Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:25 pm

Anton's wings are safe and sound and will be moved to Grootfontein tomorrow. The weather for Saturday looks good so I will fly the Bosvark to Morning Star. I will see if there is a hangar for me it can stay at Morning Star for the guys to see. I will then take it back on Sunday. To all that are coming to the year end function I will see you there.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:50 am

Flew this morning the air was quiet and I could play with the static source, what is nice is that she is really a hands free aircraft totally stable and I could disconnect the static line at the wing root and see the difference, in cruise the difference is 15mph so it seems that the aerie is becoming a 100mph machine. When I get the prop with the real pitch and bite in the air I can see a honest 100mph.
I flew to Altona for the first out landing. I must say that so far I have not found any funny characteristics and I'm looking forward to the rest of the test flying. I'll fly her to Morning Star this afternoon.

Cheers Oupa-G
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:35 am

I saw this aerie at Morningstar last night.
WOW!! Beautiuful!! What a nice aerie!! It is big as well! vhpy
Well done Oupa G!!!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:22 pm

Dear Trikenut

It was nice meeting you once the 40 proving flight are finished I will take you for a flight. She flies as well as what she looks

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:42 pm

Late Saturday afternoon I visited Morning Star I flew back to Grootfontein and the air was so calm that I could compare the GPS speed with the IAS and it was wonderful to see that with the static source in the cabin the GPS and the IAS were the same I got in the excess of the magic 100mph. I also had exchanged the 3 bladed Arplast for a 2 bladed P-Prop 72X52 this prop is still under pitched for the engine gearbox combination. New prop blades are being made in the Czech Republic by Woodcomp I have sent them all the test flying results to date. If I Have tuned the prop and the airframe and the engine I hope to get the magic 100 kts for fast cruise at sea level. Due to FIFA we are banned from flying for this week and that for a sport that is not even every bodies sport. Why can FIFA make such demands? "I do not really understand this kind of autocratic monopolistic behaviour."

Cheers Oupa-G
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:31 am

Oupa-G wrote:Dear Trikenut

It was nice meeting you once the 40 proving flight are finished I will take you for a flight. She flies as well as what she looks

Cheers Oupa-G
That would be great!
If she flies as well as she looks... I am in for the best flight of my life! (^^) (^^) That is one nice looking plane! xxx
It is a lot bigger than the Explorer and Bushbaby. You can easily fit two proudly SA guys in that cockpit!
Nice to meet you as well.
Ross
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:00 pm

Oupa-G wrote: Why can FIFA make such demands? "I do not really understand this kind of autocratic monopolistic behaviour."
If they had systems in place which everybody knew would work, this would not have been a problem. But alas, I don't know what they are trying to achieve by this. If you want to bomb the stadium, you can still do it before the airforce** is in the air.

**Footnote on airforce: With what aircraft will they be trying to intercept an intruder. A chopper is not going catch anyone that has planned his attack correctly.

In anycase, my sentiments is the same as yours, oupa-G!!
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:37 pm

The other thing about the FIFA regulations is that the only aerie that will cover 50 miles in less than the time it takes for the airforce scramble a chopper is a jet or a really fast prop plane. Most of these need a long runway which = controlled airport. If the aircraft flies from a airfield/airport futher away, it would be visible on radar long before it got close. It would also have to file a flight plan, and if it strayed off that path, the authorities would be notified.
A zone that is, let's say, 15 miles away from the stadium is one thing, but 50 miles?? Especially for our little trikes. Not even Demon's ZU-KWK QuikR will get there that fast. ##

But anyway, I won't carry on typing....
Cheers,
Ross

Postby Morph » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:08 pm

Yesterday they were patrolling along the coastline over Blouberg with the Pilatus'

I have seen some video footage of a Pilatus tracking a drug smuggler in a Twin Engined plane and shooting it down over the South American Jungles. Not sure if ours are armed though
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:46 pm

Even if they are armed Morph, They must first learn to shoot .
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure

Postby Boet » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:17 pm

It`s a really really kak joke. :evil: You oke`s must maar move your aeries to the free republic of Namaqualand, and come fly here weekends. Big hangar can accomodate 5 to 6 folded BB`s. vhpy No socca shit here. :twisted:
German

Postby German » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:34 pm

Boet wrote:It`s a really really kak joke. :evil: You oke`s must maar move your aeries to the free republic of Namaqualand, and come fly here weekends. Big hangar can accomodate 5 to 6 folded BB`s. vhpy No socca shit here. :twisted:
Hier by ons ook vhpy vhpy
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:49 am

Boet wrote:It`s a really really kak joke. :evil: You oke`s must maar move your aeries to the free republic of Namaqualand, and come fly here weekends. Big hangar can accomodate 5 to 6 folded BB`s. vhpy No socca shit here. :twisted:
Don't rub it in Boet! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:06 pm

On a much more important note is that the Bosvark is really coming up to its expectations. It is a real 100mph aeroplane and I think with a little bit of tweaking the right prop that can be adjusted for take-off and cruise I may even be able to tweak a 100knots out of her . If I can get that at sea level it will be more then I'm expecting. I cannot get over the fact that this little aerie is most probably the easiest aircraft that I have flown. She is super docile and very stable in all planes and flies hands off. When I was fiddling with the static line connecting and disconnecting I flew her with just rudders. She is absolutely pitch stable . Once she is trimmed she holds altitude as if she is glued to the level. That still does not change my feeling about FIFA. Why did we not have such measures when the world-cup rugby was on and why must our defence force help to patrol the skies. We as tax payers pay for it and the profit made by FIFA with DRACONIAN business rules, ruling everything, it has a Mafiosi taste to it and in the end the profits leave our shores and we sit with the debt of housing this fiasco.

But the Bosvark flies well so I'm not going to complain. I got my # so will be filing flightplans for the weekend..

Cheers Oupa-G
68000 hits hard to believe.
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:39 pm

Had a call from the P-Prop team to say my new prop is on its way I have over pitched this prop and we will adjust it as necessary. I'm starting with a 74X58 Pieter assures me he can trim material off but he cannot ad. The WoodComp people from the Czech Republic are also making new blades so things are moving. During this week of no flying I have added a standby batt for the alternator and a small backup for the Voyager. These are minor changes that just refine the system. It is wonderful to fly and change from one system to the backup system not missing a beat. I'm also studying the MGL manual , it is quite a piece of avionics and needs a type rating to work and understand it. But what a privilege to think it is local, "local is lekker" As soon as I'm back in the air the data will flow again.

Cheers Oupa-G