interesting looking project here?
Avid Flyer refurb 14 Factory built wings.jpg

Postby Tailspin » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:51 am

Pilot Dreamer wrote:That Avid came out beautifully ... well done and congrats.

If I may hijack quickly, what is this interesting looking project here?
Dreamer

That is a Project i already have a dabs on - It is a Spitty Kid - Long interesting Expensive story :!: