Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:49 pm

Spent time yesterday chasing parts . Waiting for spares is going to be to time consuming and I'm going to put my spare GS1200 engine in and then I will not loose to much time. The RT engine I'm now going to convert to GS specs that lowers the compression ratio from 12 to 11:1. Should then be less prone to detonation. Mean while we will not be running dual spark at high power settings. We are running our 1200GS trike like that and we have had no problems.Running twin spark at high power upsets the combustion. Meanwhile I have been fitting radio's wiring etc and essentially the aircraft is finished. The brakes work very well. I'm dying to put the wings and engine on so that I can take the foto's and complete the paperwork. I see that we have passed the 40,000 mark. Vliegvark has found all the necessary parts so it won't be long before we are up and running. My trip to Botswana will interfere with the flow. But those trips also have to be done, after all somebody has got to do it. But Boet will keep you going on the technical side after all he started this site.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Thu Jul 16, 2009 1:24 pm

Hi Oupa, slaapplekke is ge-organize. Wat is julle ETA vir die grote stad FALFTN ?? vhpy
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:42 pm

In Loeriesfontein hotel having a good time with Boet will see him on the way back and will plan the final finishing of the Bosvark. The cowling is stunning so when I come back the final stretch will be done .

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:13 pm

Just a picture caught flying between Loeriesfontein and Aughrabies Boet's Turbi in front and the venerable Vansin and Oupa-G. I had a wonderful trip along the Orange river. The Vansin purred and it was very relaxing. I was accompanied by a Tri-Pacer and a CTSW flown by Sean Curran and Charl Starke respectively. We arrived home all safe and sound. I'm going to start to work on the Bosvarkie tomorrow and swap engines. Will keep you all updated.

Cheers Oupa-G
Vansin and Turbi.jpg
MYR

Postby MYR » Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:26 pm

Oupa-G wrote:(...) damage to the pistons. Luckily no holes (...)
Hello,
What do the pistons look like now ? Some pictures ?
Thanks.
I'm a French speaking person. Sorry for the mistakes I can make.
If you don't understand what I say, do not hesitate to tell me.

Je fréquente aussi le forum : Le forum des ULM-ELA-LSA
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:44 am

Dear Myr I'm swapping the engine today and will take pictures of the new engine the timing marks and all the detail. You have been of the air for a long time. The reason for our detonation was two fold .We were running 12:1 compression ration with both systems sparking. For that high compression ratio we should retard the timing and I was running the GS advance. I was over eager to see the full power it was tremendous it pulled the prop over 7000rpm and I had to bring in courser pitch. But short lived she detonated and within 3seconds she created lots of expenses for me. I'm swapping the engine because I'm going to open up the other engine to check for any damage further down like the connecting rods etc. I'm also changing the engine to GS specs that is a change of pistons and camshafts. But this weekend I'm going to tune the high power on the new engine. I will keep you posted.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:22 pm

Back from holiday today I jumped in changing the engine first I'm showing the top of the piston the skirt above the ring broke off. I decided to change the engine not to slow down the Bosvarkie. Later I will inspect the engine completely before it is put into my Trike. It was very easy changing because all the wires and fuel lines pass through the top baffle so all the piping and the wires were disconnected the engine removed it is only hanging on two through bolts. The new engine was hung everything connected and by late afternoon the new engine started ready for the weekend high power tuning, this time I will tune gently and from the bottom power range up. I have put nice marks on the crankshaft so that I can check the timing advance with the timing light. I see the visits are passed 41000 I hope you enjoy the pics.

Cheers Oupa-G
Change Engine.jpg
Piston top
Change Engine1.jpg
Disconnecting all vital connections
Change Engine2.jpg
Everything folded back
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:38 pm

Some more pictures it shows the engine mount and then the new engine in place. It started immediately because all lines were still full and primed from the previous running. Also a picture of the timing marks.

