Morph and Gadget's EPH rebuild

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: Morph and Gadget's EPH rebuild

Postby Morph » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:08 pm

She will be honoured by being flown. perhaps inverted :wink: :lol: 8)
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:10 pm

Wargames wrote:
GR8-DAD wrote:En waar staan ons nou? Mag EPH gevlieg word na MStar of word sy getrailer? :? Morph, Gadget :?: :?:
GR8-DAD,

I think we must think of a bit of "straf dop" if she gets trailered back to Morningstar. Such a nice plane should be flown back. vhpy vhpy They must let us know, and we can do a salute when she gets there!!
Abso fo#$en lutely :!: :!: ....the Morph and I flew my BB back from Loeries end of 2006, wasn't a lekker trip, had a fuel leak and sniffing the sh!t the whole time in flight - wondering when we were going to go down in flames.....fortunately never happened :lol: :lol:

More serious, I'm not sure that they are allowed to legally fly it back - not sure the 40 hrs within 40 NM rule still apllies.... :?:

What is status Morph?
Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0

Postby Morph » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:13 pm

Nor just the fuel, but the fact that she wanted to roll left all the time

I have applied to CAA to ferry the baby back from Loeries to Morning Star. Dad you in to co pilot?
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:14 pm

Morph wrote:Nor just the fuel, but the fact that she wanted to roll left all the time

I have applied to CAA to ferry the baby back from Loeries to Moning Star. Dad you in to co pilot?
I am in!!!!!!!! must be over a weekend though!!!!!! I'll be honoured. :P

.......en solank die wiele (of iets anders) nie weer wil afkom nie.... :twisted: :twisted: :roll:
Last edited by GR8-DAD on Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morph » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:15 pm

completing the circle
KFA

Postby KFA » Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:13 pm

(^^) (^^) I know Morph can't wait

Postby Boet » Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:17 am

The last bits and pieces of "wreckage" has been painted. A day or 2 so it can dry properly, it is VERY cold out here, we can assemble everything, and go FLY!! vhpy
Rooi 1.JPG
Rooi 1.JPG (46.78 KiB) Viewed 2677 times
rooi 2.JPG
rooi 2.JPG (43.58 KiB) Viewed 2681 times

Postby Boet » Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:34 pm

Earlier today....... ve vil need ze peppes herr Morph? vhpy
I`m back!.JPG
I`m back!.JPG (65.46 KiB) Viewed 2506 times

Postby Morph » Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:09 pm

I am in love xxx
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:01 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Gadget

Postby Gadget » Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:19 am

Boeta, nou is dit sulke tyd, ek kry sommer trane in my navy blue eyes wat ek nie het nie.
If there is grass between your toes , you're flying to low.....
If ever in doubt about flying - drink a beer.
That will give you at least 8 hours to think about it some more.
ZU-EPH Bushbaby Explorer 912UL (Morph built)
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:27 am

Morphie, nou wanneer kom sy huis toe?

Postby Morph » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:19 am

Still waiting for Paperwork

In the meantime, While we are waiting Boet and I have discussed it and decided to make a modification to the front axle, to make it much stronger. The current axle is held in place by two 8mm bolts that pass through the fork and into the axle. Your weakpoints are the two bolts. Boet is now going to make a longer axle, and modify the fork, such that the axle extends through the fork and is bolted into place on either end to prevent it from sliding out. This way, the suspension now relies on a 15mm steel axles, rather than 2 8mm bolts.

There are two options to fasten the axle in place, either with bolts and washers inserted into either end, or by threading the ends, securing with nuts and split pins.
Revised BB Axle.jpg
Revised BB Axle.jpg (36.76 KiB) Viewed 2266 times
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:16 am

the 3rd option looks the best.
grostek

Postby grostek » Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:30 pm

Have a look at a Cessna 150 Nosewheel, its a 4130 steel pipe with Ali inserts on each end so that a long bolt can be inserted centalised and fastened with a castle nut and split pin.

Somewhat lighter than a solid shaft.

Kind regards,

Gunter Rostek