A trike is re born. ZU DBP

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Re: A trike is re born. ZU DBP

Postby Bundy » Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:43 am

HENNING JOHAN wrote:Bundy about the wing.What was damaged?How does the sail look?I know that the tubing had to bend.Are you going to buy or repair the wing?Good progress on your project! (^^)
Hi Johan, prob easier to tell you what wasnt damaged.... :roll: :lol:

From what we can see, the battons will be able to be used as well as the starboard side spreader bar, the control bar/pivot joints etc are still ok as well as the luff lines and landing cables. Everything else (tubing wise) is kaput.

The plan is to send the entire wing as is down to Solowings and get a price on the complete rebuild including a brand new wingsail and then weigh up the options from there. If the re build will cost more than R45K... then I am inclined to rather pay in the balance and get a brand new complete wing (R53000 :shock: ). The reason for this is that a rebuild will consist of old and new components....the wing is only as "new" as its oldest component? This is why if the price is close to the cost of a complete new wing then I would rather pay the extra and know we have 0 hrs on the wing (^^) The wing (as I see it) is the most criticle part of the trike, something I am not willing to take a chance on just to save a buck or two... :wink:

We have now ordered everything we need for the undercarriage assembly. I really need to get the bottom half rolling down the runway with the 582 mounted and the new propeller in. Once that is done we will know that all we need to do is fit a wing. (^^) Because of the cost, there is a good chance we will have to spend a month or two and wait until the budget is avalable for the new wing...gonna be a go kart driver for a while. :lol: Not too worried as I will be doing a bit of "advanced training" with Fanie and Mervyn at Skyriders in the interim, just to make sure I dont lose too much competency. 8)

Items replaced on the undercarriage include:

Boom
Pylon (new)
Drab struts (new)
Engineframe
Bowsprit (new)
Profile tube (new)
Axle tubes and axles (new)
Seat frame RHS (new)
Shock RHS (new)
Shock covers and front mud guard (new)
Hang plate assembly (new)
Front fork

There are a few other "aesthetic's" we still need, Air magic system, Vee rabbit needs a new "ear" but those are not critical at this juncture....Budget on the undercarriage repairs is R35k, but it looks like we will do the whole thing for slightly less (^^)

We are almost there and just waiting on a few things now. I am sure we can re assemble everything within a week or two after we get the necessary items....I now have a hugely improved understanding of the various components and how they all work together. It has been an expensive, but very educational experience so far. puff

Postby Bundy » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:59 am

Let me deviate slightly from the "build " here and just chat about a few things related...

I have been asked quite a few times why we are going to the cost of rebuilding when it is far cheaper to just buy another trike. It's a little complicated, so bear with me. :)

Firstly, I fell in love with DBP the first time I saw her. Since I got my licence, I started looking around at planes and after a few months, some horrible Crocodile farmer put this beauty up for sale.(He must have some strange obsession with the '70's because there is now a mobile disco ball in his hanger! :lol: ) Just kidding chom....she's a BEAUT xxx
The plane was (and still is) almost 100% the spec's I had set for myself in an Aquilla. It had the A2 wing, a banana pod (it's just a personal choice, I dont like the T pod), a colour scheme I could not have picked better myself and had low hrs and ran on pre mix (just makes more sense to me). The only thing I did not like was the Comm system (but let's not get too hung up on that, an easy item to upgrade anyway). So in essence, I found "my" perfect plane. I still believe we got a hell of a bargain on the price too.... thanks TC. (^^)

After the pain of the accident... Stef and I started looking around at options and to be honest, the Aquilla's we looked at were all 600hrs plus and at least 10 years old.We also did not find one Aquilla 2....only 1's. Although in good allround nick, there was always something we were not keen on in each case. Most of these machines are going for around R70k. So In my mind, you pay the bucks and you are in the air again...but...because of the age of the plane, very soon you will have to spend vast amounts on maintenance. Wing sails will perish (regardless of hrs), engines will need overhauling etc etc.... so at the end of the day, it really is not a "cheaper" option... and comes with a lot of uncertainties?

