Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Moderator: Tailspin
Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Have been tinkering in the evenings,fitting measuring fitting measuring etc Thanks to the lugs I had welded in the airframe, and the spacers were welded by Gerrie the quality of the weld shows. The final making of brackets and base plate was an enjoyable experience. If the paperwork does not get finished I will have to resort again to vertical taxiing and then fight the fight my patience is coming to an end. Luckily I do not carry hull insurance so that is a worry that I do not have. The servo's are ready to be fitted to the airframe , the control arms have been measured and completed. So tomorrow I will be busy . I will also be running the Banana boy's Explorer. Hope the wind behaves itself.Over the weekend I will make the harness and when that is finished I'm going to test the Autopilot. There are ground checks but the final check is the flight test. I've taken some photo's and I'm enclosing them.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Autopilot6.jpg (33.84 KiB) Viewed 3493 times
- Check Gerrie's welding
- Autopilot7.jpg (16.92 KiB) Viewed 3493 times
- Autopilot8.jpg (38.15 KiB) Viewed 3493 times
Made the loom twisted the wires always a good principal having twisted pairs. Final installation all screws with locktite , I'm showing the servo's installed. I was called away before I could do the final set-up but there was life in the servo's when I left. It is late night and a full week is lying ahead tomorrow. Just some pics.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- The loom with twisted wire pairs note the wire hook which I put into the drill to do the twisting
- Autopilot9.jpg (48.33 KiB) Viewed 3423 times
- Final servo installation
- Autopilot10.jpg (46.47 KiB) Viewed 3423 times
The installation of the autopilot is a bit of a learning curve luckily MGL is close by and the communication channels are wide open and my questions are valid and also help them in writing of the final instructions for installations. I have to tune my brain but luckily I'm busy with the NG(new generation)PC12 cockpit and the Odyssey in the Bosvark amazing how the same the systems are. It is very exciting to have grown up with crystal sets, valve radio's, LM radio, and now this amazing manipulation of electrons. I just hope that the CAA paperwork and the test flying of the autopilot can happen at the same time.
Cheers Oupa-G
There have been quite a few questions about the BMW in the Bushbaby Explorer and I have decided to show some pictures of the Explorer that Boet built. The engine mount is from Kitplanes for Africa. I asked Boet to bring the plane to Cape Town just so that we can check on the wiring and double check and do the final Tuning. This engine runs a smaller diameter prop due to the nose-wheel configuration the pitch however is slightly courser. Tonight I did the first proper runup and with full brakes on with two bricks in front of the main wheels she just wants to climb over everything. Boet is coming down some time next week and then he can test fly this little baby. The Explorer has all the CAA papers so nothing is stopping this aircraft from flying. I am recommending a few small changes to temp probes , but otherwise what a little beautiful aerie. I'm enclosing some foties.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Plain lekker panel
- Banana1.jpg (41.93 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
- Check this beautiful wiring
- Banana2.jpg (70.83 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
- Side view of engine installation Note baffling and oil cooler and nice exhaust
- Banana3.jpg (67.21 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
- Frontal view
- Banana4.jpg (60.62 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
- Engine fits the cowling without any bulges or blisters a very nice installation
- Banana5.jpg (54.25 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
- Stephan van Tonder
Wow again. What a beautifull install.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
This is install # 3 this is the Loeriesfontein version with a small guiding hand from Durbanville and the wire execution by Tommy from TOM-TOM, as we go along it is getting better and better.The base line is shaping itself, and the recipe is maturing. Factories build 30 prototypes before they start producing they have full-time testers etc.etc. With us it is done after hours weekend upstream against the CAA. That said I must thank Braam Hechter he promptly evaluated the handbook and it was approved. So one step further. The structure has been analysed in depth which in principal is very healthy it is just frustrating to be on the waiting side. My autopilot is in all preflight test are OK and now I'm making little things I had in my head like a refuelling system with which I can refuel without putting a can on the wing and with which I cannot over fuel. This standing on little steps and dragging a 25 liter can on top of the wing is not for me also my muscles start complaining. It is a problem if the brain does not realise that the supporting structure has some rust in it . Later tonight I will post some pics.
Cheers Oupa-G
Here is the refuelling system the model okes do a similar thing but I have not seen it on bigger aeries. The Bush-Baby with screw on top in the tank lends itself to make such a system. It has a quick connect fitting so that the replacement cap and fitting can screw on easily . The main pipe connect and the the over flow little pipe also serves as breather . The over flow pipe goes back into the refuelling can. The pump itself is a rotary pump still the best and quickest in the industry. By adjusting the length of the little pipe in the tank neck you can decide how far from the top of the neck you want to refuel no spillage, no stretched muscles. Now I can have a metal 200l drum on wheels which is definitely safer then plastic fuel cans. Now you see that waiting for CAA has its positive spin-off's .
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Refueler.jpg (34.09 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
- Refueler1.jpg (30.85 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
- Refueler2.jpg (59.79 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
- Refueller with overflow pipe
- Refueler3.jpg (52.99 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
- The quick connect O-ring
- Refueler4.jpg (46.05 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
Pasop net dat jy nie die tenk te veel presurize en hom dalk laat oop bars nie!! Die errie se pampiere moet nou bleddie vinnig kom, anders lyk hy later soos n PC 12!!! 

