Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Moderator: Tailspin
Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Dear Wallaby
The undercarraige is custom made and the width of the track is the same as a bakkie spoor. Because of the gearbox the engine is a bit lower in the cowling. The cowling could have been a little shallower but the engine has a prominent sump as long as the airflow is laminar it should not give to much drag that is one of the reasons I made the oil cooler part of the baffling inside. I'm in Durbanville proper and closer to the time just give me a call.
Cheers Oupa-G
The undercarraige is custom made and the width of the track is the same as a bakkie spoor. Because of the gearbox the engine is a bit lower in the cowling. The cowling could have been a little shallower but the engine has a prominent sump as long as the airflow is laminar it should not give to much drag that is one of the reasons I made the oil cooler part of the baffling inside. I'm in Durbanville proper and closer to the time just give me a call.
Cheers Oupa-G
The plane is back from the hangar and the last push is now in full swing Otto is running round the workshop with wire and side-cutters making looms Vliegvark is tacking exhausts that were seriously eyeballed look "ma" no jig . The plan is coming together . MYR asked for foto's from the bottom of the cowling . They will be posted. The cowling for the oil cooler is in cardboard and we will change that into aluminium. The oil hoses are made one Banjo fitting on the one end and a Bullnose fitting on the other. When I go to bed I still read the MGL Odyssee manual on the wiring will have to get my brain into this.
Enjoy the photo's
Cheers Oupa-G
Enjoy the photo's
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Cowling outlet note position of silencer box
- Cowling.jpg (64.93 KiB) Viewed 3295 times
- Cowling parked level on the ground to give idea of size of opening
- Cowling1.jpg (56.01 KiB) Viewed 3297 times
- Exhaust on the right side still just tacked the whole system is quite difficult to fit and cut
- Exhaust.jpg (79.19 KiB) Viewed 3293 times
With my eyes in the back of my head I see Otto flauting part of the loom lots of wires and lots of labels All the wires are of the teflon coated type and the sensitive data carrying cables twisted pair and shielded. First the rest of the pic's and then the loom foto's.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Exhaust on the left hand side
- Exhaust1.jpg (76.7 KiB) Viewed 3282 times
- Just a picture of the cooler and the oil feed pipe Note the sturdy lip on the cooler to attach the cooler cowling
- Cooler.jpg (88.5 KiB) Viewed 3288 times
- The cowling of the oil cooler we are planning of no air escaping
- Cooler1.jpg (90.08 KiB) Viewed 3287 times
Caught in the action of watching cricket. You can see the concentration on Otto's face. All nicely labeled and ready for instalation wires will be supported by a carbon tube lets use all the nice modern materials. Enjoy the pics
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Otto watching cricket
- Loom.jpg (88.42 KiB) Viewed 3253 times
- All nicely labeled
- Loom1.jpg (67.54 KiB) Viewed 3251 times
At it full steam missed out on a few hours work fell asleep in front of TV. Continued tonight with the fuel system when everything is sorted out and the routing the fuel lines will be covered with heat shielding. All the lines will be clamped with stainless Oetiker clamps, I imported these clamps from Europe could not find an agent in SA maybe one of the readers can help me locate the supplier. I still have enough but running out can happen, these clamps are a once of use and they really do a smart secure job. I personally think small jubilee clamps should be banned out of aviation the bigger clamps I can still tolerate.
Just some pic's again
Cheers Oupa-G
Just some pic's again
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Return to header tank
- Fuel3.jpg (63.21 KiB) Viewed 3101 times
- Pipes through baffling with rpotrector sleeve heat shield cover will attach to the sleeve
- Fuel2.jpg (61.77 KiB) Viewed 3102 times
- Fuel pump with pre filter note just above the pump the return line through fire wall back to header tank
- Fuel1.jpg (69.74 KiB) Viewed 3104 times
Last edited by Oupa-G on Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mmmm. Ja, ek kan BESIG ken as ek hom sien!!
Ek loer so en sien nie te veel fote nie, BEHALWE. WAT MAAK DAAI VERDOMDE K@K GLASFILTER IN JOU ERROUPLYN????????
Gooi weg die bleddie ding. 

The offending bit. Help praat asb met die Oom........ 

- Attachments
- Fuel1.jpg (22.8 KiB) Viewed 2994 times
Nothing wrong with the USA glass filters:
Popcorn, deck chair, beer!