This rebuild is going to cost in the region of R80 to R90K total. So what do we get for the extra R20K expense?

Well, we get the same motor we had before (running like a dream and still has a lot of life in it), a 0 hrs prop....basically a brand new undercarriage...and a 0 hrs wing....in essence, we have a brand new plane with a 400hr motor (that we trust because we have been flying it! :wink: ), AND the plane is built to our exact specifications. (^^)

I really did try and find a useable plane (dust covered) that could be "raised from the dead" but at the end of the day, this was the right decision to rebuild the plane we know. I cant wait to roll on down that runway. (^^)

As I write this, I am staring out the window at a CAVOK sky, calm conditions.......eish....I know where I should be right now!!! haha. Fly safe you lucky buggers! (^^)

Postby Bundy » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:40 pm

Seats and Paniers got a good wash today. :)
seats.JPG

Postby Bundy » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:04 am

Pylon fairing and Bananapod are ready for collection....will post pics later... puff

Still waiting for the Solowings order to be sent....not too optimistic about getting it before the long weekend. :(

Uncle Hans! You must come back from holiday now....we've got work to do ## :lol:
Bulletjie

Postby Bulletjie » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:11 am

Bundy, you must fax your forms to MCFLY!! At the rate you are going, you will be ready for Zwartkops!!!!!!!
Dream more when you are awake!

Postby Bundy » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:14 am

:lol: I Wish!!!!

Postby Bundy » Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:46 am

Well, I expected some swearing throughout this process and there was a lot of it this morning.... :evil:

What a kak job this "spraypainting shop" did!

1: colour wrong by at least 2 shades....
2: They put the fairing down on a wooden table while the 2K was still wet....obvious result!
3: Orange peel and paint runs galore....

FFS??

"Politely" informed the gent that he may try again.... :evil:

BUNDY IS DIE MOER IN!!!!!
Loco

Postby Loco » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:03 pm

Eish sorry to hear man! :(

Hope they do a proper job next time - the mind boggles how they can even call you to tell you the stuff's ready when it's in such a shambles!?

They obviously have no pride in what they do...
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Tailspin » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:28 pm

Bundy wrote:Well, I expected some swearing throughout this process and there was a lot of it this morning.... :evil:

What a kak job this "spraypainting shop" did!

1: colour wrong by at least 2 shades....
2: They put the fairing down on a wooden table while the 2K was still wet....obvious result!
3: Orange peel and paint runs galore....

FFS??

"Politely" informed the gent that he may try again.... :evil:

BUNDY IS DIE MOER IN!!!!!

Now you know the answer to the question of "Why not let somebody do it for you?"
I do it myself and if it is a F#$% UP then i can smile and try again and feel even better when it turns out really good ## ##

Keep calm Dude, you can take it all in your stride. - One day at a time.

Postby Bundy » Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:31 pm

Had a Rum and Coke......feeling a bit better now ^

....we will get there........

......eventually. puff
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:00 pm

Bundy wrote:Pylon fairing and Bananapod are ready for collection....will post pics later... puff

Still waiting for the Solowings order to be sent....not too optimistic about getting it before the long weekend. :(

Uncle Hans! You must come back from holiday now....we've got work to do ## :lol:
Alan. Leave Hans alone. :) :) :) He is here in Port Edward, and being flying with me in my Savannah.
Vernon.

Postby Bundy » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:09 pm

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Bundy » Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:54 pm

Couldnt do much other than the Fuel Tank support bracket this weekend... still waiting for the rest.

3 coats grey primer...
asdfasdf.JPG
asdgfadfg.JPG
3 coats Black (satin)....good as new (^^)
kkrjdf.JPG
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:01 pm

Alan.
Your luck is in. Hans is leaving tomorrow.
Good luck with the rebuild.
Vernon.
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:08 pm

I hope we hear from Solowings this week. We need to get that prop as well. I think these holidays have also caused some delays. Once all the parts are here, it should go fast!! Can wait to get into the workshop with Bundy. He has been doing all the work so far!! (^^)
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP