Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Boet » Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:37 am

Looking at the way those baffles fit, I think my cap is very safe. vhpy vhpy
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri May 01, 2009 9:46 pm

5 hits short of 26000 what a wonderful response. Today was not a good working day for me, spent most of the day in the operating theatre working on people that believe that cars and alcohol can mix but life and lamp poles prove them wrong. But they can sure spoil your day. So it will have to be to-morrow. It promises to be a nice morning and flying the Trike is on the cards. Every time I walk into the workshop the engine gets started cannot resist the lovely sound of the engine and silencer. I have started on the final panel it is ultra simple and is laid out with cockpit flow principle. That is the flow on the panel and cockpit is such that it resembles the flow of a check-list so actually you use your cockpit and flow as your check-list so the the switches and instruments are fitted as such. Once the panel is fitted I will elaborate on this a bit more. Sleep well

Cheers Oupa-G
tauruck
Looking at the sky

Postby tauruck » Sat May 02, 2009 4:09 am

Oupa-G wrote:ID of Safari #141
Oupa-G
I don't know who did the welding in this pic but BOET!!!! Do you call that a lekker weld?. Don't tell me it's ugly but it's strong.

Postby Boet » Sat May 02, 2009 1:06 pm

I think you must query Vliegvark about THAT one. I plead: NOT guilty your Honour. Then one could hardly call the number a structural member. Can we? :roll:

bloody nitpickers. :evil:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat May 02, 2009 6:58 pm

Dear Tauruck

I agree that that specific welding is not of a high standard but I'm enclosing structural welds in the two Safari's and you will have to agree that they are nice. I have some more welding pics on the Exhaust that are superb I also have some pics of the welding done by the Cessna factory and that would not pass our critical eye, we are aiming at a higher standard because we are free to do so under NTCA. But we like critical eyes and are always open for positive comments. And if it makes sense we will apply the suggestions.
Thanks

Oupa-G
weld.jpg
weld1.jpg
weld2.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue May 05, 2009 12:54 am

Thee long weekend went by in a flash between working and flying RedX coming back in the early morning 4'o clock flying an ILS close to minima's with fog blowing down our necks with the temp and dewpoint 13/13 C. in the Cape that means fog if it is a no wind night. A no sleep night sure destroys energy for doing anything the next day. Managed to replace the O-rings on the brakes of the Vansin with the help of a flying friend. Gunther is of smaller build then us and he did the difficult under panel work. The having to pump the brakes is gone and much more comfortable on a narrow strip. The filling of the system I do with a syringe from the bottom and that saves the tedious bleeding process. Had the panel remade to improve the cockpit flow, heavily inspired by the PC12 type of flow. On the very upper left the airspeed indicator, that is important during landing, your eye can look outside and with just a movement of the eye you can read the ASI. If you have to turn your head it is in the wrong place. I see many panels with superb workmanship but the poor ASI is sommer put anywhere. The switches are all of the breaker type except the master that also has a physical guard. On the right hand side are the 2 circuit breakers. One for the main system and the other to isolate the alternator. Enjoy the pics

Cheers Oupa-G
panelnew1.jpg
panelnew2.jpg
panelnew3.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Wed May 06, 2009 10:36 pm

Been busy now on the second harness for the backup system. The labeling of the harness is so important and luckily our in house "rocket scientist" came up with a good idea . He made the labels in duplicate and then each separate cable gets marked with two labels which have sticky backs and then the loom gets made to fit the aeroplane. Then the terminals can be crimped, in that way mistakes are eliminated. Before binding the loom all labels are cross checked. It also helps with tracking any faults later. Because we use Teflon wire and every wire is white identification is imperative. Friday I'm going on a short holiday the whole plane building team is coming along we are going on a trip from Luderitz to Walvis Bay and the Loeriesfontein branch will have to work on the Bosvark soap opera. Enjoy the pics of a budding Afro hairstyle.

Cheers Oupa-G
Loom2.jpg
Loom3.jpg
Loom4.jpg
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri May 08, 2009 7:47 am

http://www.henshaw-challenge.com/dnn/Fo ... fault.aspx This is the link to follow.