Nottaquitta
Thanks Mogas I agree I have used glass filters for many years there are cheap imitations you regcognize them by the glass the American ones have glass where the edges have been rounded of with a flame so the edges are round and fit well on the seal if however you work with waterpump pliers then the glass will brake , just as much as when you screw in a light bulb with a waterpump pliers. The other advantage is that I use the type that has 1/8" NPT fittings either side then I can screw in the the 6mm fitting on the one side and a 1/2" fitting on the other side and then I have a step up step down adaptor. I have enclosed photo's of all the seperate components. So I agree with Boet if it is a copy from the East dump it , If the filter fulfills the criteria use it gently they are easy to service and I clean the insert with ultrasonics. I use it as a pre-filter and you can see how much junk comes through despite careful fuel management. The pre-filter is very important in the close tolerence high pressure fuel pump. The slightest impurity can jam the pump no turning no pressure and then you will have to change to the backup system where you will get and new glass filter and pump etc.
That is of course if you have a dual Eboxi system.
I have taken the trouble to photograph the fine detail.
Cheers Oupa-G
That is of course if you have a dual Eboxi system.
I have taken the trouble to photograph the fine detail.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Fuel filter as adaptor from 1/2" to 6mm or vica verso
- Filter.jpg (33.99 KiB) Viewed 2905 times
- Note the rounded edges the glaas is also of superior quality then the fakes
- Filter1.jpg (31.28 KiB) Viewed 2906 times
- Note the arrow on the center shaft to make sure that assembly is correct the ends also say in and out so you have to be an absolute DoDo to get it wrong
- Filter2.jpg (38.22 KiB) Viewed 2905 times
Vir n Pre-filter sal ek liewer gaan vir die GUD petrol filter wat ebruik word op die Nissan 720 bakkie. Dis n lekker groot filter wat baie gunk sal opvang voor dit blok. Die glas filtertjie LYK mooi ja, MAAR hy het te n klein siffie en te min opvang area. Net n bietjie te veel gunk....... splutter sp[lutter..... halloooo real estate.. 

Die filter sal ons maar oor 'n vleisie moet gesels. Check net hier ! While I was operating this afternoon Vliegvark's fingers were itching I haven't seen him yet he was off to baseball, but the cooler cowling is absolutely magnificent no air molecules will escape from this box. And if we don't get enough cooling which I doubt we can always ad the scoop ontop of the cowling like a 58 Baron. If Beechcraft can do it so can we.
Enjoy the pics
Cheers Oupa-G
Enjoy the pics
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Coolercowling2.jpg (77.94 KiB) Viewed 2873 times
- Coolercowling1.jpg (93.9 KiB) Viewed 2876 times
- Coolercowling.jpg (89.91 KiB) Viewed 2879 times
It is more exciting as we go on the building blocks are falling together. With the oil cooler Baffle now in place the ducts which I had already sized and prepared now just fit like a glove and I could not help to quickly post these pictures as the hits are just one hand full short of 22000. I never realised that there would be such a demand for this kind of information . I pledge to give full honest reporting and once we are flying to have accurate speeds and weights etc. I find so often that the figures are cooked and that is of no interest to anybody. Thanks for 22000 hits enjoy the pics.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Airduct right
- Airduct.jpg (85.88 KiB) Viewed 2836 times
- Airduct left see how it run pssed the throttle body
- Airduct1.jpg (90.63 KiB) Viewed 2838 times
- airduct left
- Airduct2.jpg (83.82 KiB) Viewed 2835 times
I hit on this project and bam, I am the 22000nd hitter. Hope this number is lucky for me now, because I was drilling holes in aluminium just now and the 3mm drill bit broke and went through my left thumbnail and now I'm p#ssed-off, because this work order have to be finished on Friday and I can't work with only one hand.
Work safety? I guess there wasn't any tonight.
Cant wait to see this one fly Oupa-G.
Work safety? I guess there wasn't any tonight.
Cant wait to see this one fly Oupa-G.
Life- I did it my way.....
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw
The world is not enough!
- Manie Rossouw
The last thing I did tonight was to stabilise the top of the firewall this effects the cowling spinner alignement . The boot cowl has a stability effect on the sides of the cowling but the bootcowl is not fixed to the window this additional stiffener which is adjustable helps to align the most anterior tip of the cowl. if the engine mounts settle I can adjust the cowling.
The photo
Cheers Oupa-G
The photo
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Adjustable yacht fitting 316SS so won't affect the compass
- Firewall.jpg (67.72 KiB) Viewed 2788 times
My current favourite thread !
Oupa-G where does one procure the genuine fuel filter pse ?
cheers ian
Oupa-G where does one procure the genuine fuel filter pse ?
cheers ian