Cheers Oupa-G
Change Engine3.jpg
Engine mount bare
Change Engine4.jpg
New engine in place
Change Engine5.jpg
Timing marks
Shaun74
Pre flight checks done

Postby Shaun74 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:58 pm

Hello Oupa G . I have been following this build from the beginning. It has been incredibly interesting and imformative. I have also loved the humorous quotes from boet. It has been a blast following your progress and found myself not been able to wait for the next entry.
I live in the Durbanville area and would really be hounoured to meet you guys at take a look at the celeb aircraft. It is absolutely beautiful so far. I really love the panel and instumentation that you have installed.

If at all possible it would really be great to meet you guys sometime.

Thanks
Shaun
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:47 pm

Dear Shaun74

Please feel welcome to visit me I'm at home all evening and during the weekend my # is owe eight four nine seven five triple three one. I'm working on the Bosvarkie this evening. I have just bought an electronic pull scale to measure the static thrust. That will help with the tuning. After my detonation escapade I will retard the timing and then advance it till I get maximum thrust. It is difficult to judge otherwise. Detonation is definitely something to prevent. Ask me.

Cheers Oupa-G
Shaun74
Pre flight checks done

Postby Shaun74 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:06 pm

Oupa G you are a star. Will give you a call on the weekend to see if i can make a turn.
Much appreciated

Thanks
Shaun
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:57 pm

The panel is painted and is going back this evening. Base coat gray and matt finish poly-urethane clear coat to make it more wearable. Will post pics later.

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:03 pm

While Mike and James are flying ZU-TAF to America and further around the world, I plodded along in the workshop cable tying the loom and heat shrinking various bits and ends , installed the Voyager now for keeps no more taking out and fitting the Icom 210 was fitted with the already finished loom as well as the King KT76 transponder the wiring was made such that the transponder gets the altitude information from the Voyager. This instrument from MGL designed by our own brilliant Rainier Lamers , is flying at the moment in ZU-TAF and it also flew with Chalkie Stobbard to England and back. Isn't this NTCA movement stunning and the innovation is just mind boggling. What exciting times do we live in. The cross pollination of knowledge and to think it all has just started. Today I also with the help of Ystervark7 accurately measured TDC to make sure that the Eboxi is getting the correct info from the crank sensors. We have checked the actual firing point of both sensors and the correct polarity. A swapped polarity makes a 3 degree difference. After my last episode I leave nothing to chance. Then we ran the engine and set the box to Zero degrees and checked both ignition systems with the timing light. I'm now happy that the info is 100% correct. Also connected the Pitot,Static and the Angle of Attack lines and fitted the fuel drain on the header tank.

Just a few pics, I'm tired and of to bed.

Cheers Oupa-G
New Panel1.jpg
New Panel.jpg

Postby Boet » Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:53 am

lekker GROOT Tee Vee. :wink:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:19 am

I have to be ready for 2010 because I'm not standing in any line to buy tickets so I will watch it on theVoyager big screen. This weekend been very busy. Put the baffles back and did some more wiring and generally making the wiring neat . In the process heat shrinking is part of the day's activity. I got so gatvol that I made a plan with the heat shrink the photo is self explanatory. All I can say the system works. Also made some access openings for the maintenance of the lower spark plugs in the baffles.

During the high power runs and on idling we are experiencing irregular fuel flows. Ystervark and Vliegvark and myself had long serious discussions about this and again flying our two trikes again this afternoon without any problems , we are sure that the header tank which does not have any baffles in it to prevent vortex formation is the culprit, it is quite possible that vortex formation is taking place and hence the irregular fuel flow. A new tank will be made with the necessary baffles. One must remember that the actual flow through the tank is in the region of 80 to 100 L per hour. This was of course Ystervark's brilliant suggestion, he has these lateral type of thoughts buzzing in his head. With the out flow and inflow that is a dynamic flow . So it is a never ending story but we will get to the bottom of it. It is always a blessing if these things happen on the lawn and not in the air .

Ground running is soooooh important. I see the hits have now passed 42000 Thanks guys for the response. We will keep the news flowing .

Tired of to bed.

Cheers Oupa-G
Baffle1.jpg
Heatshrink.jpg