Boet jy is reg my brain is in overdrive and now I'm doing all little thing that you would normally postpone. I'm showing ZU-FHY that is the banana boy's aerie the Eboxi's are now tuned and I'm awaiting the Test pilot from Loeriesfontein to give it a go. The small programming problem on the Voyager is sorted out and now it is all go. I'm showing the Explorer ZU-FHY on the ramp during the test run at full power with full brakes against the bricks the tires skid on the cement and push the bricks forward. Boet I think you have a surprise coming. You must plan to do at least one circuit at Grootfontein because I want to see your face after landing. Today I had the Bosvark washed and polished, I switched on the autopilot rocked the wings and it was nice seeing the stick move trying to keep the wings steady. "I need the piece of paper" just as much as kids need red jelly at a party. Luckily there was an East wind blowing and where we are that is a no no to fly, the temptation is killing me and I do not want to die yet.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- ZU-FHY
- FHY.jpg (38.18 KiB) Viewed 3011 times
- KFA
Looking Good there Oupa G. You know your plane is close to type accepted when the weight of the paperwork exceeds the weight of the plane. Hang in there, only 1 tree to go before you fly

Got up early and checked the autopilot is very good and very sensitive will reduce the mechanical leverage on the arm by setting the hole one closer to the axle of the arm . Also refuelled will have to make the breather pipe bigger, the pump is so effective that I'm pumping fuel in quicker then what the breather can handle. Otherwise it is a very nice and easy system to work. The Bosvark is ready to go OH paperwork please hurry up.
Cheers Oupa-G
Hi Oupa-G
While we are waiting for da paperwork of da Safari, just an off-topic question or two about the Vansin.
Can you enter the "office" from both sides of the fuse?
Was this a once off build?
Any other flying examples or half completed you know off?
May we at some stage browse at some more detailed or closer pics of this beauty?
Truely looks like an awesome plane to fly.
Johan
While we are waiting for da paperwork of da Safari, just an off-topic question or two about the Vansin.
May we at some stage browse at some more detailed or closer pics of this beauty?
Johan
Last edited by JOLO on Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Second that, pleaseJOLO wrote:Hi Oupa-G
While we are waiting for da paperwork of da Safari, just a off-topic question or two about the Vansin.
Johan

Flying feeds the soul!
Jolo I'm having a hard time eating crayfish but back at the office I will do some detail on the Vansin
Cheers Oupa-G
Thanks and much appreciated in advance. I can only immagine how difficultOupa-G wrote:Jolo I'm having a hard time eating crayfish but back at the office I will do some detail on the Vansin
Cheers Oupa-G