Arrow Copter AC 10

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Condor, FO Gyro, Gyronaut

Jabbanaught

Re: Arrow Copter AC 10

Postby Jabbanaught » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:31 am

BONZAI BELL wrote:Ok , let me be the snitch .
Got to Springs yesterday , and saw the " Stig " test flying the Arrow . ( some say he lives near Parys )
I still need to make up my mind , whether she looks better on the ground or in the air. ( the prettiest flying machine of all ,without a doubt)
The 914 seems to have a deep growl and it sounds like she is running on a much lower rpm. Not sure why, but she is very quiet.(might be the massive VP prop)
I had a quick chat to the " Stig " after the first couple of circuits , and he seemed quite impressed.

Ashley, you have put in a huge effort , and have been very patient since you started planning this venture.
You deserve to succeed with the Arrow copter.
You have my best wishes (^^)
Again congrats , any possibility that we can get a report from the stig ?
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:26 pm

Some say , we might have to wait a little longer for a report .
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22

Postby Gyronaut » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:20 pm

We're all holding thumbs that this machine will perform as well as she looks. All the indications are there so far!

Steve_SP

Postby Steve_SP » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:56 pm

Great looking machine

Some nice pro photos of your South African Arrow Copter here

http://hmphoto.co.za/wordpress/?p=2417

Steve in UK
Steve_SP

Postby Steve_SP » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:11 pm

Hi

Quick question - the new Arrow Copter shown in this link in SA is is ZU-RGO ( c/n 006 ) or maybe ZU-RGP ( 007 ) ?

Thank you

Steve in UK
Ashley V
Pre flight checks done

Postby Ashley V » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:16 am

Greetings Steve in UK

She is ZU-RGP (SN 007)

Ashley V
Pre flight checks done

Postby Ashley V » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:35 am

Greetings Steve in UK
IMAG0521 (2).jpg
ZU- RGP (Thanks Swannie)
IMAG0521 (2).jpg (99.73 KiB) Viewed 6949 times
Wagtail

Postby Wagtail » Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:38 am

Good morning all.

The STIG cannot fly this morning because it is raining.......so I have a few minutes to give feed back....
The official report : The Arrow is flying. ^

Now everybody can relax, go fly and keep on drooling

Swannie ( voetjies ) where is this name coming from??
Arrow at Wagtail small.jpg
Arrow at Wagtail small.jpg (20.2 KiB) Viewed 6931 times
Wagtail

Postby Wagtail » Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:35 am

Just before everybody moans...

We have started the Test Flight Program last week.

Proving Flight Authority recieved last week Thursday.

Performed the Static runs up to full power. Smooth deep growl, wonderfull sound.

Performed the taxi tests and brake tests. Differential braking on this machine is very effective, easy to steer on the grass and very stable on the runway. Passed the acceleration and brake tests at 42 MPH.

Wheel balancing was easy, pitch inertia helped a lot. Rudder authority is very good and it was easy to steer left - right while balanced on mains.

First hops down the runway proceeded without any challenges. We had cross wind of 10 gusting over 15 knots at times and the rudder - castering nosewheel setup made it a walk in the park.

First flights was on Monday morning, enjoyable.... (^^)

Tuesday she flew to Wagtail to improve the Rotor balance and to we also visited Parys for lunch.

Overall a very enjoyable and comfortable machine. The VP works easy and makes a huge notable difference to the engine rpm at cruise.
From the ground the feeling is that she sounds completely different than "normal" gyro's, the engine/prop noise is significantly less and the engine sounds as if it is running lower rpm. 2-blade prop versus 3-blade prop and the tip vortex from the 2-blade is also well addressed by the small "winglet" at the tip. I think the shape of the tail boom might also help to reduce the noise.

She has now completed over 8 hours of the required 25 hours.

Keep an eye out for her the rest of the holidays, she will visist all the fields in the area....just to test them out... (^^)

Overall, a really impressive machine.

JvL

The canopy seals very good and there is no wind noise in the cockpit, even took the headset and the noise is actually not bad.
Arrow at Parys no3 small.jpg
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:04 pm

vhpy vhpy vhpy Eish maar dit is nou n mooi "matjien". I would not mind having that in my hangar :lol:
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402

Postby Low Level » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:36 am

AL wat ek wil sê, nadat ek die gyro van naderby beskou het is

BL!KSEM :shock:

This IS a FANTASTIC machine. The quality is impeccable, and design is, where gyros are going to.!!!! !!!!

Thanx Ashley for your hospitality. (^^)

He also had to wipe the dash after my "flying" in the hangar.

Ek weet dis groot sonde om te begeer , maar eish.
Arrowcopter.jpg
Eagle

Postby Eagle » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:09 pm

Sheez Low Level you look real great in that machine !!!

Wanna leave you with something.........

You become what You think about most of the time ! Define what You want and be obsessed with it !
Broadcast it all the time ! You can be, do or have everything in life You ever wanted !!!

YOUR WISH IS YOUR COMMAND !!!

Nic Prinsloo
Managing Member
Eagle Aviation

Where Flying is a Passion......

Branch Contact Info:

Mobile: 076 970 2758
Email: Eagle@connect.co.za

Postby Low Level » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:31 am

Eagle wrote:Sheez Low Level you look real great in that machine !!!
Thanx Nick. Sure fits me like a glove. The two of us surely compliment each other. vhpy
Eagle wrote:You become what You think about most of the time
Geeez Nick. I hope not. :shock: :shock:

I know okes who became what they think of most of the time. They are not my friends anymore. :wink:
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:27 am

I sat in the Arrow Copter on Saturday ! vhpy
Its a great gyro to sit in and 10/10 for looks. Love the finishing. I am a sucker for comfortable interiors as opposed to " Dis n sportskar soos n Porche so jy soek nie luxuries nie..." :shock:
Very spacious and comfy inside. One guy said to me " It feels as though you are sitting behind the controls of a F1 fighter jet! " "Wow" I said ... "have you been behind the controls of a F1 fighter jet, you lucky bastard ?"
" No I haven't ..." he replied , "but I imagine it feels like this..." So when next time you get behind the controls of a F1 fighter jet, inform all around you that " hey guys... this feels exactly like sitting behind the controls of a Arrow Copter AC 10 !! (^^)
Lekka gyro Ash ! I wish you all the best with this new addition to the wonderful craft now gracing our skies. The latest technology is mind boggling and I so hope to be around in two decades from now when aviators are going to say " Geez guys... do you remember the good old days when everybody raved about the Magnis and Xenons and Arrow Copters and Elas and MTs and RAFs and UFOs and Krieks and Springkaans and what was that other thing they used to build ...? " :shock: :shock: :shock:
In those days recreational gyros was the buzz word and they were only dreaming about 4 and 6 place gyroplanes and the thought of commercial flights were only pie in the sky. Whatever happened to the Groen Brothers and what was that Carter Copter thingie again? "
Ja swaer... jaaaaa Boet :roll:
FO Gyro

Postby FO Gyro » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:39 am

I'm still dreaming of a true VTOL gyro that can perform a jump take-off. Maybe in the next 20-30 yrs I have left in aviation I might just see it still. Holding thumbs! Now that would be incredible to take off like a helicopter!
Glenn Poley
ex ZU-AWE Windlass Trike
ex ZU-AOA VPM M16 Gyro
ex ZU-BPU Sycamore Gyro
ex ZU-ATC VPM M16 with Rotax 914 Gyro
ex ZU-GJP MT-03 Gyro
ex ZU-NPC RV9A
ZU-RJR Magni M24 Orion Gyro