Last night I was at the departure of Chalkie Stobbard he is trying to better the record set in 1939 by Alex Henshaw. The link above follows his flight at present at the time of writing he is over Angola. We wish him all well and a speedy return to CT . Chalkie is a superb pilot using a NTCA aircraft to do the flight . What a wonderful country and time that we can enjoy this type of freedom. The professionalism that has gone into this project is wonderful. Thanks Chalkie and team for setting such a high standard. As I always say in NTCA we are free to set higher standards, they should be higher then what CAA require.
I enclose some pictures taken last night the link to the Bosvark is that Chalkie is using a MGL Voyager for his flight the same as on the panel of the Bosvark. Remember all made in South Africa and inspired by ingenuity, let us never loose this.

Enjoy the pics

Cheers Oupa-G
Chaulkie.jpg
The man himself
Chaulkie1.jpg
The aircraft
Chaulkie2.jpg
The Panel
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri May 08, 2009 11:58 pm

Presently in Loeriesfontein visiting Boet on my way to Namibia, following Chalkie's flight with admiration. Will hand over the page to Boet ,I saw Safari # 2 and it is beautiful but I will give Boet the honor to show it to you the owner Anton was speechless. Talk to you again in 10 days time. I also see that we have passed the 27000 mark on hits. What a wonderful reaction, thanks.

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Sun May 10, 2009 11:17 am

On saturday morning we had the whole team together. L to R : Otto, Jan, Oom Frans, Boet, Esteban and William. Oom says: NOT the A or B team: The SUPER team. Thanks Oom, we are priveleged to be part thereoff. (^^)
100_4606.jpg
100_4606.jpg (69.16 KiB) Viewed 3165 times

Postby Boet » Sun May 10, 2009 11:23 am

Anton saw his Safari with the cowl on for the first time. His smile said it all. He can`t wait!! Oupa and Vliegvark brought no 1`s cowl for finishing as well. we will have to haul arse, he wants it back by next weekend. Painted. vhpy
100_4588.JPG
100_4588.JPG (54.86 KiB) Viewed 3162 times
100_4589.JPG
100_4589.JPG (57.3 KiB) Viewed 3143 times
100_4591.JPG
100_4591.JPG (61.16 KiB) Viewed 3137 times

Postby Boet » Tue May 12, 2009 7:57 pm

Yesterday we tackled Oupa`s cowling tooth and nail. Plan to paint everything white tomorrow. Last week we amused ourselves by painting a Chally. Owner is an artist by trade so explain colour selection. Reg says it all: Ferkin Damn Nice. vhpy
100_4604.JPG
100_4604.JPG (59.79 KiB) Viewed 2882 times
100_4599.JPG
100_4599.JPG (78.08 KiB) Viewed 2892 times

Postby Boet » Thu May 14, 2009 5:13 pm

Yesterday morning I woke up, feeling very un-well. Went to Dr. Dr said to stay in bed or risk dubbel demonia or somfin. Gave anti-biotics pain pills and tackies gor my runny nose. GOING TO BED??? Sorry, no time to lie down. Sleep a bit later and knock off earlier. Staying out of the cold air helps somewhat, but right now my chest sounds like I swallowed a lot of rugby-ref whistles. We had another VERY busy week. Oupa`s bosvarkie`s cowls are painted, but I cannot do the final colour trim, because obviously I will need the rest of the plane for that. While the paint was drying we tackled two more BB`s that is in dire need of some TLC. Oupa and the rest of the "Super Team" is still in the Namib somewhere, hopefully NOT pushing Prado`s around. Anton`s Bos-Ot is getting its yellow trim sprayed on tomorrow. Weather willing. We have a big cold front coming in from the coast. so it seems flying is going to be out for the weekend anyway.
I hope Oupa will be happy with his 2 lights that we installed, using some tried and tested rain-gutter genuine aeroplane parts. :roll: vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
Bos ot ogies.JPG
Bos ot ogies.JPG (42.74 KiB) Viewed 2704 times
Good ol gutter parts to the rescue.JPG
Good ol gutter parts to the rescue.JPG (44.16 KiB) Viewed 2701 times
The top part of the bottom half.JPG
The top part of the bottom half.JPG (45.63 KiB) Viewed 2696 times

Postby Boet » Thu May 14, 2009 5:18 pm

The rest of the activities
Da stripes going on.JPG
Da stripes going on.JPG (65.44 KiB) Viewed 2694 times
Da shambles.JPG
Da shambles.JPG (80.3 KiB) Viewed 2705 times

Postby Boet » Sun May 17, 2009 7:25 pm

Just spoken to Oupa...... his Prado`s done a Land Rover on him....... :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Stuck in Helmeringhauzen, werever the hellmering that may be. Somewhere in the South of Namibia.