NORTH / SOUTH 2013 @ DOUGLAS - 20 to 23 SEPTEMBER

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Condor, FO Gyro, Gyronaut

mak

Re: NORTH / SOUTH 2013 @ DOUGLAS - 20 to 23 SEPTEMBER

Postby mak » Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:41 pm

We have communicated some important information to everyone that indicated to us that they will be attending this event. If you did not receive it or only now decided to attend, please send me a PM with your e-mail address so I can forward you all the relevant information.

To all of you attending, please have a safe and enjoyable flight. There will be a cold one waiting.
www.altairaviation.co.za
HOME OF XENON & ZEN GYROCOPTER
Tinkerbell

Postby Tinkerbell » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:53 am

Can't wait to leave tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing all of you again. Safe trip!
The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it.
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
http://www.altairaviation.co.za
THI

Postby THI » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:56 am

Tinkerbell wrote:Can't wait to leave tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing all of you again. Safe trip!
Praat jy! Ek is self lus vir ontspanning. Ons ry deur DV Vrydag! Die vrou en kinders pas ongelukkig nie in die gyro nie vhpy
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:13 pm

Damn weather sometimes...

The Cape is clampers and nobody is going anywhere around here for the next few days.

Sorry about that but we will have to give this one a miss.

Johan/Flynote, ek dog jy het kontakte... Eish, lyk my nie so nie. :-(

Volgende keer....

Geniet dit verskriklik.

Len & Cx
mak

Postby mak » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:55 pm

First gyros in
IMG_2013091944618.jpg
Tinkerbell landing
IMG_2013091944995.jpg
Centugyro & Co safely on the ground
www.altairaviation.co.za
THI

Postby THI » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:34 am

So who was there??

I WAS!! :lol:

What a great weekend! It was great seeing everybody again. The weather improved as time went by as well. Pity I drove in...

Thanks Mak (Marius) and the team for all the arrangements.

Now for the next one!

Mmmm...I can hear waves break...just a thought...

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:44 pm

Where are the photo's?

For those of us who couldn't make it due to unforseen circumstances, please be so kind as to share your photo's with us!

:mrgreen:
mak

Postby mak » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:42 pm

Unfortunately the internet connection at Douglas was very slow and we couldn't update or upload photos over the weekend. I hope everyone that attended had as an enjoyable time as I did. The weather kept quite a few people away, but a lot of people changed plans and made alternative arrangement to get there.
We had 20 gyros that weathered the storms to get there and a total of 35 gyro pilots that attended.
These wonderful machines that we fly once again proved their worth when people landed in 40 knot wind on Thursday, fortunately almost on the nose and with 25 to 30 knot full cross wind on Friday.
Congratulations to the following people that received these awards:
Len Klopper for the Sean Klopper Airmanship Award
Tom van der Meulen for the Christa Vorster Noteworthy Achievement Award
Vic Venter, Theuns Eloff, Tom van der Meulen & Dickie Hagermann for > 1000 hour Milé award
Louis van Wyk & Johnny de Jager for > 2000 hour Milé award
Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski & Eric Torr for > 3000
Louis van Wyk, Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski, Eric Torr, Johnny de Jager, Dickie Hagermann, Len Klopper & Josua Groenewald for CFI status as instructors.

It was decided that North / South 2014 will be at Gariep the second last weekend of May 2014. Please keep this weekend open, or for those joining us on our North Coast / Wild Coast trip to Gariep, sommer the whole week before that.

Herewith just a few photos, I hope our photographer can add some.
IMG_2013092424216.jpg
Overhead Douglas
IMG_2013092450836.jpg
Finals 16 for Douglas Backhouse
IMG_201309242374.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092425413.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092426776.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092445918.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_201309244778.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092448314.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092448314.jpg (10.26 KiB) Viewed 2741 times
IMG_2013092449573.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092458139.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092459452.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_201309247325.jpg
Arrivals
IMG_2013092442995.jpg
Preparations for flight to Van der Kloof Dam
IMG_2013092427929.jpg
Our oldest gyro pilot (74) gets a flip
IMG_2013092429121.jpg
Taxiing out for a flight to Van der Kloof Dam
IMG_2013092430273.jpg
IMG_2013092431432.jpg
IMG_2013092432628.jpg
IMG_2013092433843.jpg
IMG_2013092436847.jpg
IMG_2013092438643.jpg
IMG_2013092440350.jpg
IMG_2013092434969.jpg
Take off for Van der Kloof
IMG_2013092441454.jpg
Some gyro pilots came with their beautifull Slings
IMG_2013092444546.jpg
Taxiing out for Van der Kloof Dam
IMG_2013092451953.jpg
Scenery around Douglas
IMG_2013092453124.jpg
Scenery around Douglas
IMG_2013092420117.jpg
The safey officer at work
IMG_2013092455394.jpg
One of the photopraphers gets a flip
IMG_2013092456703.jpg
The photographer being photographed
IMG_2013092454306.jpg
Airfield chatter
IMG_201309248747.jpg
Airfield chatter
IMG_201309242240.jpg
Sunset over the Vaal River
IMG_2013092421503.jpg
Some early arrivers enjoying dinner together
www.altairaviation.co.za
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:07 pm

Lekker MANNE!!

Dit was nou n belewenis.
The organisers did an excellent job. ^*^^
Thank you Mak, Francois and co for all the "little" big things you did to make the time spent at the airfield enjoyable, food, shade, drinks, chairs, umbrellas, transport and what else... fuel!
And everyone had a good time.
Was good to meet all the new faces and it was a pity for those that could not make it.
Looking forward to the next N/S at Gariep.

No incidents and good airmanship from all just put the cherry on top of a great weekend.

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
If you fail.... get up and try again. That is the only way to succeed!
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
Tinkerbell

Postby Tinkerbell » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:07 pm

Thank you, MAK, your months of hard work, planning and double rechecking has ensured a problem free, incident free, and thoroughly enjoyable get together. There was nothing you forgot. The only thing that would have made it perfect was if our friends from KZN and the Cape could have joined us!
The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it.
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
http://www.altairaviation.co.za
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:12 am

Great to hear that the N/S was such a huge success once again. Mak you are a star. Well done to all involved and congrats to the awards winners (^^)
I could not make it for two reasons: I was without a gyro for the first time in 14 years due to the Xenon having a new owner and also... I was in Germany just before the event with Paul and Gerrit Roux and Theuns Eloff. vhpy
Watch this space!!
Len, die Priesters het beter kontakte as ek as dit by die weer kom. I have excellent contacts if you need any assistance in Hout Bay but thats as far as it goes.
Now for the 6 week wait... xxx
weedy

Postby weedy » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:53 am

I smell a Cavalon (^^)
Claude
THI

Postby THI » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:55 am

weedy wrote:I smell a Cavalon (^^)
+1
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:34 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: Nope !! Interesting debate about to hit the forum !! Stand by. Prepare so long meneer Klopper and Altius et Latius Torr. I think you know what is coming ...I will open a new topic soon and cannot wait to hear your much valued experienced input. This is going to be fun ! ##

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Sep 26, 2013 1:48 pm

Ha! I think I know whats coming... Flynote has decided to get selfish and buy himself a "Pilots" machine rather than a "Passenger" machine...

I'll hold my breath!