Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Aircraft Projects Underway or Completed

Moderator: Tailspin

Oupa-G

Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI

Postby Oupa-G » Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:56 pm

Just for the Lycoming boffins watch this space when the Bosvark is finished the Lycoming is going to be the next engine on the block that will receive the full Eboxi mods with proper fuel injection and redundancy. A friend of mine had a recent Lycoming engine out in Gauteng he did a beautiful force landing out of the books but with a dual Eboxi system he would have flicked a switch and flown to a nearest suitable airfield. Just some thoughts for the new year.

Cheers Oupa-G
MICHIEL
Ready for the first flight

Postby MICHIEL » Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:07 pm

Eissh Oupa-G, wont you reconsider and rather start with a Jabiru convertion?? There is a great need to get rid of those Bings and I promise you long lines of customers...... :roll:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:33 am

The Jabiru is easy to do because it has a very good ignition system so the fuel must be done and that is reasonably easy. But I first want to finish the Bosvark.

We have fuel injected a 912S you won't believe how this has changed the engine . The Bing's are reasonably archaic.

Cheers Oupa-G
MYR

Postby MYR » Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:38 am

Oupa-G wrote:We have fuel injected a 912S you won't believe how this has changed the engine . The Bing's are reasonably archaic.Cheers Oupa-G
Hi
What about the consumption ?
I'm a French speaking person. Sorry for the mistakes I can make.
If you don't understand what I say, do not hesitate to tell me.

Je fréquente aussi le forum : Le forum des ULM-ELA-LSA
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:00 am

We fly these engines on the Trike's we are 4 trikes with the same configuration .Two have BMW engines on one is the first conversion the experimental one it is the 1100 S engine and then the 1200GS when we do a fast cruise all in loose formation the BMW do 12.5 liters/hour. The fuel injected 912S does 12.5 lit/hr and the Bing carb 912S does 15 liters/hr. Finally a well tuned fuel injected engine burns about 235grams of fuel per KW per hour so the fuel consumption will be directly related to the amount of power your airframe needs to fly succesfully. The best you can do is not waste fuel . You have a better chance not wasting fuel with injection then with a carburettor. You can only really get one optimum situation with a carb.
Enough said

Cheers Frans
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:30 am

Back from holiday with a few days to spare so over the weekend the fotos will flow got both props for Safari #141 and #142 for the serial # boffins my Safari "Bosvark" is serial#142 because My DTA trike is also #142 but #142 should be finished before #141 Just some useless information.

Happy and healthy 2009

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:45 pm

Last weekend of my holiday, Monday back to the salt-mines. vhpy
AndyCAP

Postby AndyCAP » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:00 pm

by Oupa-G on Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:45 pm

Andy Capp the Vansin is a one off in the whole wide world it was built by Carel van Aswegen in Plettenberg bay. First flew in 1978 . The original aircraft was bought by myself from Carel I saw the aircraft being built from scratch and always said if he stops flying I will buy the aircraft. I have done a lot of refinement on the original aeroplane this included moving the CoG forward by making the engine mount longer. I you see early foto's of the Vansin you can see the shorter nose.........
Thanks for the info oupa G! (sorry for the late reply - bit busy having a holiday!! :mrgreen: so surfing the net is not top of my priority list. Unfortunately I leave for the big smoke from Cape St Francis tomorrow. :( ) I really think the Vansin is an awesome looking errie with performance to match!

Good luck with the project for this new year! As an engineer it is clear to me that you guys are leaving nothing to chance and that your modifications and adaptation of the BMW engine has been carefully though through and engineered. It does not stop there though you are backing it up with full and thourough scientific testing. I cant help to look at the GS bikes with new eyes now. Cant wait to hear how it flies!!
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:07 pm

Here some of the promised photo's at the moment working out the details of the cooling this could only be done after I got the beautiful prop as the back plate of the spinner dominates the position of the cowling. Also note the ground clearance with the tail l;ifted. Ground clearance should also mean grass, ditch and those lovely little twisters that form below a prop when the prop turns on a gravel surface.

Happy viewing
Cheers Oupa-G
Prop1.jpg
sufficient ground clearance note tail is lifted in flying atttitude sufficient to clear Hansie
Prop1.jpg (96.4 KiB) Viewed 2575 times
Prop2.jpg
Spinner cowling clearance
Prop2.jpg (54.68 KiB) Viewed 2576 times
Prop3.jpg
The heart of the variable pitch prop
Prop3.jpg (76.35 KiB) Viewed 2577 times
Last edited by Oupa-G on Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:12 pm

Just some more pics
Oupa-G
Prop4.jpg
Plenty of space under cowling
Prop4.jpg (81.66 KiB) Viewed 2567 times
Prop5.jpg
Template of oil cooler will be placed and carried by engine mount and fire wall oil cooler will be custom made
Prop5.jpg (70.28 KiB) Viewed 2569 times
KFA

Postby KFA » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:13 pm

Baie mooi, kan nie wag nie. Vat nog so bietjie verlof. :lol:
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:22 pm

Stefan ek wil sommer ophou werk en net bou. Ek is so bly ek het 'n lekker hobby ek sie al die arme drommels wat my ouderdom is en net afgetree is.

Ek kan net sê ag'Shame"

Cheers Oupa-G

Postby Boet » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:39 pm

We have been VERY busy today. For the morning we built a set of wings AND finished up the cooling baffeling of the BMW engine. I can for the life of me, not EVER see this engine overheat. every bit of the wind blocked on top of the engine just HAS to go thru the cylinders and cool things down! vhpy vhpy vhpy
The hot side.JPG
The hot side.JPG (75.98 KiB) Viewed 2455 times
cooling 1.JPG
cooling 1.JPG (72.94 KiB) Viewed 2454 times
Cooling 2.JPG
Cooling 2.JPG (81.11 KiB) Viewed 2456 times

Postby Boet » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:44 pm

All the side top and bottom front baffle plates has been left oversize, so it can be trimmed down later to suit application. Incase you wondered about the "boxy" apearance. :oops: :wink:
cooling 3.JPG
This is the sump cooling part
cooling 3.JPG (73.7 KiB) Viewed 2450 times
cooling 4.JPG
cooling 4.JPG (82.52 KiB) Viewed 2449 times
cooling 5.JPG
cooling 5.JPG (75.29 KiB) Viewed 2452 times
mikeinPE

Postby mikeinPE » Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:16 pm

Oupa-G & boet this is looking VERY good. The workmanship is outstanding.

Oupa-G I was out at Grootfontein last Friday afternoon to look at tJonathan's XL in your hangar. I just received plans for mine & will scratchbuild. Shawn showed me the trikes with the BMW motors on as I havent yet decided which motor to use. My build will go rather slow so no rush. Have to say that what you do with the BMW motors have all my interest. Looks like the kind of setup that will work very well in a 60lXL. :P :P