First taste of a Gyro today.

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Condor, FO Gyro, Gyronaut

First taste of a Gyro today.

Postby Bundy » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:44 pm

Wou net baie dankie se vir Swaanie wat my vandag op gevat het vir my eerste jol in n Gyro. (^^)

I dont think you okes are crazy anymore! :lol:

Much respect Sir, that was ubercool! (!!)
THI

Re: First taste of a Gyro today.

Postby THI » Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:46 pm

Lekke Bundy!

Next thing will be the need to own one ;-)
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:33 am

Hey Bundy
It was a pleasure taking you for a flip. we should also arrange breakfast runs between trikes and gyros .
There is no reason why we cant fly together.

Cheers for now

Swannie
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22
Vertical Tango

Postby Vertical Tango » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:00 am

BONZAI BELL wrote:There is no reason why we cant fly together.
It is about time that gyro pilots recognize the microlight fraternity as a fantastic group of friends. In fact there is so much ego in the gyros that I dropped a longtime ago gyro only fly-ins. Well done Bonzai !
Flying is like dancing, it is a love affair between the pilot and his aircraft
FO Gyro

Postby FO Gyro » Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:13 pm

My happiest recreational flying days were flying my gyro with the trikes from Microland, flying with the orginal "A Team". Nothing so beautiful as flying when the sun is rising. Now, because I'm not limited by thermals, and wind (to an extent), I fly midday, when it's less perfect, but less enjoyable than flying in perfectly smooth conditions.
Glenn Poley
ex ZU-AWE Windlass Trike
ex ZU-AOA VPM M16 Gyro
ex ZU-BPU Sycamore Gyro
ex ZU-ATC VPM M16 with Rotax 914 Gyro
ex ZU-GJP MT-03 Gyro
ex ZU-NPC RV9A
ZU-RJR Magni M24 Orion Gyro
mak

Postby mak » Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:33 pm

Alan

Sorry the weather spoiled the fly-inn at FAKT, but at least something good came out of it.
www.altairaviation.co.za
HOME OF XENON & ZEN GYROCOPTER

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:29 pm

Welcome to the wonderful world of Gyro's Bundy!

We are NOT a stuck up bunch of assholes.
(Well at least not in the Cape).
The main problem is that we usually fly when the trikes are being put away due to the wind.

You have experienced the "Gyrocalypse" and you have an open invitation to come fly with me (on my account) whenever you are in this neck of the woods.

Mooi so Swannie, jy kan jou Gyro-Ambassadeur badge by SAGPA gaan afhaal :)

Len

Postby Bundy » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:25 pm

Len, thanks! If I ever cross the border into the fairest Cape I will definately take you up on that one (^^)

I must admit, I have had the priveledge to fly in many different aerie types, but that was something else. :) For financial reasons, I must convince myself that I still love my trike the most! :lol:

I can confess though that should I ever be in a position to get something just a little faster...I think I've made my choice. (!!)

I was truly amazed at the stability, manoverability and performance. Swannie was very proffessional and tried his best to explain everything...but I still dont have a clue how that Magni flies? :lol: Must be magic? :)
I also did not realise before how much more visibility there is without a wing blocking a 1/4 of the sky. :wink: Was like riding a bobsled at 500ft :lol:

As per your posts, yes there is a lot of arrogance/ego in the GA world. It exists in every discipline. Sad really...when at the end of the day we are all actually the same.JUST MAD ABOUT AIRCRAFT. (!!) (^^)

PS... Trikers arnt scared of wind....we just cant wait till 11am to crack our first beer (!!) (^^)

Postby Bundy » Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:56 am

BONZAI BELL wrote:Hey Bundy
It was a pleasure taking you for a flip. we should also arrange breakfast runs between trikes and gyros .
There is no reason why we cant fly together.
Swanie, please extend this invite to all your mates.

We have a monthly braai at Microland every 3rd Sat of the month. Normally we all fly a nice little sortie in the AM and afterwards we have a lekker bring and braai and hanger talk under the lapa. Keep an eye on the Microland Thread and come and join us! (^^) Flying back home at 14h00 in a gyro does not seem to be a prob for you okes? :lol:

All welcome, this months braai is this Sat 20th Oct (^^)

(Unfortunately... I cant make this one due to my sons b day party but I will definately be at the Nov one. :) )

Hope to see you guys on short final's for FABA soon. (!!)
Imhotep
Heard about flying

Postby Imhotep » Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:03 pm

Hallo all

A friend and I want to experiece a flight in a gyro. We are based in Montagu. What would the cost be of an introductionary flight and at which landing strip?

:-)
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:11 am

Imhotep
Give Len Klopper a call . He is based at Morningstar airfield, right next to the N7 ,just past Blouberg strand. He does Gyro training , and will give you a experience of a lifetime.
You can reach him on 0824506072
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22

Postby Gyronaut » Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:20 pm

Damn, sorry I didn't see this earlier Imhotep, we flew back from Mosselbay in two Gyro's yesterday, via Barrydale - to Leeuenboschfontein near Montagu. Would have been easy to pop in either yesterday or this morning on our return flight from Leeuenbos to Morningstar.

There is no cost if you sign up for training. In other words... The cost for an intro flight is R700 for half an hour which counts as your first .5 hours if you sign up - and I give you R700 credit when you start your training. If we don't do it this way we will have queue's for free rides. :lol:

Give Christine a call on oh eight two 44 77 444 to book your slot. I look forward to meeting you.

Len
Imhotep
Heard about flying

Postby Imhotep » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:24 am

Thanks will give Christene a call vhpy