Page 1 of 12
NORTH MEETS SOUTH
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:01 pm
by Jabbanaught
HI Guys
Following on Flynote's idea of flying his new machine to the cape .
This is how i see it .
The guys from North can fly down and we get together at FASH ( i can arrange some hanghar space ) . - Friday
Saturday during the day we can go show them the cape , The evening have a braai .
Sunday we depart with them and fly with them out , or whichever day they decide to go .
My feeling is that beginning of November would be ideal .
Just my 2c worth .
I can arrange the majority of things in the Cape .
Paul
Re: NORTH MEETS SOUTH
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:03 pm
by THI
I'm in!
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:10 am
by MPL Pilot
I would like to be in!
Would be great to burn solo hours on such a long cross county

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:22 am
by FLYNOTE
Sorry Paul ! I see you can maybe do what I passed without him knowing to Len !
Sorry that I placed my thingie on the previous thread. I'm still ignorant about how fast you guys make things happen !!
So I place it here as well? O hell I hope I am not going against protocol. Please delete and remove as you see fit
Ok , Hier gaan ons. Lets make this happen. All interested from North and South start by committing yourself and your machine to the trek from North so that we can see how many groups of max 6 per group we can put together.
Len will organise the guys flying in from the South and I will handle the North. I will organise the Devon Valley hotel for us to stay in in Stellenbosch. ( Grumpy will supply his mansion for any overflow

)
We will confirm dates which should be late October or early November. The moment I know exactly when my new machine will be up and flying I can commit. ( Ek stap wragtag nie af Stellenbosch toe nie.)
I am off to Poland next week and they should be shipping within the following week if I am happy with the gyro. To cover myself I would like to add a week or so for "in case!"
You realise that if we really want to make this thing work we could have the biggest Gyro saamtrek ever at FASH .I will organise tv news coverage and possibly Pasella on SABC2 and Kwela on Kyknet for us and it could be a great thing for gyros in SA. What says all you woer woer pilots? Are we going to do this ?

Once we see how many guys commit themselves we can start the planning and push ahead. Laat ons hoor !
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:28 am
by Jabbanaught
Johan Nou praat jy ,Dit sal geskiedenis wees . Ons sal van hier af die vervoer van FASH na Devonvale reel (shuttle )- Grumpy need co-ord for the mansion
I really hope that all Gyro pilots will partake , Guys from KZN and all over also welcome .
Len , what about an invite to wagtail ?
Condor miskien kan jy saam Johan reelings tref van Kitty Hawk se kant af .
Lekker Johan sal nice wees om jou weer te sien het laas met jou by vredendal laas jaar gepraat .
Groete
Paul
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:44 am
by Gyronaut
oops

this from the 'other' thread, we'll keep it going here...
Woohhoo, I am all for it for sure and will do anything required to make it happen!
The Gyro's I know of in the Cape at the moment are:
Louis van Wyk
Johann Fronemann
Ian Corder
Paul Roux
Oden Knutzen
Thinus Enslin
Glenn Poley (FO Gyro)
Steve Thornton Smith
Kevin ? at FASH
Dave Lehr
Jonathan Mylrea
Paul Ackerman
Jonathan Bascins
Gerhard Burger
Mark Bellinghan
Mike Matthews
Nick Loubser
Leon Bouwer
Celliers Burger
Patrick Owen
+me I make that 21!
This list is off the top of my head so forgive me if I have probably left out a few that I may have missed please add to the list with contact details. This would be SO exciting! I am all for it. Imagine 40 or 50 gyro's together. We might want to consider somewhere central though? Somewhere like Gariep Dam? Might encourage more people to join in from the North but then they don't get to fly the AWESOME Western Cape and Stunning Cape Peninsula with us! Its only 5 hours further south-west from Gariep so is well worth it actually. There is talk of tight altitude and corridor restrictions being contemplated for the peninsula one of these days so best we do it legally while we still can.
I recommend the route we took ferrying RJR down. Wagtail or Kroonstad (Gerhard Botha will organise fuel at FAKS if we speak to him) if you are worried about the leg to New Tempe, then Gariep dam, stay over, De Stijl hotel is stunning and shuttles to/from airport happily. Next day Beaufort West for breakfast - Beaufort West to Worcester (we can arrange fuel at Maatjiesfontein if that leg is too long for some) Short hop from Worcester to wherever the final gathering is going to be then. Nice leisurely 5 hours a day, no more than 2 hours at a time.
I am excited!
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:15 pm
by Low Level
Hmmmm - this one really gets me thinking. First weekend in November if Flynote is airborn - AGAIN.
Just thinking about the weather - end Oct, beginning Nov is notorious for LOTSA rain.

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 1:45 pm
by Gyronaut
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:16 pm
by old no 7
Low Level wrote:Hmmmm - this one really gets me thinking. First weekend in November if Flynote is airborn - AGAIN.
Just thinking about the weather - end Oct, beginning Nov is notorious for LOTSA rain.

Ag kom nou LL
Dis heeltemal te ver uit jou cabbage patch uit
Leon, as jy gaan ry ek sommer saam, want ek wil geskiedenis in my leeftyd beleef.

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:47 am
by Jabbanaught
Morning
Hi guys i like this momentum . I agree with Jetranger we can meet somewhere central , And then guys that want to fly further South are welcome to join us , So the guys that want to do halfway can fly to Gariep , the rest to FASH (waar ons Johan n steak / Snoek op kole sal doen , En ons local entertainment GRUMPY , sal loslaat ) .
Guys we need to start to look at date etc .
I will send the database that i have to Jetranger , Johan maybe you can contact the guys in your area . Low Level & NO 7 can help from the South . Weidi what about the guys from KZN .
WHOOOO , Hope we can get this going
Johan / Jetranger any further ideas .
Paul
Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:42 am
by MAGNIficent
Paul,
Will speak to the Kwazulu manne, as soon as there are DATES
Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:51 am
by Jabbanaught
Sien wat jy nou begin het Johan , en dit net omrede jy lus is vir Steak

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:47 am
by Grumpy
Jabi430 wrote:Morning
I agree with Jetranger we can meet somewhere central
Paul
Johan spoke about the Devon Valley Hotel, (Stellenbosch), nou wil jy 'Central' toe neuk,
Get with the program boy !!
On a serious note, there is quite a 'swing of interest' in gyros, Johan's is new, Len's is new, we need to see these machines here in Cape Town, so forget about central if they wanna come to the Cape Town
En Die, .....
En ons local entertainment GRUMPY, sal loslaat)
Ek donner vir jou

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:38 pm
by FlyingDoc
Johan,
This sounds a great idea.
Would like to join, depending on the dates however. Need to be back in Chile around 23rd Nov and committed second week in Nov.
Hope it pans out for me...
Alan
When with Rapael be in SA?
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:11 pm
by FLYNOTE
Hey guys. I am very excited about the response. It really is going to be a great event that will be talked about for many years.
I am very keen to get us some press coverage and am just worried that Gariep might be a bit off the beaten track for the guys unless we fly the photographers with us.
Thank you for the list Len. Will all these guys commit to Gariep? If so we will have to make a plan.
The moment I am back from Poland I will have a good idea about dates etc. and will compile a list of guys from up here and then we make it happen.
If Gariep it is to be , I will see if we can get a producer/cameraman from the Pasella / Top Billing team to fly up with someone from CT and one from up here. This should be enough insentive for them to make a nice insert of the flights from North and South and the get together .
They must just not fly with any M24 pilot if they are female because M24 pilots are in the habit of convincing their pax to do strange things in flight over the Karoo ...