Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:26 pm

The template was finally assembled and the picture of the whole template shows the width of the gear and wheels is the width of my Cruiser that makes any "spoor" in the veld a possible spot to land at least in an emergency. I'm also showing the pin that centres the template on the steel section that will become the final gear-leg. So I'm ready to roll. Meanwhile waiting in anticipation. Had Colette come back to me regarding the test pilot application I downloaded the relevant forms and gave them the summary of my logbook but CAA wants another two forms filled in that are not on the website. So Van Zyl Aviation promptly got the forms and sent them to me . I'm trying to be such a good law abiding Citizen I pay all my taxes but the system is trying to get me down but I will not surrender.
Enjoy the pics

Cheers Oupa-G
Geartemplate4.jpg
Geartemplate5.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:42 pm

I had a call from Derek who has the Whisper with the BMW engine. They are at the taxiing stage and have a slight oil leak. I took some photo's of the connections of the Bosvark. I machined the fitting and cut a thread in the fitting and then used a banjo fitting. All pipes were properly crimped.

Cheers Oupa-G
oilpipe.jpg
oilpipe1.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:55 pm

I went to my friendly spring bender temperer and annealer. He immediately said die veer moet mos "flush" pas. So sometime next week I will have the gear for Safari I and Safari II . CAA asked for the operating manual and I could produce the draft copy final version after the test flying I hope the penny drops. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I can test fly at least on a restricted permit I will be happy with an initial weight limitation of 550kgs till the load test is finished. I really cannot wait till the load test is done. I'm preparing for the prop pull test to-morrow.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:42 am

Went to Vredendal last night with the Red X did a car light landing to pick up a patient involved in a car accident . It is always wonderful to see from a medical point of view how lovely and caring the para-medics transfer and parcel a patient for transfer. These young people have been trained well and what a wonderful addition to our society. The night was crystal clear and I could see Cape Town International's lights 100 nautical miles out at Level 160. Got into bed at 3'O clock. Today I have to measure the correct dimensions of the Bosvark for CAA they also wanted to have a copy of the handbook I have given them my preliminary Copy. I wrote it to JAR 23 standards I hope they are running out of questions. I can only finish the handbook after flying the Bosvark. I also hope that the end of the questions and the end of my patience are at the same time. I'm becoming slowly very gatvol. Together with the well know Loeriesfontein effort of this project and the Durbanville effort of this project, we managed to build this #1 prototype of the Safari in One year, we cannot spend months on paperwork. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Cheers Oupa-G
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:49 pm

Vasbyt Oupa-G!
Nottaquitta
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:21 pm

Mogas I went this afternoon and took the precise measurements of the Safari for the spec sheet for CAA. When they ask I give.

Cheers Oupa-G
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:16 pm

Ya Oupa, they say you must eat an elephant one bite at a time!
Sounds to me like you must be ready for chicken or beef by now ##
Thank you for all your patience and hard work.
Your best reward will be many hours of fun in the first of many Safaris.
Meanwhile I have a couple of days off in Shenzen, China. Using the time to plan a more useable Cof G envelope and increased baggage capacity on the new 600kg Explorer (ties in with the upcoming load tests), More on that in our own factory thread when we have the data.
Mogas
Nottaquitta
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:38 pm

This is ridiculous. Is the whole process slow becuase of the BMW engine setup?. Surely there must be other explorers on the register?.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby Boet » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:44 pm

No, it is slow because it is first of type. :( :( :( :(
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:51 pm

Eish didn't realise this is the first safari on the register. I thought there were several out there flying already. My mistake. Oh well - in the computer indusrty we call being on the front edge of development Bleeding edge - guess this is it for flying then.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:39 pm

Stephan the Bosvark is the very first Safari the cabin is bigger in all three dimensions we added the spring-steel gear and the BMW motor. It is a variation of the original Bushbaby and should from a paperwork point of view be reasonably simple. With all the mods they go through the whole check-list as per JAR23 rules and that is a long list relevant and irrelevant. You cannot expect somebody in an office that has never worked on an aircraft let alone build one , to really understand. They must cover their backsides and see to it that from a bureaucratic point of view everything is correct. I do not mind this that the documentation is correct and it will help Safari builders in the future. But when you sit with a plane ready to fly and test fly then the clock ticks over ever so slowly.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:33 am

Die pampiere is nou AAAAAAAAmper da. ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## movit fkkit
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:09 pm

I'm waiting . Have had so much tragedy in my practice, and in perspective moaning about papers is like moaning with a loaf of bread under my arm. So the papers cannot stay away for ever the easiest is to just wait. Meanwhile the under carriage is being worked on and I have put some wires inside the cowl so that I can disconnect the recognition lights with one plug. The attach points are carbon fibre tubes stuck on with epoxi, I use the same method for the brake pipes on the spring steel gear, there are some photo's some where else on this site.Was given a 72X52 de Necker prop with yellow spinner by Paul van As. So the test flying will be interesting. Applied for my test pilot rating got all the forms of the net filled them in but was then told there are another two forms to be filled in which are not on the net,so another SpeedServices envelope to Van Zyl Aviation and so we plod on. Microlight meeting tonight Mike and James are there from Sling fame and RAASA and it is the AGM.

Enjoy the pics

Cheers Oupa-G
Prop1.jpg
Recoglight1.jpg
Recoglight2.jpg
Recoglight3.jpg
German

Postby German » Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:58 pm

Sterkte Oupa!
MYR

Postby MYR » Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:12 pm

Where do you buy these little doors ?
I remember you said it is in Capetown.
What's the name of this shop ? Has it a website ?
I'm a French speaking person. Sorry for the mistakes I can make.
If you don't understand what I say, do not hesitate to tell me.

Je fréquente aussi le forum : Le forum des ULM-ELA-LSA