Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Wallaby

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Wallaby » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:55 pm

Boet, I'm a very generous oukie, but unfortunately you are just a bit to late. I've been very generous to gAbsa and they are not giving back any of the generous donations I gave them (**) (**) (**) . Sorry Bud :roll: :roll: :roll: , wish there was any left, then I would give you muscles for your wings.

I can always sit next to the main road and wait for some BMW biker to come along and stick a stick in his spokes and after all the dust settle and him off to the hospital, I can get you that engine :? :? :? :(> :(> .
Life- I did it my way.....
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:54 pm

The site is cooking Ystervark is giving very good info on the wires etc. Boet is giving his experience, the electronic media is fantastic , and we can share this knowledge around the world. What an exciting time we live in. On the Bosvark front today I fitted a tapered shim . I had worked out the thickness of the shim and the taper . Then I took a piece of aluminium 1.5mm thick stuck it onto a thick piece of metal and then machined it with my milling machine. Once finished milling I could easily separate it with my pocket knife . The shim was fitted and the wheel alignment worked out .5degree per wheel. Also I received the only analog instrument the ASI. Included is also a slight mod to the baffle it was positioned further down to clear the landing light. Then this month I had my fair share of unplanned maintenance. My Isuzu bakkie at 250000k's broke a bearing in the gearbox. Luckily I got all the parts and this weekend the puzzle will be packed. It interferes with the Bosvark. The long weekend is very welcome . Enclosed some pics.

Cheers Oupa-G
ASI.jpg
Baffle.jpg
Puzzle.jpg
Cloud Warrior

Postby Cloud Warrior » Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:16 am

Those are nice switches OG. Where did you find them please?

Sebastian
Solowings Aquilla
32-4817
White Gum Farm, Western Australia
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:04 pm

Cloud Warrior

They are switches as well as circuit breakers it simplifies installation and wiring. From an operational point of view if a circuit trips you see it on the switch. You can only get 5 amps and 7.5 amps that is all that Republic Air Parts in Pta have in stock. The 2.25" Airspeed indicater is an UME instrument and is the backup of the Voyager also from RAP If you talk to Aubrey or Wimpie they are very helpful. I'm at the moment in bed with flue and hope to shake it of must have gotten it from Boet over the telephone when I was last talking to him. With everything I want to do this coming weekend the flue is not allowed to interfere with Hobbies. So no photies tonight .

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:37 am

This is the 'Clinton flu". It does not let go before it has you in bed. Sorry to hear Oupa. I have been trying my best to shake it of for the last 5 weeks, but it is still there. So keep on hoping, and keep on blowing, and eventually it is going to leave you, blow by blow. Have a nice day, I am flying to Carnarvon this morning. vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Boet » Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:34 pm

I was away for the weekend. made it to the Carnarvon fly-in.......eventually. Weather was crap, but the good company more than compensated for the lack of good flying weather. Oupa out of bed yet? vhpy
100_4915.jpg
100_4915.jpg (48.24 KiB) Viewed 2337 times
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:10 pm

My flue disappeared and my weekend was very productive. Installed my new X-ray machine , rebuilt the new cyl head for the cruiser and received back the turbo and injectors, and did some serious fine tuning of the Eboxi. I enclose a picture of the cyl head with all the roller cam-followers. Lycoming is making such a fuss about this and in the automotive industry it is old head it is also not racing technology but just good modern engineering. Also just a glimpse from one of the tuning pages . The fine tuning helps when Ystervark is there I call the shots if we are rich or lean and he hits the key-board. The engine is really smooth now and she idles with the prop standing tjoep-stil. Again just some foties

Cheers Oupa-G
Cyl Head.jpg
Eboxi1406092.jpg

Postby Boet » Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:42 pm

Oupa`s flue could not keep up with him as he is too busy for it to be able too keep up, so it flew away. Jyst spoke to him, and he is just as sprightly as ever. Me still blowing and hoping. Sadly, Oupa`s friend and helper, "Skroef" passed on on friday. He would still have painted the stripes on Oupa`s cowling. now it will have to come back here. A lot of questions was asked at Carnarvon fly-in, about the Bee Em aero engine. There are LOTS of guys out there interested.....My Monday started off rather busy, and it seems like I will have to have my finger out for the rest of the week! lots of progress have now been made with Bos-ot no2. Enjoy! vhpy
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:01 pm

Oupa-g - quick question. The numbers on the tuning screen represent what?. Some systems use milliseconds open - some systems use a reference numeber that you can calculate back to a millisecond value. The system I normally use is based on the reference count number and I don't really care about the millisecond value as such. That system uses values from 1 to 999 and I'm just trying to relate the fairly big counts you show.
Then I'm used to a tuning map of 16 x 16 size so this one is rather bigger in step between - does it extrapolate between cells?.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
Spool-Up
Heard about flying

Postby Spool-Up » Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:00 pm

Hi Team,

I'm planning on starting a Safari project by January next year, if not sooner. This thread provides superb info and insight to the process.. Thanks to all for the inputs.

My plan:

Safari
Basic analogue panel
High floatation gear
120 - 160 hp engine.. (closer to 120 than 160 probably) ... W&B will determine the choice
Extended capacity fuel tanks (150l)
Three axis trim system (manual)
Flapless wing (see next point)
Possible wing redesign to eliminate the flaperons, and replace them with differential Frieze type ailerons (careful work required here)
120 - 135 mph cruise at 75% power
Less emphasis on STOL and more on a generally useable utility type light aircraft with a T/Off roll of about 350 m at MTOW, landing roll - similar
Possible bagage access door, or modified / extended door on one side (or on top?) to accommodate baggage area access (to easily place a big Delsey suitcase).

The projects on this thread look really super and I'm paying a lot of attention to the detail! Thanks for your effort & time.

Fly well all!

Rich
Speed, energy state, eyes outside, and well-aligned three-pointer touch downs.... That's it!
KFA

Postby KFA » Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:05 pm

Howzit Richard, welcome.
ystervark7

Postby ystervark7 » Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:59 pm

Stephan van Tonder wrote:Oupa-g - quick question. The numbers on the tuning screen represent what?. Some systems use milliseconds open - some systems use a reference numeber that you can calculate back to a millisecond value. The system I normally use is based on the reference count number and I don't really care about the millisecond value as such. That system uses values from 1 to 999 and I'm just trying to relate the fairly big counts you show.
Then I'm used to a tuning map of 16 x 16 size so this one is rather bigger in step between - does it extrapolate between cells?.
The number represent micro seconds. You can divide by 1000 to get milliseconds. (It can also display the values as a % of 'fully open' which is about 8000 micro seconds)
The table size is 8 x 8 and you can adjust where you want the table limits and intervals to be. This should be adequate for this type of application. If you have a tuned exhaust and inlet manifold or a turbo the map is more nonlinear and you want finer control. These changes are mainly made to get more torque at low RPM.
The unit does not extrapolate, extrapolation is if you go out of the map range and it estimates the off map position based on the values in the map. If you go over the RPM limit the fuel is cut - this will protect your engine against over revving. It does do linear interpolation between values on the map.
extra300s

Postby extra300s » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:04 pm

Hi daar. Ek het oom skroef se trike gekoop by hom so rukkie terug. Wat het met hom gebeur? Hom so maand gelede gesien toe hy na sy trike kom kyk het. Wonderlike oom gewees. Rêrig n GROOT verlies die. Gaan sy glimlag erg mis. Karl Daschner
Take to the sky
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:54 pm

Skroef is laas vrydag aan 'n groot hart aanval oorlede. Het vanaand by sy vrou gekuier. Hy word nou Donderdag 2nm by die Durbanville memorial Park begrawe. Hy was 'n wonderlike man met baie goeie vakmanskap. Ons gaan hom almal mis

Cheers Oupa-G
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:50 am

Dear Spool-Up by the sounds of it you want to do so many modifications that you will end up with a Sportsman . Have you looked at the Sportsman, I did but you must first define what you want from the aircraft and then try and get a kit as close to your requirements as possible. Modifications eat up a lot of time an we do not have to much of that. If you get lots of fun out of the building then go for it. With the Bosvark we built something based on a proven design and refining it . However we will see once it flies. The french say "Better is the enemy of Good". Enjoy the public holiday.

Cheers Oupa-G